We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time at myrtle beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Ranked #142 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Myrtle beach hotel.
My Husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle at the Pavillion Hotel for 1 week in April. It was great. the workers were wonderful. The man at the desk was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean. Beautiful pool with cabana. it was great. Can't wait to go back. there is so much to see and do and the beach is absolutely beautiful! We went to shows and they were all great!

Thank Liz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 710 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I had made a reservtion for May 4th till the 8th of the month but were having such a fabulous time at the Sandcastle that we ended up staying 2 more nights. We could not have been treated nicer from any of the staff. From the owner down to the cleaning people everyone was so much help and went the extra mile to make our stay there just great. Branden who runs the cabana bar learned it was our anniversary on the 7th and treated us like a king and his queen that night. I don't think you can find a resort were you are treated so great everyday and see so many smiling face day in and day out. We will be going back to the Sandcastle again and again. I recommend this resort to all. Thank you all for everything.
Clyde and Darleen Hogg
May 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Strargazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My wife and two children just spent spring break 2008 at the Sandcastle in Myrtle Beach. This hotel is not fancy, but is very acceptable if you are looking for a decent clean room, comfortable beds, and a great view of the ocean. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. In Florida, a hotel like this woud cost 3 times as much. Although the hotel was full of kids for spring break, we never heard any noise. The manager put us on the top floor in a corner. It was quiet as could be. The a/c worked great and the queen beds were true regular size queen beds. Don't get me wrong, this place is not fancy, but is a great value on the ocean. While we were there, it was too cold to swim, but the outdoor pools were kept crystal clean. The indoor pool was small and crowded. We never used it. One of the nice features of this hotel is that it is close to lots of fun stuff in Myrtle Beach. We spent a lot of time at Pier 14. The food there is great. The breakfast (eggs and flounder for $7) was fantastic. They had great early bird specials for $10 for dinner. That included flounder, baked potato, green beans, and a salad. My son and I fished all day on the pier for $12 including rod rental. Pass on the Ripley attractions in town. They were a rip off. The Sandcastle was a great hotel close to lots of fun stuff. I would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spir2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Someone with entry capability came into my room while I was on the balcony and stole my purse and my daugher's purse. I was in the room with the only 2 keys that had been issued and I saw the door closing and found 2 purses missing. I asked the manager for some follow-up and he never got back with me. When I did e-mail him about the issue, his response was that it slipped his mind. With that I am left wondering exactly how many thefts occur at the resort. All doors have a metal key and locks are not changed when keys are lost or not turned in. Everyone who has stayed in that room, in theory, has a key to the room you are staying in. In addition, the room was dirty--food on the floor from previous guests. The sink was stopped up and no one would come to unclog it. Worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Grace50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerReplies, Public Relations at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2008

Dear Gracie 50,

The SandCastle Resort was saddened to hear of the disappearance of your items.

While there are inherent risks with all hotels that still use metal locks, we do advise all guests staying in resort areas to always use the bolt door lock provided back interior of the room. Properties with key cards can also be entered by guests who are just checking out. The bolt lock ensures no unwanted entries.

While your visit was during peak capacity for our resort, we are now addressing housekeeping and maintenance issues with an attention to detail that ensure prompt responses to peak issue concerns.

I am very sorry that you were disastified with your visit. Our resort is now under new management and we will work to be the best buy for the vacation dollar in Myrtle Beach over the next 90 days and into the forseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

The Sandcastle at the pavilion is past it's prime. Stayed here with a group attending a tournament. Old and in much need of up date. Not sure if that would even help. Had a suite and it was the only positive thing about the hotel due to the size by standard room size. Suites are 2 rooms, separated by bath room and small kitchen-ett area. Just too bad the place is a dump. Old carpet, furniture, fixtures and doors. Should have known when we were handed 2 metal keys. It looks like they don't even own a vacume. Public spaces were not well kept. The elevator in the building we stayed in was not working one afternoon, so it was stairs for all. They have found every way possible to cut costs. Only one trash can in the suite, no shampoo, etc. We did see some signs adverstising condo's, that looked like would replace the hotel. Lets hope so! We had a group discount for the room, but still have stayed at better for less.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerReplies, Public Relations at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2008

Dear Travelten,

The condos for sale sign is a clear indication that our firm is looking to do a condo development.

With the market where it is, however, SandCastle Resort has brought in a new management team and is spending millions of dollars on capital improvements on the existing structure.

While our central building is older, we intend to make it the best maintained structure on the North end of Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I have been wanting to go back to the beach so my husband and I went alone for Valentine's Day. We had a tight budget, and this place was much better than other family places we have stayed before. We had no problems at all. We had a great, romantic time.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NCMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

I went for Memorial Weekend during Bike Week.
When we first reached the hotel, it looked nice when we went to check in. They sent us to some other building around the corner and we were practically fighting the bugs off of us on the way up to the room.
The elevators reminded me of the projects in NY the way they were filthy.
The room was okay. We didn't have trouble checking in but it was 5 of us and they only had 2 keys available. Then they charged us for the second key.
We wanted to iron our clothes and there was no iron. We called the front desk to inquire about one and they informed us that there was only 1 iron that the whole hotel had to share and we had to wait until another room was done with it. How tacky is that?
This was a straight up low class hotel. You are better off staying at the Best Western down the block.
All in all, I ended up leaving the girls I checked in with and staying in another hotel with other friends. Their hotel (sorry don't remember the name but it was pretty far from the action) was much more presentable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pinkdymondz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerReplies, Public Relations at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2008

Dear Pink Diamonds,

The SandCastle Resort is currently addressing grounds, maintainence, and elevators as we have now hired a new management team to run the resort.

We hope you will try us again and assure you that our resort will be the best buy for your vacation dollar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#98 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Address: 1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. Our ocean front resort offers accommodations choices as varied as you are! Brightly decorated and accessorized with all the comforts of home, our resort features a variety of floor plans which offer suitable accommodations for whatever you require. Our efficiencies allow you to prepare your own meals, plus our suites feature separate sleeping and living quarters for privacy and comfort. Comfortable accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer! Our central location is 9 blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion area where you'll be in the very heart of downtown. We're also very near Broadway at the Beach, featuring Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe', Planet Hollywood, Imax Theater, Ripley's Aquarium and many other vacation highlights. Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is your absolute best choice when you want to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort At The Pavilion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing