We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad...comfortable enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad...comfortable enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent one week at a beachfront site with our 36 ft, fifth wheel. Amenities where good. Lots of machines for laundry, lots of swimming either pool or beach. Cable was good. Wi-fi was good. Not overly crowded when we were there (First part of November 2012). However the sites do lack privacy. Would be awesome if there were more trees for shade and maybe some hedges between the sites. Easy pull-thru sites was a plus. Lots of restaurants in the area. Nice for bike riding. Pets are welcome. It was relaxing but by the end of the week we were a little bored. Would we return? I guess, if we were on our way through somewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissElleeBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ocean Lakes! It sounds like you had a great time and enjoyed our many amenities. Customer service is important, we are glad to see you gave us a 5 in that area as well. In regards to the trees at our sites, or concerns regarding privacy, we wanted to explain. Being oceanfront, it is difficult to keep large trees on the oceanfront sites (storms). Also, during our 41+ years in business, we have learned camping guests like to have as much room on their sites as possible to accommodate their vehicles, etc. and minimum obstacles around their camper. However, we have beautiful live Oaks and other foliage on sites farther back into the park (away from the oceanfront). We reserve by specific site number making it easier for guests to reserve the type of site they'd like. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    147
    64
    38
    45
See reviews for
381
88
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent RV park. We stayed 3 days with a travel trailer, right at the beach (Lot 2149). Concrete pull thru pads were easy on setup. Lots of golf carts (electric), but never really a bother. With "express" check in, we drove straight in - very convenient. Wi-Fi was available, but very weak

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickbic110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed on a pull thru lot right on the beachfront with our 35 foot motor home. We stayed 3 nights and the weather was perfect. People were very friendly and accommodations were very clean and well managed. We would definitely camp here again. Lots were extremely small and no fire pit but had the ocean right there so who needs a fire with such gorgeous scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I used to come here with my parents in our Rv and now we've started bringing the kids here in our Travel Trailer. Peak seasons are definitely busy, lots of kids, bikes, golf carts, etc but thats why its a great place for the kids. There is tons to do...multiple pools, putt-putt, trails, fishing, playgrounds, skate park, the list goes on and on. It feels really safe and the 13 & 11 year old boys have a blast.

FYI, if you're without the kids, there is a bar right next door with a walk way...and when you're with the kids there are lots of ice cream bars to enjoy. Everything is so convenient for the entire family. We hardly ever end up leaving the campground because they have everything there.

Also, the bath houses are always clean.

Room Tip: If you want a prime area go towards the beach, during the weekend nights everybody "cruises&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

yes its busy, but its a great vaction spot for rvers and house guests. lots to do and majority of the time the staff go out of way to make place look and feel perfect. only reason i gave it 4 stars vs 5 was cable. Cable was fuzzy all week and when i called the first day the receptionist blamed it on time warner. i tried to explain it was not time warner but the bent coax but was not heard. i called the last evening to explain to matt (supervisor) i would be writing about this not so pleasant experience and he apologized but nothing more. I was a little took back by his lack of trying to make it right, but I guess thats what happens when park got so big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

this is my second time visiting, but my first time in a rental property. All of them, from the trailers to the beachouses, are well taken care of. excellent amenities and staff. Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsykoSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent a week at Ocean Lakes from 8/18 - 8/24. We enjoyed Ocean Lakes immensely, as this week is just off "peak" season and wasn't too crowded. The pool, the rec center, the store, the arcade, the beach, and the facilities were awesome. We like the golf cart "schtick" and enjoyed touring around to look at all of the cute houses in Ocean Lakes. We had no problems with noise, and re: firework comments - what's vacation in SC without a little fireworks fun at 11 pm? Not a problem at all. We had 4 families down at the same time - all with tweens and teens. They had a blast and met kids their age all over the camp. We felt safe letting them find activities on their own, and had no issues with "partiers" other reviewers have mentioned. The house rentals may be much quieter than the RV area. This is not a place for a honeymoon, a couples getaway, a girls upscale "spa weekend", or a senior citizen reunion. This is a place for families with children - and the vacation is all about the kids when you come here. That is what we wanted and expected - and we were not let down. We rented A-5 from a private owner with an ocean view and great proximity to the beach. This was our 1st visit and we will be back. The staff at Ocean Lakes was amazing and so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
11.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Property: Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Address: 6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing