We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, fun, family-friendly, and a great location... Even during Atlantic Bike Week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, fun, family-friendly, and a great location... Even during Atlantic Bike Week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time at Ocean Lakes. We rented a class C home for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but was happy to have a place to stay on short notice for this notoriously crowded holiday weekend. I must say that our trip exceeded out expectations! The place we rented was clean and absolutely acceptable in every way. The Ocean Lakes campground in general was outstanding. The pools were clean and nice. The game room was large with many game for all ages. The store was huge and prices weren't outrageous. What stands out most is how clean the facility was as a whole. We got a big kick out of seeing all the suped up golf carts cruising around each night and were impressed that Ocean Lakes had staffed security to keep unruly folks in check. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy.

Next time, we will be renting a golf cart. It's not an overstatement to say that this place is ginormous! We are already planning another trip back this year, and this will be our new Memorial Day tradition.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyNC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    147
    64
    38
    45
See reviews for
381
88
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Loved it! We rented a large house with plenty of room for 4 adults, 2 teenagers, and 2 smaller children. Lots of fun for all...beach, pools (in and outdoor), playground, basketball, etc. Had a blast!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

So much for kids to do, but make sure you have a golf cart, this place is massive. Shoulder season is best, especially for those who love to take their pets. They're allowed on the beach in shoulder season, and it's much less crowded.
The property has numerous pools, along with game room, laundry, grocery store and restaurant all on-site.
If you're renting a house get one on stilts, there's covered parking, so your vehicles stay cooler. You also get a nice deck, something you don't get with the houses on the ground. My parents have a part-time rental of each type, and we enjoy the one on stilts much more, especially with the huge deck.
Be careful with house rentals though. The quality varies greatly, some are new with nice amenities and decorating, and others are filthy and unmaintained. You also have to pay extra for a golf cart when renting, so it can get costly for a week in summer.
The campground has a variety of site types, ocean front, wooded, grass, concrete, etc. In the summer those with trees stay much cooler of course., but it's a trek to the beach with lots of chairs, etc. in tow.
They do a good job of keeping control of the normal issues like noise, late night parties, etc. Their security is always visible, so if you have teens or young adults out late security could come knocking on your door. Teens on golf carts are especially vulnerable, there are tight rules on cart usage and teens are most likely to be caught.

Room Tip: Get a house on stilts, big deck, lots of covered parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Let me say that I have been spending a lot of time here for the last 3 years. We visit about 5 weekends (4 day weekends) and have stayed the whole month of July for the past 2 years, so I really love this place. This is what bothers me. They allow everyone to bring their dog. Yeah I know your dog is not like other dogs and you are not like other dog owners. The dogs are crapping on other peoples camp sites and the owners dont pick it up unless someone is watching. And why do the owners always take their dog to another campsite to urinate? I called the office today after finding a dog pile ablut 8 feet from my camper door. I told them they should come out here and pick it up because they allow them to be in the campground. that was about 3 hours ago so I dont think they are coming. These campsites are probably unsanitary with all the urine and feces that is becomming more and more common.

My point. If the campground allows the dogs then they should pick up the poop.

Room Tip: If you have kids, watch out for the poop and dog urine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east hartland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family has been coming to ol for over 9 years. We have rented directly from ol camped and rented from vrbo. We just got back from a 4 month stay. We were just talking about how helpful and friendly everyone is there with the exception of the reservation desk. Why is it so vastly different . It is not just this visit it is EVERY visit there has been more than one employee that is less than professional. This is your customers first impression,these folks may just be potential property buyers. None the less they are CUSTOMERS. It seems like they are doing you a favor taking your money and allowing you in. Here is one example--- my daughter, who is by the way no kid she is 31, checked in to visit her grandmother for probobly the 6-7th time, the normal ?,s were asked then more then who exactly are you going to visit....??????after all questions were satisfied one of the clerks said well I hope you find someone you know at the cottage. This is just one example it is not an isolated incident this kind of customer service is more common than not. I think it would be a great idea for hr to send in a visitor (like a secret shopper) and see how it goes. I find it hard to believe this is how you want ol represented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have stayed many times in this park and it remains the same; The best! It has plenty of free activities for children and adults. It has special activities like Lu'au's that cost per person but well worth it! Free dancing and line dancing lessons. Beach, water activities, arcade, clean laudromat, but the best part is the nice people! Many campgrounds have nice facilities but people and signs say "NO ------" (tents, extra vehicles....), but not this one. The attitude of employees is that they are there to please. Get a golf cart and cruise at night with families blowing bubbles, showing off lights, and children lined up offering "free hugs". This is a special place---great for families!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C00kiebreath10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from another lovely week at Ocean Lakes. We camped in a motorhome in the I section, very close to the beach. This was our 10th visit to Ocean Lakes in 12 years and we will return again!

PROS: Easy access pull through sites. Garbage pickup daily and they supply you with a new trash bag. Very clean restrooms. Fantastic food, especially breakfast at Sandy's Meet 'n' Eat. The biscuits are among the best I have had anywhere. Clean beach, combed daily. Wonderful Rec Center and pool area. Wonderful laundry center. A few machines were out of order but clearly marked and were greatly outnumbered by the working machines. You can even have them do your laundry for you, if you so desire. The camp store is very well stocked and the prices are reasonable for a captive audience.

CONS: The person who took our reservation seemed distracted and a bit cold. First time for that. The fireworks at night were REALLY loud, especially on the weekend, to the point of causing actually pain in my ears. It was Spring Break and we did stay near the beach, but it seems something could be done to enforce the no fireworks rule.. On the plus side, they seemed to end right at quiet hours. The golf carts are numerous and there are still kids underage operating them, but I did see Security pull a few over, so an attempt is being made to address this issue.

All in all, Ocean Lakes is still one of the highlights of our camping season. We will be back again soon, no doubt!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crescendo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
11.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Property: Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Address: 6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing