We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time. Bathhouse was very clean regardless of the time of day. Didn't have a problem with the golf carts or kids as listed in other reviews. We were there for 3 wks in October and the weather was great the majority of the time. Fireworks were a problem with pets but there is no control over it when they are set off on the beach. Met two of the security officers and they were very helpful and very nice every time we saw them patroling the area. One security person said she had been there 15 yrs. That says something for the campground management.
The only thing we were concerned with was the amount of wrecks occurring in the campground. We watched several RVers hit the front of other rvs with the back of their rvs while pulling into their sites. Mainly travel trailers and fifth wheels doing the damage. Very easy to do so pay attention as the roads can be very tight.
As with every campground, there are rules and regulations. There wasn't anything out of the ordinary required as far as we were concerned. We usually ck it out before we get there.
Met some wonderful people and hope to see them there next yr.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    155
    67
    40
    46
See reviews for
408
94
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I booked OLFC online in May "11" with never being there before. I read thru the reviews of others and had many concerns in regards to golf carts and theft. When the terrible incident happened in August I questioned myself many timesof keep the reservation. I kept it with doubt. We arrived on Sept. 16, 2011 early evening and departed on Sept. 24, 2011. We are so happy we kept the reservation. The ocean front (where we were) section was very nice, the concrete pad is wonderful and very clean. The campground was one of the nicest we have stayed at in MB and we have stayed in several. we liked it so much we booked two weeks for next year already and we never do that. Wanted to make sure we got a site.

We did have two things we were not happy with; 1) 5th wheel beside us did not have a sewer donut on his sewer hose to keep in odor (it was bad) and they were not friendly people 2) our site was narrower than others in grounds. the first complaint I think the security should check for those issues and hopefully a donut ring is manditory for sewer and second complaint we took care of ourselves by walking around and choosing the wider sites before we to office to book next years site.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ene222am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

While the facilities are above average, if you plan to visit, KNOW ALL THE RULES! Security prowls looking for any infraction, with tickets starting at $50. My son was scared to do anything after a "I have a job to do" security officer issued us a ticket within 30 minutes of our arrival for something we had no knowledge of. Won't go back. Save your money and go to a resort that cares about their guests having a great vacation, not finding ways to gain more money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jlm109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had our new camper delivered this summer and booked the next weekend at Ocean Lakes. As it was our first trip in a new RV we decided a large fully appointed campground was the best way to make sure it went smoothly. It turned out to be a great idea, as we were constantly back and forth to the campground store getting things we hadn't thought of, and the night security crew were a lifesaver when our 12 yr old learned that, yes, the camper doors really would lock even if the keys were left inside on the table.
Overall we were impressed with our waterfront space, the good friendly service, family atmosphere, and cleanliness of the whole place. Keep in mind, it is a large family campground, not a national park, quiet and remote it aint. But for family camping our 3 small children rode their bikes everywhere, felt very safe and had a ball. Oh, and a whole lot of ice cream to boot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donttrvlenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have been going to Ocean Lakes Family Campground for 20 years. This place has gotten worse every year. The rental houses are not cleaned well upon arrival. The pool areas are too crowded, the beaches are crowded and are dirty with cigarette butts and firework debris. The golf carts are rented at an extremely high rate. The golf carts are operated by children under the age of 16 in a reckless manner and many have been drinking. This is not the family vacation place it use to be. We are very sad as a family that it has come to this. I was hoping my children would be going there when they grew up. This was our last trip to Ocean Lakes. I almost forgot to mention we had someone enter our rental house when we were away at the outlets. I called security and they did arrive quickly and took our report. The security guard adised that he would let me know what he found out by the next day. I was never contacted. We love the Myrtle Beach area, but we do not like what Ocean Lkaes has become over the years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for 20 years of loyalty to Ocean Lakes. We are glad to hear that our security teammates responded to your call so quickly. This last summer was tough in many ways. Your comments are disappointing. Since you have been coming for 20 years, you know we are a very busy summer destination; the pools and beach fill up with sunbathers. Also, it seems in today’s economy, more of our guests stayed in park to enjoy our amenities rather than leave the campground for area attractions (a way to save money). We share your opinion, the cigarette butts and firework debris disgust us; we appreciate the visitors, but not what some of them leave behind. And we do not dictate the laws on the oceanfront where fireworks are legally permitted. You may have noticed that we implemented our iCare Program a couple years ago to help educate our guests about the impact of some of their bad habits have on the environment. We also purchased a tractor and beach sweeper two years ago to help remove debris. In regards to golf cars, we have a Zero Tolerance Policy. Like the highway patrol, we do not catch every violator, but I assure you we have taken away more golf cars and issued more fines this year then ever before. If it’s a rental, they are fined $50 and can loose the privilege to rent another golf car during their stay. However, the problem is not just underage drivers, many of the problems come from the adults whose behavior can be appalling and disrespectful. Once again, we agree with you, it is sad that a 40-year family destination has to spend so much time dealing with guests who do not respect our policies, our teammates or others. We have issued more trespassing notices than ever before this year because of disruptive behavior. In regards to the rental unit, I cannot determine whether it was one of our Ocean Lakes Properties rentals, or if you rented it through a private owner. OLP has to inspect each unit because we take deposits, that protection is not necessarily in place when it’s a private rental. Finally, please understand that we are not making excuses. We are not perfect - there is always room for improvement. However, it is easier to address the issue(s) if you let us know about it while you are at our campground, rather than weeks later in a public forum. Our managers are extremely accessible, all the way up to our Vice President. We know that addressing problems makes for loyal guests. We hope you will reconsider our campground for your family’s memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Perfect annual beach vacation! I wish the sites were hosed off between guests but other than that this is a great family beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland - Wash DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ocean Lakes is a great campground. Its big, offers a lot of beach front, and rentals that include homes, trailers and everthing in between. It is kid freindly, family friendly and dog friendly. My wide and I take my german shepherd, stay in the RV-trailer and he loves it as well. The summer can get hectic, with lots of kids, evening fireworks and the teens zipping around on golf carts, but it is a family resort and part of the reason we go there. April and October are perfect times to visit, with moderate temps in the 70s-80s, with warm water to mid-October. Bath faciltiies are are bit old, but fine for the price- and hey, we're campig right? I've enjoyed about 6 or 7 trips there and have met lots of nice people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonhous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
7.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
11.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Property: Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Address: 6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing