We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great First Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Lakes Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great First Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had our new camper delivered this summer and booked the next weekend at Ocean Lakes. As it was our first trip in a new RV we decided a large fully appointed campground was the best way to make sure it went smoothly. It turned out to be a great idea, as we were constantly back and forth to the campground store getting things we hadn't thought of, and the night security crew were a lifesaver when our 12 yr old learned that, yes, the camper doors really would lock even if the keys were left inside on the table.
Overall we were impressed with our waterfront space, the good friendly service, family atmosphere, and cleanliness of the whole place. Keep in mind, it is a large family campground, not a national park, quiet and remote it aint. But for family camping our 3 small children rode their bikes everywhere, felt very safe and had a ball. Oh, and a whole lot of ice cream to boot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donttrvlenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    143
    63
    38
    45
See reviews for
370
87
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have been going to Ocean Lakes Family Campground for 20 years. This place has gotten worse every year. The rental houses are not cleaned well upon arrival. The pool areas are too crowded, the beaches are crowded and are dirty with cigarette butts and firework debris. The golf carts are rented at an extremely high rate. The golf carts are operated by children under the age of 16 in a reckless manner and many have been drinking. This is not the family vacation place it use to be. We are very sad as a family that it has come to this. I was hoping my children would be going there when they grew up. This was our last trip to Ocean Lakes. I almost forgot to mention we had someone enter our rental house when we were away at the outlets. I called security and they did arrive quickly and took our report. The security guard adised that he would let me know what he found out by the next day. I was never contacted. We love the Myrtle Beach area, but we do not like what Ocean Lkaes has become over the years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for 20 years of loyalty to Ocean Lakes. We are glad to hear that our security teammates responded to your call so quickly. This last summer was tough in many ways. Your comments are disappointing. Since you have been coming for 20 years, you know we are a very busy summer destination; the pools and beach fill up with sunbathers. Also, it seems in today’s economy, more of our guests stayed in park to enjoy our amenities rather than leave the campground for area attractions (a way to save money). We share your opinion, the cigarette butts and firework debris disgust us; we appreciate the visitors, but not what some of them leave behind. And we do not dictate the laws on the oceanfront where fireworks are legally permitted. You may have noticed that we implemented our iCare Program a couple years ago to help educate our guests about the impact of some of their bad habits have on the environment. We also purchased a tractor and beach sweeper two years ago to help remove debris. In regards to golf cars, we have a Zero Tolerance Policy. Like the highway patrol, we do not catch every violator, but I assure you we have taken away more golf cars and issued more fines this year then ever before. If it’s a rental, they are fined $50 and can loose the privilege to rent another golf car during their stay. However, the problem is not just underage drivers, many of the problems come from the adults whose behavior can be appalling and disrespectful. Once again, we agree with you, it is sad that a 40-year family destination has to spend so much time dealing with guests who do not respect our policies, our teammates or others. We have issued more trespassing notices than ever before this year because of disruptive behavior. In regards to the rental unit, I cannot determine whether it was one of our Ocean Lakes Properties rentals, or if you rented it through a private owner. OLP has to inspect each unit because we take deposits, that protection is not necessarily in place when it’s a private rental. Finally, please understand that we are not making excuses. We are not perfect - there is always room for improvement. However, it is easier to address the issue(s) if you let us know about it while you are at our campground, rather than weeks later in a public forum. Our managers are extremely accessible, all the way up to our Vice President. We know that addressing problems makes for loyal guests. We hope you will reconsider our campground for your family’s memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Perfect annual beach vacation! I wish the sites were hosed off between guests but other than that this is a great family beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland - Wash DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ocean Lakes is a great campground. Its big, offers a lot of beach front, and rentals that include homes, trailers and everthing in between. It is kid freindly, family friendly and dog friendly. My wide and I take my german shepherd, stay in the RV-trailer and he loves it as well. The summer can get hectic, with lots of kids, evening fireworks and the teens zipping around on golf carts, but it is a family resort and part of the reason we go there. April and October are perfect times to visit, with moderate temps in the 70s-80s, with warm water to mid-October. Bath faciltiies are are bit old, but fine for the price- and hey, we're campig right? I've enjoyed about 6 or 7 trips there and have met lots of nice people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonhous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This has been our 9th visit to Ocean Lakes. We travel over 700 miles one way each summer with the inlaws to visit(plus (4 kids). I recently made an inquiry about purchasing a beach home down there and was ready to purchase until this last visit. It's just not what it used to be. The teens are out of control. There are groups of 15-19 year old "thugs" wandering around acting like zoo animals and blasting music every night. The SECURITY is a joke. Countless times we saw groups of up to 7 teens on a golf cart, drunk, blasting music and driving erratically right past the so called "security" who go out of their way to ignore them. Would I let my 10 year old walk around this park? A few years ago, yes. Now...NO! I hear about things being stolen constantly and rules don't mean much anymore I guess. I know there are 25k campers there...but there were the same number of campers a few years ago with no problems. Im afraid Ocean Lakes is turning into something that will cost them big time if they keep letting the animals run the asylum. There is NO ENFORCEMENT of rules at all! This has to be the worst security detail in America, or they just don't care. What once was a place of dreams and fun is turning into a place to avoid at all costs,unfortunately. And I say this knowing that Ocean Lakes is/was the greatest place a family could go on vacation, bar none. It is being ruined and trashed and all you hear are the scripted responses. Golf carts? Don't mind them at all...as long as a drunk teenager who is being totally ignored by security is driving. It breaks my heart, but this place is going down hill at record speed. Such a shame. I almost bought a very expensive house down there....and after our last visit, am thankful I didn't. Come on Ocean Lakes!!! Get a REAL security staff and enforce your own rules and keep the trash out. We won't be back until that happens....and after talking to security...Im not expecting any changes anytime soon. Such a shame. ...
SIDE NOTE: Pools are way to crowded, game room is way to crowded...avoid if you can. Definitely need another pool and bigger game room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We are glad you have had so many good vacations at Ocean Lakes. We are sorry that your last visit was ruined by teenage guests and loud music. Unfortunately, some of our guests are not as considerate as others - and they are not all teens, by the way. We see many of the same problems with adults who should be setting a better example. It is extremely frustrating. We do not deny that this summer was a challenge. However, most of guests commend us for our security and how well we operate our campground. Also, our park has a much more mellow, relaxed feel 9+ months of the year.

You had some strong opinions about our security teammates, and even referred to them as a joke. Honestly, that kind of attitude is part of the problem. We continue to witness a lack of respect for our teammates, our policies and others. You challenged us to get a real security staff and I think that may be because many do not realize how well trained and diligent our security department is - in many areas. Please understand, we are not saying we are perfect. We know there is room for improvement and we are working on it. Here are some facts about our security that many do not know. Training is on-going, we go far beyond what is required. Our teammates must complete annual training that may include customer service, conflict management, team building, etc., to create a proactive frame of mind within our teammates. In addition to that, 76% of our security teammates are SLED Certified (SC Law Enforcement Division) that means that they have similar authority on our property as the Horry County Police and SC Highway Patrol. Anyone who acquires this certification must score a 100% on the written exam. Once they have obtained this certification, they are required to go through “refresher training.” They work extremely closely with local emergency personnel to provide a safe park, handle medical emergencies and address bad behavior. All Ocean Lakes Security teammates, as well as all supervisors recently completed (or were re-certified) a certificate course through the American Red Cross in First Aid and A.E.D (automated external defibrillator) training. The certification is dated for two years. The defibrillators that we have are very user friendly. In an emergency, the machine can talk you through the process. We have saved lives with these AEDs; including most recently a non-responsive bluegrass band member last Friday, August 26th. Ocean Lakes Security also keeps a very detailed log of calls from guests, teammates and their 24-hour courtesy patrol. In addition, a detailed report is filled out for incidents on our property. There really is a lot that guests never see behind the scenes nor should they, after all they are on vacation. To assist with the 25,000+ guests during the peak summer, we did try some new tactics to keep guests safe and help remove the guests that cause problems. We utilized undercover county police officers and off-duty uniform officers patrolling our property. We have taken more golf cars away then ever before and issued more fines in the past years.

It is amazing that a family-owned business, that was created to provide a family vacation destination, has to do all this but that is what seems to be required in today’s world. We are committed, have no doubt. We hope you will be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Have been staying at Ocean Lakes for the past several years after a bad experience at their neighbor (Lakewood). Ocean Lakes is a VERY NICE campground but there are issues. The overcrowding at the pool is one of them. During the summer months, the golfcarts are double parked meaning if you pull into a spot, you are likely to have a golf cart parked behind you when you leave the pool. As many have stated the golf carts are an issue but one that is a necessary evil. The place is so big you absolutely have to have a golf cart to get around and carry your stuff from the beach. So far we've had one bad experience and that was during the "senior week" time when kids are getting ready to graduate or have just graduated. A rental house with at least 20+ teens were up late at night causing a scene two houses down that I would have hoped you could only find on the strip at Myrtle Beach. Although it took a while to get through to security, the OL security took care of the issue and were great. I think security could be a little more strict on these teens as it seeems to have gotten worse over the past few years. Also with the stabbing death of a teen just this past Saturday, it really didn't suprise me at all. Hopefull this is a wakeup call for Ocean Lakes to reign in the teenage crowd that stays there. It might be a family campground, but it seems to be moving away from that. Get it together Ocean Lakes. Again great campground but it does have some issues. Much better than Lakewood or Pirateland though.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have staying at ocean lakes since for over 20 years. Friends of ours let us stay at their home which is awesome. The place has really changed over the years and I wish that I could say that it has gotten better. The pool scene is crazy and is really over crowded in the summer months no matter what they say they need another pool. The kids on golf carts has gotten out of hand but what is really crazy is the little kids on motorized scooters. Off course management says they are just following state laws. Family time was good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeammateMPR, Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for choosing Ocean Lakes for your family memories. It is true, we have changed and evolved over the years, we do not deny there have been growing pains. However a lot of the change has been very well received by our guests, hence the population in the summer. Our teammates, which include managers, spend a lot of time monitoring our park and interacting with our guests. In fact, many have or do live here, including our Vice President. We are not making excuses, but some of the changes are beyond our control. As with society in general, the conduct and behavior of some of our guests (not just teens, but in some cases all ages) has deteriorated. We truly do our best to address any issues. We can not take not take the place of a parent though, when it comes to scooters and golf cars, but we try our best. In regards to the pools, we do have some space issues there, however, we are a pretty creative team of people so we’ll keep you posted. We hope you’ll continue to have a good time with your family at Ocean Lakes any day of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
11.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#64 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Property: Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Address: 6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing