We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible. Please do not visit”
Review of Lancer Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancer Motel
Ranked #192 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible. Please do not visit”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This place is horrible. Me and my gf have stayed here before and it wasn't so bad for the price. But our recent visit was absolutely terrible. The outlets were broken, there was band aids stuck on the wall, the refrigerator was nt plugged in so there was water on the floor which smelled of mildew . The bed smelled of pee, the tv was in and out all night, there was drug transactions and loud people outside all night. And some suspicious man kept knocking at the door from 3-4 am. I will not be returning I will pay more for another hotel but at least I would feel safe. I usually am not picky about motels as long as there cheap.. But I wouldn't even pay 5 dollars to stay at this place.. Absolutely unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Latoniam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This motel is very very run down, was forced to stay there because of bike week. They raised their rates as their rooms filled up, the last room went for $150 a night. Getting extra towels was like pulling teeth. The room smelled of molds, I'm surprised the health department has not shut them down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mudpuppyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The bug bite me all night , the cover have blood in it, the matters it was very dirty , I have pic , when I wake up in the morning I saw the mattress I was descusting , will sleep in my car before stay there, in one month the fee change from 35$ to 75 $

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Alexmurilloreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Where should I start??? It was a last minute choice, pulling up I already felt like I wasn't in "Kansas" anymore. It was a Dump... We had the 2 bd rm.. It was very out dated..smelled like it was closed off for yeArs. During the night drug transactions took place right near our car. Alot of bums and what seemed to be prostitutes walking around.. We received a mysterious phone call during that night.. (Which made me want to check out right then Nd there) and I would be No Refunds!!! Lesson Learned!! Never will stay there again.. It should get closed down

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Malik05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

On July 8, 2012 I made a reservation at The Lancer Motel in Myrtle Beach, SC for July 13, 2012-July 15, 2012.(just a weekend getaway for my wife and I. Totally spare of the moment type deal) I gave them my deposit over the phone and at no time did the front desk clerk say that there was a 15 day cancellation period and if i did not cancel within 15 days that my deposit would be forfeited. On July 9th, I called back to advise that I was not going to be able to come down because I was called in to work on that Saturday. They told me that I would have to speak to the manager "Chad" to see if I could get my deposit back. I left a message for Chad on July 10, and he never responded. I called again on July 11th to see if the deposit had been refunded and the front desk clerk said that he saw the notes in the system, but Chad has not touched it yet. I called again this morning at 8am (July 12) to get my deposit back and Chad stated that he would not give it back. My wife and I had to leave after check in 3 years back from the same motel and our card was never charged. I feel that who ever takes the reservations over the phone should have advised me of the cancellation policy and then I could have made a more informed decision as to booking my stay there. There was not 15 days from the time that I made my reservation until the day I was supposed to arrive to cancel. I feel this is unfair and the public needs to be aware of these bad business practices that go on at this establishment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bronson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice and well worth the price... Can not beat it and wouldn't go anywhere else... Stayed two nights and were able to walk to the beach.

Room Tip: No noise close to everything and very very low price the amount we paid for both nights wasnt even w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank La-Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Great location for the price. Condition on exterior was very nice. Condition on interior was dated but clean and stocked well. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well and stocked for the second night. Located a block from the beach.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeridianPostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#104 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#78 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
#129 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carolina Tarheel Motel
Carolina Tarheel Motel
#121 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancer Motel

Property: Lancer Motel
Address: 606 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3745 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancer Hotel Myrtle Beach
Travelodge Myrtle Beach
Travel Lodge Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Travel Lodge
Myrtle Beach Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing