We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIPOFF !!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancer Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancer Motel
Ranked #190 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RIPOFF !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

On July 8, 2012 I made a reservation at The Lancer Motel in Myrtle Beach, SC for July 13, 2012-July 15, 2012.(just a weekend getaway for my wife and I. Totally spare of the moment type deal) I gave them my deposit over the phone and at no time did the front desk clerk say that there was a 15 day cancellation period and if i did not cancel within 15 days that my deposit would be forfeited. On July 9th, I called back to advise that I was not going to be able to come down because I was called in to work on that Saturday. They told me that I would have to speak to the manager "Chad" to see if I could get my deposit back. I left a message for Chad on July 10, and he never responded. I called again on July 11th to see if the deposit had been refunded and the front desk clerk said that he saw the notes in the system, but Chad has not touched it yet. I called again this morning at 8am (July 12) to get my deposit back and Chad stated that he would not give it back. My wife and I had to leave after check in 3 years back from the same motel and our card was never charged. I feel that who ever takes the reservations over the phone should have advised me of the cancellation policy and then I could have made a more informed decision as to booking my stay there. There was not 15 days from the time that I made my reservation until the day I was supposed to arrive to cancel. I feel this is unfair and the public needs to be aware of these bad business practices that go on at this establishment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bronson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thomson, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice and well worth the price... Can not beat it and wouldn't go anywhere else... Stayed two nights and were able to walk to the beach.

Room Tip: No noise close to everything and very very low price the amount we paid for both nights wasnt even w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank La-Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

Great location for the price. Condition on exterior was very nice. Condition on interior was dated but clean and stocked well. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Room cleaned well and stocked for the second night. Located a block from the beach.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeridianPostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#50 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#74 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
Rainbow Court Annex Motel
#131 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Motel
The Diplomat Motel
#119 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancer Motel

Property: Lancer Motel
Address: 606 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3745 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Lancer Hotel Myrtle Beach
Travelodge Myrtle Beach
Travel Lodge Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Travelodge
Myrtle Beach Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing