We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great place to be ...”
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #36 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Sea Watch is a combination hotel/time share property consisting of a North and South Tower and three Villas. As a Wyndham owner, I stayed in Villa I--terrific!!!

Two bedroom unit, plenty of space. Somehow, we were booked into a Handicapped unit, which was OK but neither one of us required the bars, walk-in shower, etc. Located around the corner from the Tanger Outlet, about 15 mins to Broadway at the Beach.

Very family oriented, repeat travellers (one person I spoke to says they've been coming for the last 18 years. As crowded as it was, you never felt rushed. Kids were well-behaved, and it was quiet in the evening.

Went to a timeshare presentation--HINT: You receive your gifts before you attend the presentation--now that's a switch! Also, went to the buffet breakfast as part of the presentation which was plentiful and tasteful.

There's a lot going on to keep you busy, especially for the kids. There is, however, only one computer with intenet access for the entire complex. They do advertise free WIFI, but I don't usually carry a laptop with me on vacation.

Good restaurants: I recommend The Grand in Barefoot Landing and Fish Bones. Lots of chain restaurants (we ate at Fuddruckkers).

Entertainment: You can see a show everyday if you want to, but we only saw The Grand Cirque at the Palace and the Three Irish Tenors--excellent and not at all costly.

Shopping: anything you want; located close to a Walmart and a food store.

I would highly recommend this resort to just about anyone who likes the pool, the beach, and just plain relaxing. There's something here for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wcfBucksCo_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
There are newer reviews for Sea Watch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

We've been going to Sea Watch each year for many years now. It's a beautiful place in an ideal location. It's a little dated now that it's been there more more than 10 years but the place is kept up pretty well. The facilities are excellent with many pools and right on the ocean. If you get up a little too late (say past 10 am), it's hard to find a chair by the pool. The DJ on Tues and Thurs get the crowd going and it's a real nice (family oriented) party atmosphere. This is a place frequented by families.
My only major complaint is the "ConnectFreely" internet access is not workable. We called tech support and eventually learned (after an on site visit) that the hotel simply didn't pay for enough bandwidth so if too many people are on (which seemed to be the case almost all the time), it locks the bandwidth so it's slow to the point of stopping and basically unusable. I told the management this and they are looking into it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viperflt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Sea Watch was a pretty nice place. There were lots of actitivities for kids. My kids were able to tie-dye t-shirts(10-15 per shirt) which was cool. All the staff at the activity center and the hotel were very nice and helpful. The pools, hot tubs and lazy river were nice too. The security guard was good about not letting people reserve chairs forever.
My only dislike was the bathroom in our room. It was very dated and could have used a good deep clean. Also the room is VERY small. It really needs updating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPELorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach. We chose the Sea Watch because of tripadvisor. We were in the North tower on the 8th floor. We had an amazing view of the ocean. We loved to sit on the balcony at night and listen to the ocean. Our room was dated which we knew from pictures ahead of time. But it was comfortable and suited a family of four well. (it was the one bedroom unit) We loved having the kitchen too. The hotel is in a great location, not as busy as some hotel locations we saw. We loved the ocean and the pools. We had a wonderful trip! Parking was also very easy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famof4chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

After reading great reviews from TripAdvisor, my husband and I had a wonderful 7-night stay at Sea watch. We booked the Sea Watch Resort because it was all beach front. We stayed in a one-bedroom oceanfront in the North Tower, room #904, which was not a true oceanfront, since it was on an angle, and we could not see up nor down the beach. We were very pleased once we arrived to see that the website's photos of the resort were accurate.

Pros:
The place was beautiful, and the staff was friendly. Our room was clean, the kitchen fully stocked, and the bathroom was in great condition. Our housekeeper Barbara was fantastic, friendly and accommodating. Also, we were up high enough to leave our balcony door opened all day and night, and we loved the DJ on Tuesday and Thursday. We also liked that the hotel was back off the road and was far enough away from the busy areas that we had peace and quiet, but close enough that we didn't have to drive far to do things.

Cons:
The one bedroom was pretty small and kind of tight comparing to what we are used to. There were only two chairs at the tiny kitchen table, and if you use the pull out couch, it took up the entire living area with no extra room to move around it, furniture had to be shoved and tucked away in order for the bed to be utilized. Right when you open up the door to the room, the door almost hits the bed. The room and the resort itself was clean but a little dated and not luxurious. The room although clean had dated furniture and amenities and was in need of an update. The master blanket in the master bedroom smelled like it had not been cleaned in a year. One thing the Sea Watch is missing is internet access in the entire condo. The high speed wireless was horrible, and it only worked before 7AM and after 11:30PM, and it only worked in the living room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gcbfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at the Seawatch for a week in July and for the amount we spent I thought it was a great deal. The hotel itself is nice, rooms are ok but I loved having my own kitchen and a seperate bedroom for the price of a small hotel room elsewhere. The wifi was never down which is important to me. My kids love the lazy rivers, pools and hot tubs. We also got free breakfast which was quite good. The beach is so close and not over crowded - we LOVED it! The customer service was also great - no trouble at check in, parking was so close, always helped when we called down. Would we go back.... most definately :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snookies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I spent 8 days (7/26 - 8/2) at the Sea Watch Resort.

We liked the layout of the resort regarding the proximity of the pool, beach, Tiki Bar and free parking. The folks at the front desk were extremely helpful. The Tuesday and Thursday pool parties with the DJ were outstanding. Waking up and looking out over the ocean from our deck was amazing.

The location of the resort is right near restaurant row, 10 minutes from the Carolina Opry and Dixie Stampede and 5 minutes from the Tangers Outlets.

I would strongly recommend this place for both families and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxandEnjoyMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $98 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing