We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“No Reason To Srtay There” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #39 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
McMurray, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Reason To Srtay There”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room was a dump, great view but nothing else. Refrigerator was rusted and dented, constant plimbing noises from other rooms, commode ran all night and had to be replaced, cracks in wall, hair and dirt around bathtub, living room chairs broken down to the springs. No cable TV for 3 days. One elevator broken for 3 days. No restroom in pool areas, had to go to second floor for restroom. Very crowded beach area with many drunks during the day and early evening. Lifeguards let other set chairs in front of chair renters taking away ocean views and personal space. Have been to Myrtle for 40+ years, worse stay ever..

Room Tip: see your room first, heard time share rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable comments concerning our resort. The staff and management at Sea Watch Resort strive to provide only the highest level of service at all times. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. If guest ever encounter issues at the resort and report it, we try our very best to take care of it. If you will consider a future visit to Sea Watch Resort I would be happy to personally handle all the arrangements.
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    456
    168
    98
    61
See reviews for
815
354
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Sea Watch Resort is owned by Wyndham Hotels, but managed by a property management company. After finding this out, I was surprised at the conditions of the hotel. Not that it was that bad, but given Wyndham is known for their upscale hotels, that this hotel wouldn't have prescribed the same hotel experience.
I'll start with the bad:
1) We were there a total of 5 days, 4 nights; for the first two days our bed was not made. We called the front desk and was told that if there is any article of clothing on the bed, the maids will not make the bed. Clearly our fault for leaving personal items on the bed...but would have been better had they told us at registration.
2) The beds were nothing like that you would get in a typical Wyndham hotel, unless you like firm mattresses.
3) There is a large RV park next door to the resort that has only one pool. The residents of that park crowd the pools at the Sea Watch when their RV pool is overcrowded. Again, this isn't a big deal...but, when the Sea Watch posts a sign that asks guests not to reserve chairs and you arrive at the pool with few chairs left due to a violation of that request, it's annoying. Even more so to find out some of those guests were from the RV park.
4) The room was adequate, again not of what I expected to be, Wyndham quality. The popcorn ceiling was peeling, but that's the only thing that I noticed wrong with the room.
5) The elevators will make the Dalai Lama go ballistic. There are only four elevators and with a full resort, you could wait for up to 10 minutes for an elevator. During our stay one elevator was typically out of service or being commandeered by resort staff. It was painful.

The good:
This hotel is a great resort for the family. The resort is basically split in to two separate facilities, separated by the vacation club rooms. It is situated right on the beach so, overcrowded pools or not, you can go hang out at the beach if you wanted to. My family and I went between the two all day long so, it was a lot of fun for us and the kids. Given the two sides of the resort, the north side was noticeably more crowded than the south so, we could find room anywhere.

Don't let my review of the rooms scare you. It was just an unmade bed and peeling ceiling paint, easy fixes and the unmade bed was our own fault. Most of the rooms have a balcony and ocean view so, you were met with a beautiful sunrise every morning. The rooms also have a full kitchen, so we made breakfast every morning, which saved time and money.

The resort is also located within a mile of the Tanger outlets and about 10 minutes from Barefoot Landing and Broadway at the Beach. All of which provide plenty of shopping and/or entertainment and food options.

I guess all-in-all, the hotel is what I would expect from any slightly above-average beach resort. For what we paid (about $140/night) it was a bargain compared to motels you might find at the Jersey Shore and surrounding beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors in case you have to hoof it up/down the stairs. Also, when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cope09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we had a great experience, the rooms were really were clean and spacious, its kids friendly, the pools were clean and really great for kids, ocean view was breath taking, we will definitely go back. they only thing they forgot was to give us the beach towels but everything else was beautiful. Its a great place for a family vacation. I don't do reviews but I had to this time. Great place.

Room Tip: all rooms are great really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvester k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Pictures on Sea Watch web site need updated. The place is nice and clean but very run down. Paint chipped and peeling. It needs updated. The pools look a lot nicer on the web site. While staying there our cable went out, and was out for 3 days. We didn't watch TV but our kids like to turn it on while waiting for everyone to get ready to go out. This resort is very south of north myrtle. I would have stayed at least 10 mile farther up the beach in North Myrtle. There is a super walmart close and a Kroger. I recommend Kroger on Saturday night. Walmart is CRAZY, black Friday crazy!!!! Avoid Walmart until Monday. If you are going to the Sea watch it is clean, but I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We will not be staying here again. I would look farther up into North Myrtle. Vacation was still very nice. The Sea Watch is just out dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylandridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Checked in on a Saturday. Originally were checking in Sunday but added a day and saved $130 because of buy 5 get 2 nights free. Great deal! Was only 11:00 so room wasn't ready, they called me when it was. Everyone was very friendly. Our keys didn't work... 3 times got new ones... Still didn't work. Finally 4th they did. 16th floor, long wait for elevators of course, but whatever. Our room was clean in the aspect of not dirty. It was an ocean view 1 bedroom. So it had a king bedroom, kitchen, living space with Murphy bed. Very narrow and the bathroom is tiny. Couldn't be in it and have anyone come in you'd be in the way of the door. Everything in the kitchen was old and rusty. The grout and such in the bathroom was so old and nasty. Housekeeping wouldn't stay in our room if we came back and she wasn't done but we had small children and we couldn't wait in the hall like she would have liked. She only made beds, gave towels. Didn't vacuum we had sand everywhere all week. And she'd always but dishes in the dishwasher... Even if it had clean ones in it. For the first time in my life at myrtle I saw a pool with security and it was great with keeping kids in lazy pools in tubes and things like that. It's the cheapest we've ever stayed so I think for what we got it was adequate to the price. Each elevator ride or each guest we talked to at the pool each had complaints as well. One guest told us they had sprinklers malfunctioning.... So I guess it could have been worse. But everyone we saw had problems of some kind. The parking garage was plentiful. Never had a problem with finding a spot easily. The hotel is part of sea watch plantation which I didn't know till arrival... Go to north tower for check in. There are villas and north and south towers. The villa guests we kept hearing complain to guards about the hotel guests. To sum up. It didn't ruin our trip by any means but I'd stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dew1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The place was packed. There were kids and families everywhere, but there was plenty of staff to handle the crowds.The room was clean, and comfortable. The linens were plush and plentiful. There was still plenty of parking available in spite of the full house. This one bedroom in the North Tower was well kept and in great shape. Overall, an excellent experience.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms have thebest ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reeadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have never ever done a review but I feel I must this time because as parents we are always looking for great vacation places. First off, we ( family of 6, 4 kids ages 11,10,9 and 7) drove here from miami Florida not knowing really what to expect. As soon as we drove up the building looked beautiful and clean and the location was absolutely perfect. Front desk staff was very nice and the kids couldn't wait to run around and explore the grounds.

We stayed on the 16th floor. Higher IS better. The view is breathtaking and all rooms in the north tower are ocean view. Our room was comfy and clean. Now the pools... The kids looooved the pools, lazy river and jacuzzi. We had to peel them out of there by 11pm. They made friends with other children and everyone is super friendly. My youngest won the limbo contest and they have tons of small prices for the children. Now the beach... It's so perfect and relaxing. I will say we were kind of upset when the life guard told us we could only put our umbrella up behind the "umbrella line". That was too far for us to watch the kids so we pretty much bought our umbrella for no reason. There is a walmart a mile away. I love the location because it isn't in the middle of the touristy area with a million people. You can drive 15mins down the road to the boardwalk for all the action. We did the sky wheel, family kingdom and wonder works. Amazing places to take the kids.

Our experience in myrtle beach was nothing short than incredible. The resort was perfect and we've been to a lot of places over the years. I would love to come back and if we do it will definitely be sea watch. Oh and ps. Jesse the bartender makes amazing drinks!

Room Tip: It's a hit or miss since some condos are privately owned. We had a great room and booked directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
10.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Property: Sea Watch Resort
Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing