We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great place for a family vacation”
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #36 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ayden, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have visited Sea Watch a couple of times before and it is our families favorite place to stay in Myrtle Beach. The only negative I can say is that the last time when we arrived the lobby was packed when we arrived and it took a long time to get checked in. There were 6 of us and the room got upgraded which was wonderful. The room was clean and in good condition. The pools were clean and the staff was friendly. We love going there it is great for families and that is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamafor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    488
    191
    108
    70
See reviews for
883
391
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Mostly a pleasant week with excellent weather. Our family of ten rented a three bedroom. We were comfortable however the room was not equipped for ten (not enough plates, cups, etc. or enough cooking equipment)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 172Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We planned a family vacation to myrtle beach and couldn't wait to stay at the Seawatch. When we initially got there, it appeared to be just what we were expecting- a beautiful beachfront resort with plenty of amenities. We couldn't of been more wrong. For starters, we arrived early and were told they would call us when our room was ready. We were fine with that, and planned on spending some time at the beach and pools anyways. Beware- pools, hot tubs, and lazy river are small- and only a few are actually out in the sun. The rest are underneath the tower in the shade. They had limited facilities for early arrival- one bathroom on the second floor ( which is used for the pools and restaurant as well!) that didn't have a changing area, no showers, and the soap dispenser wasn't refilled all day! We decided to have lunch there- food was awful and they lost our check. Took over an hour with hardly any guests there. They did however apologize and provide a discount. No one ever called us to say our room was ready, so when we came up to the desk after check in time they only had limited rooms available ( we rented a two bedroom ocean front condo 6 months prior)! When we got to our condo, it was filthy, dated, and smelled. The linens hadn't even appeared to have been changed. Two of the doors were off the tracks and couldn't be shut. We had to stand them up. This is what we waited all day for? Clearly not what we were expecting! The curtains on both glass doors were hanging off and one had a huge rip in it. I spent the evening cleaning and decided to deal with it in the morning. Everyone was just too tired. At midnight, we and our neighbors were awoken by a horrible sound- apparently when using the washers and dryers this sound occurs. Fire alarm went off in room - so old it had to be replaced. I could go on an on. I spent the next four days of our trip talking to the manager about issues- he did provide us a small discount for our inconveniences and heard my concerns- but nothing really got accomplished. They actually offered me more towels to clean with!! Way overpriced for what you get. There is confusion and miscommunication between staff- some condos are resort operated, others individually owned- every one has different rules and accommodations. And no one seems responsible. Staff were hardly visible throughout the day- garbage and lobby carts were left in the hallways for the whole day- again- not what we expected! We stayed in the North Tower. Definitely would NOT recommend- keep looking!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

When we checked in our room keys did not work and it took almost 5 hours to fix with multiple trips to the front desk and 2 trips by maintenance to fix the problem We could not settle into our room until 11pm. Also the internet rarely worked and when it did it would only stay connected for a very short time and we would have to reconnect The room furniture was old and not comfortable including the beds and the dishwasher was not connected to the counter and when loaded tipped over like it was going to fall over. The dishes in the kitchen were mismatched and of very poor quality.It even took several hours and 2 phone calls to get fresh towels from housekeeping. We have stayed many places in Myrtle Beach and this was definitely one of the worst experiences we have had,needless to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been traveling to Myrtle Beach for years, but this was our first stay at Sea Watch. The hotel front desk staff was extremely patient and helpful. The check-in process was done in an orderly and efficient way. The room itself was clean and properly maintained, although it did appear to be somewhat dated. We had no complaints! There are a variety of pools and hot tubs located on the property. There is easy access to the gorgeous "grand strand" and plenty to do within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. I would recommend this facility to anyone who wants a fun, safe, and comfortable stay in Myrtle Beach! P.S. You will love the ice cream parlor on the Lobby floor and the bar outside near the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillmantiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been here 7 years straight. We love the activities, pool party, food, everything about Seawatch. There is a nice crowd but not too crowded, plenty of pools, hot tubs, lazy rivers for everyone to enjoy. See you next year Seawatch!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first visit to the Sea Watch Resort. It is located in North Myrtle Beach, but near one of the outlet malls and a Wal-Mart. The resort sits on the beach, which is a plus in my book. It was early April and still cool when we visited, but we planned a 3 day stay to just enjoy ourselves and play miniature golf (something my husband loves). The staff was very helpful when I booked the room, but check around on-line for specials because I had already found some they didn't mention (one that included 2 free breakfast buffets). We stayed in the main building which was more convenient for the breakfast buffet (delicious), parking, etc. Our condo was a little dated, but it really didn't matter to us. I was surprised that you entered into the bedroom, and through that you reached the kitchen, and then the living room. The area to the rooms is covered, but open, and you can hear everyone passing to go to the elevators from the bedroom, but not the other parts of the condo. We were on the 5th floor and in the middle of the complex. The view of the ocean was wonderful and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking out over the ocean. We were there in the middle of the week, so it wasn't crowded. A walkway leads to the beach. While it was too cool to swim in the pool, there were several people sun-bathing. I'm not sure if this happens the higher up you go or if you are to one side, but the way the building is shaped, and being on the 5th floor, in the middle, and right above the pool, while sitting on the balcony I could hear the conversations of those around the pool just as clearly as if the person was sitting next to me. No one was yelling and they were all speaking in normal tones, but I could hear every word they said. I think this room would a little too noisy in the summer. The front desk personnel and the wait staff for the breakfast buffet were all polite and extremely friendly and helpful. Oh, we were advised to ask for a resort owned condo as some of the condos are owned by individuals and if you have a problem, you have to contact the owner. We didn't have any problems with the condo we had, and we plan to return in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SLRNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
4.3 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Property: Sea Watch Resort
Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing