We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Always fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #35 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always fun”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

As always we had a great time at the Sea Watch. Although some rooms need updating, it is always clean and bug free. It's one of my families favorite places to go in the U.S. We always get a room facing the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momto3longisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Hello momto3longisland!

Thank you so much for your review! We are always glad to hear when our guests are as excited about our beautiful resort as we are! If you have any suggestions and/or requests for your stay for next year, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks again!

,Maria Foxworth
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    477
    182
    105
    65
See reviews for
854
381
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been using this resort for several years now. Facilities, grounds, amenities and food service are very good. Staff are all friendly and helpful. The studio units are under maintained and overpriced! Don't waste your money; get a one bedroom unit. Convenient to food and shopping, too

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback on Sea Watch Resort. We are happy that you found our facilities, grounds, amenities, and food services very good. Our friendly staff are always eager to serve with a smile. We will definitely look into maintaining and updating our studio's so we can make our guest feel more comfortable.
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked the Seawatch Resort for Spring break thinking it would be a great place to take the kids. While we were not expecting a luxury hotel, we were not expecting a filthy hotel. The carpet in our room was so dirty that I could not let my children walk barefoot because the bottoms of their feet turned black. The bathroom had pubic hair everywhere and the tub had dirty foot prints all over. Our A/C unit broke and maintenance came to fix it but couldn't because it needed to be replaced. Luckily, the weather turned cooler so we only had to suffer for 2 days in a humid, musty, hot room. Maid service was terrible. They came to the room around 5 pm everyday -- right when we were getting ready for the evening. I asked them to come back and they refused. We missed cleaning a few times because of their late service.

Amenities are a joke. The arcade was barely functional -- with just a handful of games working. The laundry room had 2 washers and 2 dryers, both of which were full of sand that got got all over our clothes. The pools were nice but over chlorinated. And people put their towels out on chairs so early in morning to save a spot, leaving no chairs available. To make matters worse, many of those people didn't even occupy those "taken" chairs until later in the afternoon.

One of the most offensive things was that the trash was hardly cleaned up on the beach. The garbage cans were overflowing and by our third day, we had to walk through literal trash to get to and from the sand. It stunk and was just disgusting.

Lastly, security seemed to be non existent. On our first night, there was a prom going on. By 11pm, the kids were rowdy, throwing beer cans at each other and getting in a chocolate sauce fight. To top it off, a few got naked and were in the pool. Very little was done to curtail the noise. Secondly, fireworks were shot off every night. It would have been a sight to see but not at 11pm. With little kids trying to sleep, it was just annoying. Not to mention that fireworks are illegal on resort grounds.

Only saving grace for the hotel is that it has beautiful views of the ocean. Our room had a balcony off the living room and was nice -- aside from the moldy patio furniture.

In my opinion, the resort is run down, tacky and staff did not treat us as valued customers. They acted as if they were put-out by requests for a clean room or a working A/C.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristinaFitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Sea Watch. We use each and every review as a way to improve our service and quality of product. We are very sorry that this was your experience at Sea Watch Resort during your spring break. I hope you spoke with management while you were here so we were able to address these issues with you regarding the unit you were in. I assure you this is not typical of our units and would be happy to personally handle your reservation if you would consider returning. I appreciate your business and hope you will return for a future visit.
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent our Spring Break here and had a great time. All amenities were wonderful. Location was great. The kitchenette was a nice bonus. We loved the beach front room. Morning coffee was wonderful here. Will plan to spend next spring break here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing with everyone about your spring break vacation here at Sea Watch. We are so excited that you and your family had a great time. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a 2 bedroom suite for our family of 5. It was a great place to stay in the off season. Pools were heated, hot tubs were in working order. The beach was beautiful, but the weather was cold during our visit. We enjoyed walking on the beach and kiting. The rooms were excellent! Had kitchen stocked with all that was needed. Washer dryer in the room and a great view from the balcony. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: South tower is away from the front desk, fitness room, etc, so if that is a priority ask for the Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you all had a great vacation in your 2 bedroom unit. We are glad you found your room to be excellent, had a washer and dryer, good view, and fully stocked. We hope that you and your family will continue to make Sea Watch your place to stay when you visit Myrtle Beach again! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Love the Sea Watch! We just happened to visit some friends staying at this hotel about 10 years ago, and we have stayed here every trip to Myrtle Beach since then (every year)! One time they were booked and we went elsewhere. After staying at the other place 2 nights (& it was a nice place) we finally got in to the Sea Watch and vowed to never stay anywhere else again because it just wasn't the Sea Watch. It's just "our place." Love the location--very quiet and away from the hustle of Myrtle and all the traffic--yet it has very convenient access to restaurants, Walmart, and other stores close by. So if you need to run out for something you don't have to fight with traffic and spend hours going out and coming back! It's also easy to get to on the way in. It's right off 22 if you come in from that direction--which is excellent in skipping beach traffic as well. You can skip all the stops and starts of 501 and 17!!! Then the hotel is easy to find off the exit. The resort itself is wonderful!! Love how big it is and all the pools and hot tubs. That's one of the reasons we started coming. It's not the type of place that you have to "wait for a spot to open" to be able to get in the pool to cool off. There are so many that you can get in and not be crowded. Love the Tiki Bar--it's always a favorite for the whole family that we all miss after we leave! Every thing has always been very clean. The pools are always clean and nice. The restaurant is always nice--even though we didn't go this trip--& breakfast is lovely. We've never gotten a room that wasn't clean! Some of the rooms are owned privately and have a lovely touch of decor from the owner. That's always neat because you never really know what your room is going to look like. The staff are always nice, very accommodating, and always sure to speak if you pass them in the hall or on the elevator. Only had two instances that I wasn't very happy with involving security a few years ago. One stay the guard would come and move your stuff off your chair while you were away from it. I can understand if you leave your stuff unattended for hours and hours--sure. But we could put our towels, bags (with personal items in them) on the chair and walk to the beach to put your feet in & keep your stuff from getting sandy and come back and your stuff--bag and all--would be gone! No idea where it was & you have heart failure! That was frustrating to say the least. And if that would have kept up--it was about enough to make me leave and not come back. Because it was more to annoy & hastle people than it was for good--I felt. And I'm a patient and calm person. I know some people abuse it but that was ridiculous. Another time they got super religious about wearing the pool bands. For years we've gone and always taken them with us to the pool. The kids always wear them but if I was laying in the sun (in order to keep from having a tan line) I would just keep it close by me in case someone needed to see it. Did that for years and never had a problem. Then one year that wasn't good enough. They didn't care if you had it in your hand or on top of your bag the guard said it had to be on. Again, in my opinion, something just to hassle & uncalled for. But again enough for me to almost go elsewhere. Because they made rounds constantly checking--like police. And I know that people abuse that too & there has to be ways--but if you show you have it, I don't know what it matters for you to have it on constantly--especially when you're just laying there! Doesn't make it a relaxing lounge by the pool if your constantly checked for your band or if your afraid to leave your stuff long enough to run to the restroom for fear it will be taken!! Both of those instances were in the summer when it was busier. We haven't been back during that time of the year since then, so I don't know if it's just a summer time thing or if they even still do that to that extent. Hopefully, they don't. I like the fact that security is there for the guests. And I've seen several instances where they were needed & very helpful. But those two times were almost harassing and to say look at me I'm security & I can do what I want. Sorry--just my opinion. But all that aside (just be warned if that still goes on), at the end of the day, me and my family still just simply LOVE this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmsw, Front Office Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback on your visit with us at Sea Watch resort.in April. I apologize for the late response. We appreciate and love our repeat guest. The first visit you are considered a guest after two or three visits we consider you a part of the sea watch family. We love to see our repeat family members who return year after year.
i am very happy you enjoyed your vacation, the resort and location. I did share with the security manager your comments concerning your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank You
Maria Foxworth
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was very nice. We stayed in the north tower on the 16th floor. Excellent view. The front desk staff were especially friendly and the many pools were clean and the water was warm - no complaints there.

I would say the bedding could use an update, but it was clean and comfortable enough. We loved the fully equipped kitchen. Even in the one bedroom unit we even had a dishwasher!

The tiki bar was a little slow with only one bartender so the line was like 15 mins to get a drink. But on the plus side, they make a great bloody mary ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh K, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am glad the you enjoyed your stay at Sea Watch Resort.
The North Myrtle area has definitely grown and added a lot of new attractions in the area over the past years. I hope that you were able to get out and experience some of what North Myrtle Beach has to offer.

We hope to see you again,
Josh Kidder
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation
#58 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
531 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
5.0 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Property: Sea Watch Resort
Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing