We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual, another great stay at the Compass.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Matthews, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As usual, another great stay at the Compass.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was about our 10th stay at Compass Cove since 2005. All the staff we talked to
from check in to check out were courteous, patient and helpful. Great clean rooms with nice beds, tv's, appliances and bathroom. And of course the pools were all in tiptop shape again.
Hope we can go back for another Thanksgiving this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,186
    528
    292
    237
See reviews for
2,261
818
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Our group used The Crows Nest as a meeting place before heading out to dinner. Having a cocktail daily. At first, we found the bar staff very fun and friendly. However, our third meeting turned into a nightmare. A guy named Jason, (not the tall guy) proved to be rude and VERY insulting. He told me that it was too bad that I was married and had kids that are in college. Asked me if I was a skirt wearer. He actually took offence that we were there. He was obviously "amped up" on something. This meeting turned into a shouting match. It was very confrontational and threatening. Not one of the bar staff stepped in to calm this guy down. Thinking the guy might have been having a bad day, we went back the next evening, hoping for some sort of an apology. He was there and said nothing. I have never been so insulted in my life. The guy is a menace. After 5 years of staying at Compass Cove, out group of 12 will be looking elsewhere for a place to stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Compass Cove is comprised of 3 buildings- the Mariner, the Pinnacle and the Schooner. The Pinnacle is the newest, the Mariner is where the 1-3 bedroom condos are and the Schooner is the oldest. I think most of the negative reviews are based on the older Schooner building which is obviously the cheapest. I guess the old saying is true. You get what you pay for.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom/2 bath condo in the Mariner bulding and it was great. The unit was very spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. In addition to the 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, there was a spacious living room/dining area and a full kitchen. Washer and dryer in the unit as well. The balcony was large and we had an awesome oceanfront view. Just perfect! There were many pools, lazy rivers, and other water features that we all enjoyed. If you are looking for a peaceful romantic location than this probably is not the place for you. It is more geared towards families. The pools were clean for the most part and never felt overcrowded. There were a few times when we could not find any chairs by the pools because people had their stuff all over them but yet you would never see them come back to those seats. They have signs up saying that you are not allowed to reserve seats but no one actually enforced it.

The beach was clean and just steps from the resort which made going back and forth very convenient. The parking garage was a little tight but we never had a problem finding a spot and never had to use the overflow parking across the street. Overall, we had a great time and would definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kerri124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Schooner building. Jr suite with efficiency. Everything in the room was clean. Outside of hotel very dated and worn looking. I saw the pools and decks cleaned each morning. We faced the ocean on the second floor. Location to beach can't be beat - Myrtle Beach itself is quite nice and the water was warm. Pool with water slides was dirty and had pots with dead plants around it and lots of littler around that deck by mid afternoon. The ventilation system from that building was literally falling apart as you swam under it and looked disgusting so we didn't go back in. The pools in front of our building were the cleanest and looked the most maintained. The ones in the Pinnacle Tower had lots of tiles falling off and you could smell/see the mildew. We noticed almost all the hotels in Myrtle Beach look dated and very rough so the choices were limited. My kids loved the mini-water park with the submarine and we spent alot of time in there but that water was very cold. I was happy with our stay but would probably try somewhere different on our next visit. Price was okay - not great- but also not that expensive. apr $90 /night but when you factor in that you wouldn't want to use all the pools because of the shape they were in maybe we did pay too much.? Lots of hotels had signs for walk-in specials. Very much liked eating pizza at a place called "Little Italy" mexican at "Fiesta Mexicana" both well priced with inexpensive authentic food. Do not eat at the "Big Krab" waste of money and horrible buffet!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have stayed here in the past and the last time was not nearly as good. This time was MUCH more pleasurable than my last visit. I was on the fence between Compass Cove and another area hotel but chose to use Compass Cove again. My kids love the variety of lazy rivers and pools they have to offer. My only pet peeve in the kitchen area is not having enough space. For those who cook while on vacation the counter space is limited. The maid service was exceptional along with the other courteous staff I encountered. The guy at the Tiki bar was very friendly along with the cook. I was very impressed with the security measures the hotel has taken to make me feel secure with key card entry to the buildings as well as the parking garages. Will I stay again? OF COURSE! I LOVE IT HERE! Oh yeah I even referred the resort to a friend and one of my husband's coworkers. They loved it too. We ALL had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sapphire907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

As we walked down the hall to our room, the kids were holding their noses because of the terrible, reeking smell in the hall (think vomit). The room was not very clean at all. The floor was dirty and the window had not been cleaned in years. There was hair on the bathroom door and the very small bathroom smelled of stale smoke.The hairdryer was falling apart and the bathroom sink was slow to drain.On our arrival, we had to call the front desk for trashbags for the kitchen trash which they just threw on the bed instead of placing in the trash can. We also had to call for toliet paper. The view of the ocean is great if you can see thru the railing that is 5 ft. high. Waiting on the elevators was always a long, timely experience. The layout of the pools is not very family friendly. It is very spread out and hard to watch the children if they move around alot.The internet access was awful and almost non-existent. Needless to say, we were changing reservations that nite at 11:00( while people were yelling at the pool near our balcony). The manger was very helpful in this matter. We checked in at 3:00 on Saturday and we gone Sunday by 9am. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. I would recommend the Schooner Building - not the tower for a pleasant stay. It has 4 floors and very good parking. Easy to get to and very secure. We had an ocean front room and enjoyed the location. Just up the road on Hwy 17 we found a wonderful new very upscale shopping and dinning complex which blew us away. The pier at garden city is free and they have entertainment at night. We felt Compass Cove was good value for money. I would say unless you have small children and need the pool - stay on either the 3rd or 4th floor becasue the ground floor will have more noise. I loved this place and will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisey112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing