We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Penthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We just returned from our family vacation at Compass Cove Resort,,in wonderful Myrtle Beach. We stayed in a 2 bedroom O F penthouse unit (1662). This place was incredible!! We stayed in this unit last year, & WOW what a difference 1 year makes!! The entire kitchen had been re-modeled & looked like a model home Brand new Granite counter tops, new cabinents throughout, new washer & dryer,new cook top, & fridge. There was tile everywhere, but the 2 bedrooms,(no moldy smells). What a fantastic change. Being the corner unit, there was never a wait, for what seemed like our own private elevator. The Door opens up & Bam, your unit's right in front of you. Very handy when your carrying the luggage, groceries, beach items ect... The front desk staff was speedy in our check-in & even suggested a few "kid friendly" restaurants
(3 yr & 5 yr olds). The breakfast buffet was a + when Mom & Dad didn't want to make pancakes in the morning :) All in all, i would definetley refer this resort & unit to all who like to have a great family vacation!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michiganmovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,382)
There are newer reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,640 - 3,646 of 4,383 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed in the oceanfront cabana room in schooner building... we had heard that this building was not as updated as the others but we were very satisfied with our room (417) and would stay again anytime, the only thing I did not like was the tiki bar hours... we were just hanging out in the room about 3 or 4 oclock and wanted to have a drink at the tiki bar... and it had closed before 5:00, what was up with that? But overall great stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pokey1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My extended family decided to stay at Compass cove and rent a suite instead of staying at one of the family memebers house for our Christmas. The indoor pools were nice and spent a lot of time in the lazy river. It is not as nice as it is in the summer but still got some hot tube and lazy river time in. So if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to go in the winter Compass Cove is great. They are adding more and should have the slide going by summer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

great vacation and golf package that was enjoyed everybody

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turkeyroost3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

A great Hotel. We have stayed there before and will stay there again. Very friendly service. Beautiful rooms. Great restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aronld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I took my daughter and her friends to the Compass Cove for her Sweet 16 birthday, and it was wonderful!! We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo, and we had so much room and also 2 full baths. The indoor pool areas was great even for teenage girls. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast bar was awesome!! It was the best trip to myrtle beach so far!!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rhmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We went to get away from the kids and we checked in. They don't tell you it's a non smoking hotel and have to go outside. I'm diabled and had to go out in the cold each time I wanted to smoke. By the next morning I could barely walk, because my arthritis kicked in. There aren't ample handicapped parking and we had to walk across the street and then through the maze to get into the room. All the rooms were open to the outside elements, the elevators were also freezing and loud ! We tried to make the most of it, but the pools were all crowded with kids screaming the entire time we were there and I love kids, but this was too much ! Then we go a call that my disabled son was very sick, so we had to check out a day early when we got the call. We checked out and were told at the front desk, we'd get refunded a day, since we hadn't planned on leaving. When we check our account, we were charged for another night, not refunded. Called and they said they don't refund for a whole night, due to us being there part of the day. We have yet to get our deposit back, and now have paid for 3 nights and a deposit and was only suppose to stay for two to begin with. Yet to even see the 1/2 night deposit that we were told about over the phone the next day. The rooms aren't anything to brag about for $89 a night, when other just as nice hotels across the street were going for $25-40 a night. I'll look else where from now on. If I have to freeze and walk so far, and park across the street, I'd of been better off staying across the street. Just wanted to look at the beach, because I couldn't make it down to it, but when it was said and done I walked far enough to have made it down there. The breakfast bar was $9 per person in addition to your room and it's previously prepared food (packaged food), and nothing fresh. It took about an hour of wait time(outside in the cold) to be seated and then staff acted like they didn't know what they were doing. Was so caotic ! It's cheaper down the road and better wait staff and no standing out in the cold till a seat is available. The resturant is too small to service 3 hotels ! We wasn't impressed at all. This hotel is old and the flooring was messed up, walls dirty, just plain blah...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppmharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $63 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing