We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved Compass Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wethersfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved Compass Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

Fully renovated rooms, ocean front, especially the efficiency, indoor and outdoor pools and spas make this especially nice on the Strand. It is within walking distance of all the fun attractions, but a fairly private ocean front. Reasonably priced for its excellent location. Efficiency has two queen beds, kitchenette, living area, slider to small deck, nice bathroom - just renovated this past winter. I particularly liked being up on the 10th floor as it was away from outdoor noise, and a beautiful view of the ocean.

Center area is best - the two side buildings form a wind barrier when sitting on the deck.

Helpful?
11 Thank CJW199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,100
    468
    254
    207
See reviews for
2,043
737
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

I thought that the prices of the rooms were too expensive for the type of room that you received. I got my room on Hotwire so I didn't know where I was going to stay until I made the purchase. Once I got there, I paid for an upgrade which was about $120 more. I received a King suite which was not all that great. The bathroom was small, the carpet and kichenette was not cleaned properly. I didn't even want to walk barefoot on the rug. The housekeeping was awful! They didn't even come to my room to clean up. On the morning of checkout, there was a time change. The housekeepers went around to the different rooms banging on doors and threatening to charge guess for an additional day if they didn't get up and out. The parking was the worst part! At night if you went out, you wouldn't be able to find parking when you returned. There's additional parking across the street but that parking garage was usually full too. On top of all of that, they're remodling so you can imagine that chaos! I don't think that I wouldnever stay at the Compass cove again!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

Coming from Florida, I was skeptical of going to another state and staying at a beach resort when there were plenty of resorts right here in my own backyard. While the resort was completing its renovations, I was impressed with so many swimming pools and hot tubs, the location on the ocean (not to mention the cleanliness of the beaches), the room itself which was just renovated, and the helpfulness of the staff. Our stay was enjoyable and the sea food nearby was great. We were on the 14th floor and had an awesome view. Coffee on the balcony at sunrise was picture perfect.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed a week with the kids and they enjoyed the pool and its easy access to the Wonderfull Beach. Great Location close to the shopping and Rides for the Kids.

Would recomend ti to any one!!!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank coble w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We have stayed at the Compass Cove Resort two years in a row now and am booking my families vacation again for this year. We are especially looking forward to this year as we have heard about the extensive renovations done this past winter. The resort is located close to all of the attractions which we, as a family, enjoy. The resort is clean and the children love the pools and lazy rivers as well as the many children's summer activity programs offered. The resort also has a restaurant which serves a good breakfast every morning, which we enjoy eating before our early morning walks on the beach. If you want a relaxing family vacation in a clean and friendly resort, than I would highly recommend The Compass Cove Resort for your vacation. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Grand Strand.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We had the distinct displeasure of booking a stay at the Compass Cove resort in October of 2005. It was an oceanfront room with a balcony with a kitchen and king size bed. Sounds pretty good huh? The first thing I noticed when we walked in the room was the horrible odor of cigarette smoke. I was never offered a non-smoking room. The king size bed that we got was actually 2 twin size beds pushed together. When you went into the living room/dining room it had a love seat, a kitchen table with 3 chairs (2 of which had tears in the cushion). Needless to say, we both had to sit on the love seat as there was nothing else in the room. We spent as little time as possible in the room. In addition, the hotel was under construction. We were not informed of that either when we booked our stay. Our rates were not any lower either. The final straw was when on the last day of our stay, as we packed our belongings, we discovered that our camera had been stolen out of our room. When we arrived back home, I immediately wrote a letter to the management. I never heard from them. I would suggest that anyone thinking of booking a stay at Compass Cove think long and hard about it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank CelindaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

Have stayed at Compass Cove several times. I think they are in the process of really turning this place around. Exterior is really nice including the many pools and this is one of the very best areas of the beach. The remodelded rooms are very nice. Have stayed at several Myrtle Beach hotels and find it to be at the very top of the medium priced resorts. Very well suited to families with children. I would recommend it to anyone, especially during the week it seems to be less crowded.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#19 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing