We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My family just returned to ohio after spending Christmas week at the compass cove resort. We usually spend our vacation at this resort in the summer but chose to have a vacation at christmas time.We checked in at 1130pm and was greated very warmly. The next morning we went to the compass rose for there great breakfast buffet.This was great since Mammys is closed until Feb.The 2 girls that worked in there remembered us from previvous visits and they were great .They gave up christmas with there families to take care of the compass cove vacationers.they werequite swamped christmas morning but we did not here one complaint.The house keeping crew were in and out of our rooms by 10am each morning The maintence men were hard at work each morning getting the pools ready for the day.This place is great even in the winter and you can find a place to park your cars.We will be back in the summer to have another family vacation at the compass cove.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank milkman32ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,855 - 3,861 of 4,412 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

I decided it was OVERDUE for a family vacation and I had a co-worker highly recommend Compass Cove because their family travels there every year. I can see why! From the registration process to check out, everything was perfect. First , they had some great off-season specials that anyone could afford - even in this economy!! When we arrived the desk staff was very courteous and so helpful with local recommendations from food to entertainment, which came in very handy since this was my first trip to Myrtle Beach. There breakfast buffet was very tasty and the staff so kind. We bragged all weekend how much fun we were having and hated to leave. The indoor water activites gave our youngsters plenty to do and they slept great at night. Even when my daughter dropped her shoe from the sixth floor onto the pool roof, they were very courteous and prompt about retrieving and returning it to her. We will definitely come back and STRONGLY recommend this to all families that want a great winter getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sharonna1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful time at Compass Cove making memories with 4 generations of my family...my daughter, my 84 year old mother and 4 year old granddaughter. A great time was had by all.

We had a 3 bedroom condo, so we had plenty of room. It was clean and well maintained. My favorite part...the washer dryer right in the condo!

We all enjoyed the the indoor pool, lazy river and hot tubs. I didnt know it was pet friendly or we would have included our two dogs in our memory making.

We are definitely planning on staying again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samambaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

In July 2008, my family spent seven nights at this resort. It started off all wrong. We booked a two bedroom condo and were checked into a one-room efficiency. An efficiency that was occupied by two people. Imagine their surprise when our key card opened the door.

Next we were booked into a two-bedroom condo that was occupied also!

Next we were booked into a two bedroom condo with a view of the roof. We were moved to another condo the next day that was okay.

Later in the week my husband went to the bar to get a drink and was called a [--] by a guest. Of course it was whispered from a balcony and not said to his face. In the evening, lots of guests sit around the pool drinking beer. Frankly, it's hard to tell who's wearing the bra in the family - the men or the women. This is not a family resort if you have young kids.

The only good things I can say is the condo worked with us on giving us a discount, and when the kids got separated from us one night they kept a sharp eye on them.

Because of the racial situation and the drinking, however, I would not go back there.

Research carefully before visiting here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SouthBeachLover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We were in town for my father's funeral.

My husband found Compass Cove on Hotels.com and I must say I was alittle suspicious of such a low nightly rate. However, a family member assured me that they knew of someone who had stayed there and was very satisfied.

We found the hotel to be convenient and affordable in every way.

The breakfast buffet that is included in the price of the room was out of this world!

We had a wonderful oceanfront 4th floor room, which made a difficult time in our lived just a little bit nicer.

We would not hesitate to recommend Compass Cove to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed during 4th of July and it was excellent. There were so many pools and hot tubs and so many activites fo rthe kids. we had one 7 yr old, two 13 yr olds and two 17 yr olds. They were always busy and we could even walk right out to the beach. The hotel room staff were excellent and helped us whenever we needed anything. The only complaint was the parking!!But we lived with it and it wasn't enough to dampen stay. I would def come back over and over.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank werhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We often visit Myrtle Beach in the off season when the crowds are small and the prices are low. This trip was our first stay at the Compass Cove but it will almost certainly not be our last.

This resort is an older property but they appear to done a good job of maintaining and upgrading the property.

We stayed in an ocean front king bed room with kitchenette ($49). The kitchenette consisted of a small four burner stove, half frig. sink, microwave and basic tooking tools. The furnature was average hotel fare. There was a standard size balcony which looked out at the ocean (we were on the fourth floor). The room was in ok condition, showed some wear but in acceptable condition.

The resort promotional material states that they offer 22 water features. I didn't count them, but I will say that they do have lots and lots of options. There are several pools including lots of indoor and outdoor options. There are several hot tubs both inside and outside. Our favorite was a small outdoor hot tub that was situated just off the beach so you could enjoy the tub and listen to the surf. They also offer several "Lazy River" features which allow you to float the current around and around the loop. There are also at least a few sauna rooms (the one I used was a men's only)

They have a basic but nice workout room. Also had a game room which I didn't but looked ok. They offered several outdoor shuffleboards. We had never played before, but thought we would give it a shot, found it to be a really fun game (we have no idea how many rules we broke in our version of shuffle board).

The Compass Rose breakfast buffet was great and well worth the $8 per person price.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort was clean and in good repair (some areas needed work, but showed effort was being made to keep on top of things).

We had a great weekend and would highly recommend this resort as a great price option. They offer a lot of resort for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,266 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,213 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,190 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $61 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing