We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family resort worth researching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
south
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A family resort worth researching”
Reviewed January 5, 2009

In July 2008, my family spent seven nights at this resort. It started off all wrong. We booked a two bedroom condo and were checked into a one-room efficiency. An efficiency that was occupied by two people. Imagine their surprise when our key card opened the door.

Next we were booked into a two-bedroom condo that was occupied also!

Next we were booked into a two bedroom condo with a view of the roof. We were moved to another condo the next day that was okay.

Later in the week my husband went to the bar to get a drink and was called a [--] by a guest. Of course it was whispered from a balcony and not said to his face. In the evening, lots of guests sit around the pool drinking beer. Frankly, it's hard to tell who's wearing the bra in the family - the men or the women. This is not a family resort if you have young kids.

The only good things I can say is the condo worked with us on giving us a discount, and when the kids got separated from us one night they kept a sharp eye on them.

Because of the racial situation and the drinking, however, I would not go back there.

Research carefully before visiting here.

  • Liked — Staff was very friendly, very southern.
  • Disliked — The drinking in the evening at the poolside. The racial name calling.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBeachLover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    1,219
    547
    307
    251
See reviews for
2,344
844
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We were in town for my father's funeral.

My husband found Compass Cove on Hotels.com and I must say I was alittle suspicious of such a low nightly rate. However, a family member assured me that they knew of someone who had stayed there and was very satisfied.

We found the hotel to be convenient and affordable in every way.

The breakfast buffet that is included in the price of the room was out of this world!

We had a wonderful oceanfront 4th floor room, which made a difficult time in our lived just a little bit nicer.

We would not hesitate to recommend Compass Cove to anyone!!!

  • Liked — ocean front view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesville, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed during 4th of July and it was excellent. There were so many pools and hot tubs and so many activites fo rthe kids. we had one 7 yr old, two 13 yr olds and two 17 yr olds. They were always busy and we could even walk right out to the beach. The hotel room staff were excellent and helped us whenever we needed anything. The only complaint was the parking!!But we lived with it and it wasn't enough to dampen stay. I would def come back over and over.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank werhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We often visit Myrtle Beach in the off season when the crowds are small and the prices are low. This trip was our first stay at the Compass Cove but it will almost certainly not be our last.

This resort is an older property but they appear to done a good job of maintaining and upgrading the property.

We stayed in an ocean front king bed room with kitchenette ($49). The kitchenette consisted of a small four burner stove, half frig. sink, microwave and basic tooking tools. The furnature was average hotel fare. There was a standard size balcony which looked out at the ocean (we were on the fourth floor). The room was in ok condition, showed some wear but in acceptable condition.

The resort promotional material states that they offer 22 water features. I didn't count them, but I will say that they do have lots and lots of options. There are several pools including lots of indoor and outdoor options. There are several hot tubs both inside and outside. Our favorite was a small outdoor hot tub that was situated just off the beach so you could enjoy the tub and listen to the surf. They also offer several "Lazy River" features which allow you to float the current around and around the loop. There are also at least a few sauna rooms (the one I used was a men's only)

They have a basic but nice workout room. Also had a game room which I didn't but looked ok. They offered several outdoor shuffleboards. We had never played before, but thought we would give it a shot, found it to be a really fun game (we have no idea how many rules we broke in our version of shuffle board).

The Compass Rose breakfast buffet was great and well worth the $8 per person price.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort was clean and in good repair (some areas needed work, but showed effort was being made to keep on top of things).

We had a great weekend and would highly recommend this resort as a great price option. They offer a lot of resort for the money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We always stay at the Compass Cove for our Myrtle beach trips. Last week makes our 7th or 8th stay over the last few years.
No hidden fees with their low off-season rates. Clean rooms, pools, spas, sauna, hallways and elevators.
And to top it off Teresa, our housekeeper, fashioned us a Thanksgiving Turkey out of a couple of hand-towels!!!

  • Liked — many pools and close to beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday. Our room was very clean and because we were oceanfront it had an amazing view. We found the staff to be very helpful and the amenities all they said they would be. This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach and we will go again and we will stay at Compass Cove again.

  • Liked — Value for the price.
  • Disliked — Wet elevator floors from pool users.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank podamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Decided a week before Thanksgiving to change our plans to spend Thanksgiving @ Myrtle Beach. We had stayed at Compass Cove in February and it was a very positive experience. Contacted the reservations office and Carolyn spent probably 15 minutes just offering different scenerios for accomodating us. Carolyn was very friendly and patient and helpful and made sure that we had the perfect accomodations at the best price possible.

We were able to check in early and the staff were friendly and most helpful as well. Our room was ready and they were able to ensure that our rooms were close to each other on the same floor.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and suited our needs to a tee. We cooked a home cooked Thanksgiving dinner and ate out on the balcony overlooking the ocean.

The grounds were pristine and the pools were maintained to the highest level possible.

The resort is pet friendly which is another reason that we stay there.

KUDOS for another excellent experience @ Compass Cove. We are even completating another stay there next Thanksgiving.

  • Liked — Location & Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Everything was outstanding
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank horselovingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing