We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Overall Good”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really enjoyed the stay here. The pool area for the children was Great!! Really enjoyed the slides! The breakfast was wonderful at the Compass Cove. However, I was disappointed with some of the housekeeper's attitude, the bathroom smelled musty and I didn't like the location of the resort. Overall, I would stay here again because these things can be easily corrected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent vacation stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We are happy to be able to provide so many water activities for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    1,219
    547
    307
    251
See reviews for
2,344
844
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I read numerous reviews on TripAdvisor for hotels in Myrtle Beach. I wanted a place with a kitchen and enough room for 4 adults and 3 kids. We were going to go with The Breakers, but they did not have availability for the type of room we wanted. The lady on the phone recommended their other property Compass Cove. I was hesitant because some of the bad reviews. Most of the reviews were good and they had a 3 bedroom oceanfront view with a kitchen available. The room also had two full bathrooms.
We arrived on a Saturday. There was a line but not bad. The guy next to me wanted his money back because the his room was not clean upon check in. I thought, "here we go." They gave the guy a refund with no questions asked. We proceeded to our room. We parked in the parking garage by the Mariner building. We were on the 6th floor. We arrived at our room. It was clean and spacious. Yes, the furniture and bedding was dated, but I did not pay for a high end hotel. The room was good enough for my family and our young kids.
The pools were good. DJs at the pool are fun with balloon toss, hula hoop contests and duck races. They play a variety of music. We were always able to find seating at one of the pools. Only suggestion, they should have some lounge chairs with umbrellas for shade. I could only take being in the sun and heat for so long.
There was always parking and we were there for the 4th of July holiday.
We did not eat at their restaurants as we had the kitchen for our own food for breakfast and lunch. They had a couple grills by the pool for people to use for grilling.
We did go to the beach. The umbrellas and chairs that are out by the beach are put out by the lifeguards. The price for 2 chairs under the umbrella was $35. You can purchase cheap chairs and an umbrella at one of the many beach shops.
Another tip, there are no hard alcohol sales on Sundays and you only can purchase hard alcohol at a liquor store. The closest grocery store is Food Lion. There is a Super Walmart about 5 miles south on kings hwy. There is a Piggly Wiggly, kmart, CVS and Walgreens on Kings Hwy north of the hotel.
My husband did use their golf concierge and said they found him the perfect golf course for his skill level.
Housekeeping was great.
You are not walking distance from the boardwalk but we only went there once for shopping. Broadway at the Beach and their minor league ballpark for the Pelicans were about a 15 minute drive.
We enjoyed our time at Compass Cove and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkass23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Compass Cove Resort and taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to be able to offer a wide variety of activities for our guests during their stay.
We love being able to provide live music on our pool decks. It makes for a fun day. We appreciate the positive feedback about seating and can definitely look into providing more shaded areas for future stays. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first time staying at Compass Cove. We were very pleased with everything - great pools, beach access, rooms and more. We only ate at the Crows Nest restaurant for breakfast a couple of times. The food was good. Unless you're going to eat a lot, I wouldn't get the buffet. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice because they are at the end of the hotel and there is less traffic. From...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent vacation stay here in Myrtle Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurants. We are proud to have excellent chefs on staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our week stay at Compass Cove. The staff was excellent and friendly in every area: reservations, maintenance, pool, food and tiki bar services. The parking garage made it easy to park close to your room. Resort is convenient to shopping and the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drweiss2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assisstant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove during your most recent vacation stay. We strive to make each aspect of your visit an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family and I had an excellent time at compass cove resort. I would stay there everytime I visit myrtle beach. We swam in the ocean. We swam in the pools. We swam in the lazy river. My family is into swimming.

Room Tip: Balconies are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent vacation stay here in Myrtle Beach. We are thrilled to hear that you were happy with all the water options we have available. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Good value for Ocean Front room. Furniture needs upgrade, patio carpet n curtains needs to be replaced, mold and mildew -disgusting. Kids had fun, plenty of pools. Bring Lysol! Did not eat in restaurant, lunch at the pool was good, plenty for price. Adult beverage was fair. Location a drive from attractions, or a very long walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SDDQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We apologize you did not have the stay you were hoping for when you first booked with us. We are always looking to improve our facility to make sure it stays up to date and pleasing to all of our guests and we will be sure to bring your concerns to our HOA. We hope you will not let this be your final impression of our facility and we would love for you to return in the future. We thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and if you have any questions about future bookings please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We truly enjoyed all the pool options. We would go to the beach in the morning then return for pool time. It was nice to have the many varieties. Many choices for the kids and adults from lazy river, pools, hot tubs,etc. The dj and music was a great touch because it brought a vacation feel.

Our room was ok but smelles. The housekeeping service was not up to standards. We paid over $350 a day for our room...we should at least had our room serviced daily. For the eight days we were at the hotel, our beds were made twice and we had to call for towels, shampoo, etc. five times because our room was not serviced at all. That is just unacceptable! Housekeeping sees overworked and trying to get the minimum amount done. One housekeeper said she had to catch the bus and would it be ok if she didn't clean the room.

When we first checked in I asked the concierge were to eat and get final ideas as to attractions. I felt I had a good amount of suggestions and plans then she started the Wyndham pitch. I pretty much ignored everything she said because I didnt trust her and her agenda. I needed a concierge but what I got was a salesperson!

We took our kids to the kids club for a couple of projects. They were pretty lame. Cost $2 and were to be a 30 min project. They finished each in about 5-10mins and then just sat around. The kids told me another parent suggested to play games with the kids who were done. It's odd the insteuctors didn't know to do that! One activity signed for was called: boardgame fun. They only had two games! Chutes and ladders and candy land. My kids are 9 and 11. They don't play preschool games anymore! I was embarassed for them!

Don't expect any Bell service because there is no one around to help.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvfluffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We apologize that you did not receive the level of cleanliness and service you expected to. Our staff works hard to provide the cleanest resort possible and we apologize for missing the mark with you and your family. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing