We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We go to Myrtle a couple times a year and this was our first at Compass Cove. We enjoyed our stay overall. Check in was quick and simple. It is a very large resort so it can get pretty busy. There were a lot of water amenities but we didn't like that they were so spread out and the pools weren't very large compared to some other places we have stayed. Room (3br condo) was very large and very clean. They resort was very clean overall which we loved. We would return. Great place with kids. We usually try and stay at Cherry Grove but stayed south since it wasn't busy season. The location is great for families, it's away from the main drag

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time while at our resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,057 - 2,063 of 4,440 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We checked in on a Saturday and I was just devastated. The check-in line was super long, parking was a hassle, getting a luggage cart was a challenge, and the crowd looked questionable (lots of tattoos, skimpy bathing suits, etc.). It just felt hard and not like vacation at all. My friend who vacationed with us said that someone was filling out a police report when she checked in. Our room in the Pinnacle building felt dated (tears on furniture, worn carpet) and the pools looked dirty (indoor pool and lazy river). I was telling my friend that I would never stay at this place again.

By Sunday afternoon, things got a lot better. The crowd changed and there was more of a family vibe. We had a blast in the kiddie pool area and found that the outside pools looked much cleaner. By the time we had to check-out, we didn't want to leave.

While the room was dated, I came to the conclusion that this was a decent value (less than $200 a night in beach season) and a good choice for a family with young children. I do think that you get a different crowd on the weeknights vs. weekend and that might be a consideration.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boredlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy yourself and did not want to leave! If you have any questions about events going on or anything like that please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers for additional help. We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only stayed one night, but loved the facility and would love to return for a longer stay! Very nice pools, lazy rivers, and water park. Had a room on the ground floor, right in front of one of the pools. Loved the convenience to the pool and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vgcinky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time while at our resort. We love being able to offer our guests a beachfront location. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good family resort, little dated but very clean. Plenty of pool area for the kids to swim but some guess just do not care how wild their kids are and not respectful to other guess. The lazy river is a lazy river and not a crazy river. If they have someone attending the pool area to keep order, I would give them another star. The restaurants is just above average and food was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review as all customer feedback is important to us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself while on vacation. We do apologize the lazy river was not as relaxing as hoped for but we are looking into more options for staffing on the pool decks in the future to make sure we can avoid this kind of issue! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and look forward to seeing you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Check-in was fast and easy......Parking was congested after check-in and a hassle, we parked across the street at first, but later parked at the top level of the pinnacle bldg.and we could look down and see our car, no problem after we got settled because we walked everywhere after that.
We stayed at the pinnacle bldg. on the 6th floor, i was kind of worried when i got room 666, a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. 2 double beds in the front room and in the back living room, a murphy bed and pull out sofa bed and a balcony with an amazing view of the ocean.
Kitchen was clean with utensils and cookware and a full sized fridge. I cooked a full meal the 2nd night for the 5 of us, ordered out the next 2 nights.
I have teens who wanted to swim all day, so we absolutely loved the many pools, lazy rivers and hot tubs, hot tubs were actually HOT.....no overcrowding. I found out that u can also use the sister bldgs. facilities if u wanted, but we had everything right there. Access to the beach was easy.
Housekeeping was very nice, came in the 2nd day and cleaned the room, my kids remember how nice the housekeeping lady from guatemala was, quick and efficient. I also loved the free dvd rental boxes in the lobby, stayed at alot of myrtle beach hotels, never seen this before, i think its a real plus for the hotel. i saw the very nice cafe and i know they had karaoke also but i didnt use any of those activities, but maybe next time i will try the cafe for breakfast.
My family was very satisifed, and i told myself i wanted to come right back, so im trying to book now for the 4th of july, but im having a hard time seeing as they are booked up already.

Room Tip: do your research when choosing a room......find out what those words really mean when booking a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livellaughlove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time while at our resort. We love being able to offer our guests a such a variety of water amenities. Our DVD rental program is a favorite among guests. We are happy to be able to offer our guests a beachfront location. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June a great time had a good view of the ocean the room was clean had a two bedroom condo with a balcony eat at there restaurant it was very good they had three pools three hot tubs lazy river and tiki bar had a great time. Would recommend going there lots of restaurants in the area and thing to do

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Wroehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time while at our resort. We love being able to offer our guests a such a variety of water amenities. We are happy to be able to offer our guests a beachfront location. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall, the room was clean and there was plenty of room. The bathroom needs a major overhaul. It looks like they re-surfaced the tubs, but they are peeling very badly. Also, the shower valve looks to be from the 70's. There was no hot water coming out of the shower valve, even with the cold turned off. If you did not turn the shower valve on, there was plenty of hot water. To close the bathroom door, you had to go in get in between the toilet and sink, and then close the door. The pools were clean while we were there. We were on the first floor, which had gates going to the pool deck. We were scolded for going out the gate. If you do not want people to go out the gate, put locks on them. Overall, a good stay. We are Bluegreen Owners, so we probably won't go back. We are used to Bluegreen's standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are pleased to hear you found the room clean and spacious. We do apologize for the issues in the bathroom but you will be pleased to hear we are undergoing some renovations in the upcoming winter and we would love for you to see the results! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,020 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,277 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing