We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort usually.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great resort usually.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We've stayed here before, but this time, when we made reservations chat rep booked us for a efficiency when I'd asked her several times to make sure that we were not in one. Also, I asked for something below the 10th floor and we were on the 12th. Desk rep said that its because owners might come in. Not sure if 10 floors worth of owners came in, but we were told we couldn't change. There were also no apologies about not receiving the 2 room we had requested (even with the offer to pay more). In the efficiency, the carpet was coming up in the room and threads hanging from both worn out comforters. Also, efficiencies are above the restaurant so the balcony air smells of grease (which is why we didnt want those rooms). On the good side..the room was clean and housekeeping excellent. I think its interesting that if you get the rooms with the murphy beds plus bedroom..you get towels shaped like swans, etc..none of that in the efficiency. Theres not a lot of difference in price either.

Room Tip: DO NOT PICK THE EFFICIENCIES, As you don't get a choice in the floor, your "oceanfront&quo...
See more room tips
Green Features: That is great they employ green practices. Not sure why we have to have such a long comment in this box
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    1,212
    539
    302
    240
See reviews for
2,314
838
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanton, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just checked out yesterday. The rooms are a little dated but very clean. The pools, lazy rivers, hot tubs, etc are great for kids and adults. Staff was extremely friendly. I recommended this place to my family! We plan on returning :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annewilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It looks like you and your family were able to take advantage of everything Compass Cove has to offer.
We have been going through the process of updating our property and look forward to you enjoying the changes on your next family vacation! See you soon!

Danni Dwiggins
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed with our family for a week, our son had a baseball tournament. The facility is fantastic with all of the pools, shuffleboard, waterslides and so on. There wasn't a day that the kids weren't thrilled. You also get a free pass to the Nascar go-karts and a min-gold which is nice. Staff was great, and they went out of their way to get tickets for things and guide us in the right direction for attractions. The Crow's Nest was great. Only drawback were the beds, they aren't comfortable, but other than that everything else was fantastic. We will definately stay again when in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Definately go with oceanfront. The balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Compass Cove. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased that you were able to take advantage of the different amenities we have and you were able to enjoy them. We hope to see you again in the near future when your travels bring you back to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a wonderful place to go hang out for a girls weekend! We had a 2 room ocean front suite with a kitchenette. Our room was on the ground floor with our balcony opening up to the heated pool - not far to walk at all!! Once you get there, you really never have to leave! All you could ask for is right on site! Hot tubs were spacious! The resort is spread out so you do not feel like you are invaded by other guests. The staff is absolutely amazing and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need! Room was clean and had plenty of room for the 3 of us!
Only bad thing I have to say is the entry door needs to be more sound proofed....that's it! Will book again - hopefully in the near future!

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind having people walk by your balcony, get a 2nd level room. Ground floor ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: Has recycle bins located everywhere! Easy to make sure you could be "green"!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEpting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort. We were pleased that you were able to have such a good time while on vacation. Our staff works hard to provide the best possible levels of customer service and we are glad they were able to accommodate you and make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope to see you soon in the future and look forward to being able to provide you with many more memories in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at compass cove for the second time when we visited myrtle beach. This hotel/resort has a lot to offer. It has many pools and hot tubs, my kids like the lazy river and the submarine for the little ones. I traveled with three kids, 6,3, and 8 months. Staff was great, they put us in a room by the bar and my wife wanted to switch rooms because of the noise the bar will bring and the staff switched us right away with no questions asked. The price was right and the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and some of the hotel was under construction. The free DVD rental was nice for the kids. They got to see movies after a day of the beach and sight seeing. I would stay here again and I tell my friends and family to stay here if they visit myrtle beach. We had a King room with an ocean view and it was well worth it. If you have kids this is the place to stay. The promotion they were running at the time was if you were staying there you got a free pass to the nascar park and a free admission to the mideveil times. We did not use them but wanted to and ran out of time. So if you are looking for value and for a place that is kid friendly look not further then Compass Cove.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dank94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort on your recent trip to Myrtle Beach. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to accommodate you and your family to ensure you had the time you were looking for. We hope to see you again in the future and look forward to providing you with many more enjoyable vacations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at Compass Cove for three nights in March. This resort has something for everyone. Great location right on the beach. Great facilities. Very clean. Friendly, responsive staff. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labrador2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Our staff strives to provide the best possible service and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy yourself so much on vacation. We hope to see you and your family in the future and look forward to giving you many more great vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Springs, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Check in was very smooth. We had the ocean front bedroom (2 queen beds) which was nice and amazing view. Housekeeping was kind and was there if we needed anything. I enjoyed the water amenities this resort had to offer. Would like to come back next year!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Myrtle Beach. We are very pleased you were able to enjoy yourself while on vacation and that the staff made sure your needs were taken care of and you were able to enjoy the features the resort has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits to Myrtle Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing