We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip at a reasonable cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good accomdations and breakfast buffet was excellent! Right on the beautiful beach. Lots to do on-site and very friendly service. Very family friendly! Close to lots of restaurants, shopping, golf, mini golf and airport. Unfortunately Wi-Fi in the unit was generally poor and inconsistent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazoo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

We're so happy you enjoyed your visit to Compass Cove! Our location is as much of a benefit to the resort, as the amenities themselves. I apologize for the poor WiFi signal. I will bring this to the attention of our IT Support team, so they can address any issues we may have.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,318 - 2,324 of 4,429 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is awesome! The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to say the least. I stayed here with my friends to celebrate my birthday, and we booked an ocean front room which was very nice. The kitchen was upgraded with granite counter tops and had everything we needed for cooking. They have a huge indoor area with tons of hot tubs and a heated lazy river and pool, and plenty of lounge chairs to go around. They also have unlimited DVD rentals which was awesomeee. ;) This is my 2nd time staying here and I for sure will be back in the summer!

Room Tip: Room 860 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwendelynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We are grateful that you included Compass Cove resort in your birthday celebration. We hope that we helped make it a memorable one.

See you again this summer!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great size for a large family, we had eight very comfortably. Super pools and location. Everything is provided in the kitchen, but we had to buy a cutting board and a fry pan. The unit is cleaned everyday, they even unload and load the dishwasher! I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for staying and writing a review for Compass Cove!

I apologize that the room was not equipped with a cutting board or frying pan, prior to your arrival. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk for anything you need during your stay, and we will do everything we can to accommodate you. I'm happy this did not interfere with your enjoyment of the pools, amenities and location.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a great time! The beach is amazing and you can walk for miles. Compass Cove is very clean and there are lots of pools to choose from. The buffet breakfast at the Compass Rose was good. The rooms were very clean and there was lots of room in the one bedroom condo with kitchenette.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many water amenities for our guests. We are happy to be able to provide such delicious dining options for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We tremendously enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort. From the friendly resort and restaurant staff to our spacious and comfortable suite, it was just the break we needed. The hot and tasty buffet breakfast completely exceeded my expectations on our first day. We tried out many of the pools and hot tubs and found the resort to be relaxing and easy to navigate. We had an oceanfront view and watched dolphins from our window plus enjoyed a spectacular sunrise one morning. Our kids loved using the free DVD rentals and the free WiFi. Totally fun and family-friendly and not a single complaint from anybody!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy you enjoyed the resort and all we have to offer. The free DVD Now rental service has been a fantastic addition to the amenities we have available.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our second trip to this resort. We have stayed at other hotels in Myrtle Beach, but we chose to return to this resort due to its outstanding location and value. We did not want to fully prepay our vacation and made a direct call to the reservations clerk at this hotel. We were incredibly shocked to discover that a "better deal" was offered in this manner. We are careful travellers and will now call our host's direct service rather than relying on the services of one of those discount hotel bookers. Our first choice of rooms was a little disappointing. Do not select a room directly above the "Crow's Nest" restaurant as this choice leads to an invasion of privacy. We selected another room and were very pleased with the oceanfront one room suite. It was roomy, very clean and the private balcony was protected from the chilly March elements. Daily breakfast at the Compass Rose Restaurant was outstanding. The service was superb. We travel to Myrtle Beach frequently and will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the pinnacle building. Stay up high (above the fifth floor) Stay to the south end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

Whenever you book directly with the resort, we only collect the cost of the first night as a deposit. We will collect the remaining balance upon your arrival. We're glad you were able to enjoy the restaurants and amenities.

Thank you for the referral, and we look forward to serving you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our fourth stay, but had not returned since 2011 so it was nice to be back. We went with several other families so that always makes it even more fun. We stay in the mariner as we like the size, quick access to the elevators with few waits and we still have an ocean view room. Quite simply we do not stay in our room much so ocean front is not a must have for us. The rooms in the mariner tend to be bigger and allow for easier movement around and allow you better ways to have others over to your room as there is a 4 person table, along with a couch and single chair. The kitchen is simple but adequate and the dishwasher is a nice bonus. They provide all the you need, including soap and dishcloths, but you do not have real storage containers or saran for your leftovers if you decide to make your own meals. Our room seemed a bit musty upon entering but fresh air was easily used to solve the issue. Housekeeping was consistent and did a solid job each day. Note that you are further away from pools so have good (warm) coverup. Friends stayed in the schooner which has even easier access to the outdoor pools but is a much smaller room and smaller kitchen (fridge was not full sized in some of those rooms) The pinnacle rooms are good too but you are looking at double beds instead of queen in some cases and although the views can be amazing, if you pick an upper floor you have a lot more stops and starts and waiting for the elevators. That said, some pools are right under the building so you are less likely to get chilled if you are wet. The outdoor pools were well heated for this cool march and the kids could go into the lazy river and large pool for a long time. We really like having 3 lazy rivers to choose from! The biggest bonus for us is the shuffleboard. We played daily as we waited for warmer weather or to kill time before supper. It is great family fun. My husband and I really made use of the free dvd rentals with mostly new releases and with the two separate living areas we could sit comfortably on the couch to watch while the kid was sleeping in the other room. Having the beach right there is just awesome as well and many sand sculptures were made as the ocean was just too cold right now. The mariner only has a bit of sun on the balcony in the morning while all other ocean front rooms as it for a good chunk of the day. There are a large number of chairs to sit on so finding something was usually not an issue. There are some on the grass in front of the pinnacle that were a little more out of the wind which made for a great spot to pick up some rays. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you get the breakfast buffet (sometimes free with your stay) it really does have a lot to offer and they allow you to personalize your requests in addition to the buffet options. Everything tasted really good too so we often did not eat lunch. You can walk to a mini golf course or a few restaurants if you really wish to not leave the area. If you need something from the front desk, they are quick to get someone to respond which was nice. The place is well priced for all that you get and although we have discussed trying another venue sometime, with so many amenities, it is hard to find another place that will offer so much at this price.

Room Tip: Look at the room layouts available on the website to help you choose the size of rooms, kitchen etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Campo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey S, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that your whole family had so much fun. With two on-site restaurants, poolside Tiki Bar, pools, games and a free DVD rental service, we are designed for maximum enjoyment without having to leave the property.

Thanks again for staying, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,273 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing