We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compass Cove a winner twice in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delmar, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Compass Cove a winner twice in a row”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Compass Cove last fall and again this fall and the stay was nothing short of stellar. We enjoyed it so much in 2012 that we recommended it to the Morris County Belles Softball teams and both 18U teams used it in November of 2013 and I had nothing but good reviews from both teams.
Helpful staff, great pools, and activities, and a great fall value! As long as Compass Cove does what they are currently doing, we will always return.

Room Tip: We choose oceanfront as opposed to ocean view. That way you have a balcony giving you a direct view...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel and depends on you as the customer to decide if you want to participate.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to "Win" in your eyes for years to come! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    1,185
    528
    292
    237
See reviews for
2,259
818
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I often travel to Myrtle Beach and ALWAYS choose Compass Cove as our home away from home. The moment I drive up to the Resort I can see all the hard work that goes into the grounds outside its just beautiful.They keep everthing updated and are always improving or adding to the resort and it shows. I love all the Staff that make Compass Cove what it is. They are always ready to go that extra mile for you.
The suite is always exceptionally clean ready for me to enjoy everything Compass Cove has to offer.
The amenities are bar none the best something for everyone. Altho I have no children I love to see how kid (family) friendly Compass Cove is.
The resort has a wonderful beach its clean, safe and you can walk forever. I enjoy watching people who fish off the shore and the horseback riders going up the beach in the fall.There is always something to do or see.
The resort is close to everything from shopping, restaraunts, the airport and tons of entertainment.
There just so much to say about how happy I are staying at Compass Cove and yes its my home away from home.

Room Tip: We choose to face the east side, higher up and have an amazing view of the ocean. The Pinnacle Build...
See more room tips
Green Features: Compass Cove does recycle glass, cardboard, cans, bottles.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Debbie G,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I know a lot of Hotels in Myrtle Beach but this one is tops to me and my wife. Everytime we stay there it is great. We always ask for the Pinnacle Building for that is the one they just renovated. Elevators are fast, pools great close to all the hot tubs. Breakfast bar is second to none.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BillNBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear BillNBre,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Was part of a golf group at Compass Cove the first week of November and just wanted to let everyone know how great our trip was. From the booking experience to check-out everything went perfectly. The resort is one of the best I've stayed at and has amenities for everyone. The cleanliness of the rooms was top notch as well. If your looking for a family vacation, golf getaway or romantic retreat, the Compass Cove has it all, and offers anyone a great vacation.

Room Tip: If staying in the Schooner I recommend staying on the second floor or above if you wanna see the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TORTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear TORTRVLR,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We would also like to thank you for allowing us to host your golf group outing. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We keep returning to this place...Friendly helpful staff, great service, good food, well kept grounds, it's very clean, wi-fi, 2 TVs, full kitchen. Short drive to the airport, super shopping & an exceptionally clean, safe beach at your doorstep, terrific view. We stay for a month but are considering longer stays. The facility keeps improving all the time...No disappointments...We can't think of anything negative to say about the Compass Cove.

Room Tip: Oceanfront, corner suite, higher floor in any of the three buildings...can't be beat! The Marin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pacolocoii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear pacolocoii,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends had their sons birthday here so we came down to hang out. We stayed in the Schooner building, and they stayed in the Pinnacle building. Our room was super clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable! We had such a great time! We didn't have any kids with us (they're grown) but we had just as much fun in the lazy rivers and hot tubs! Everyone we would go from building to building my husband and I would move a chess piece lol. We had a great time doing karaoke in the bar, and the drinks were surprisingly reasonably priced. Breakfast in the compass rose was delicious. All of the staff, including Justin, were extremely nice and welcoming.we had no issues with any part of our stay at all..wee well
definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yellowjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear yellowjax,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all that Compass Cove has to offer. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The room was dated, High speed wifi was poor, and not available in some sections of the condo. Food was below par, very limited selection, very few healthy options. Water attractions are very good, great for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Declan K,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations or ours. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will Compass Cove a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,897 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,361 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,983 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing