We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$65
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,522)
Filter reviews
4,522 results
Traveler rating
2,036
1,284
596
331
275
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,036
1,284
596
331
275
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspinnacle buildingcrows nestlazy riversrose restauranttiki hutocean frontwater slidesfree dvd rentalsbreakfast buffetacross the streetparking garageoff seasonbedroom condoindoor and outdoor poolsfamily vacationrecommend this resortrooms were very clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,583 - 2,588 of 4,522 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Headed to Myrtle Beach after receiving our furlough notices and arrived at the Compass Cove without a reservation. Kristen at the front desk was wonderful and soon managed to get us in the room we wanted. Even though it was an ocean view it looked out over the ocean so we could watch the sunrise each morning. Room was clean and everything worked perfectly. Bed was the most comfortable we've slept in at a hotel. Breakfast was included and had all the normal items you would ask for at breakfast and served with a southern smile. We always stay at the Compass Cove when in Myrtle Beach and it never disappoints.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on upper floors give you a great view and are almost as good as ocean front.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mbabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear mbabill,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend. It is very nice, close to the beach, with several nice swimming pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem is location to restaurants, bars, boardwalk. If you want to be within walking distance of the boardwalk, you need to stay on North ocean blvd, not south ocean blvd. This hotel is approx 2.4 miles from the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ocean, or pool view rooms are the best. Also first floor rooms are very convenient.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Monica K,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Compass Cove is located on the south end of Myrtle Beach away from the hustle and bustle. It is however a quick drive to most Myrtle Beach attractions. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a "deluxe" room in the smaller schooner building. This building appears to be older than the other towers, but don't let that fool you, it was still nice. The room had a great view of the ocean, nice sized bathroom, full size refrigerator and microwave. I loved the fact that the parking garage was attached to the building. It was the shortest walk to the room I have ever had at the beach. The staff here seemed friendly for the most part. For those of you that like your room cleaned early, the room service was a little slow. This did not bother us, since we got a late start each day. They have PLENTY of pool options (indoor, out, lazy rivers, slides) with most of them being heated. They also have a free DVD rental service (Works just like Red Box). I could not give this resort a full five stars, because I do believe they need to look into a few small details. One being, they need to eliminate the roaches. (Over the last couple of years I have noticed an increase in roaches in the Myrtle Beach area as a whole). It's not a major problem yet, as they seem to mostly be on the grounds and not in the building itself (We did find one in the room! Yuck). But, one of the last things people want to see is bugs in or on the property they are staying with. The second thing is that there needs to be a designated smoking area outside of the pool area. Do not allow people to smoke around heavy traffic areas (pools, balcony, etc.) Lastly, they need to have some staff members "patrolling" and cleaning the pools throughout the day. This would help keep the pool area looking nice, and the kids "in-check". Having stated those small issues, we still very much enjoyed our stay here, and hope these issues are resolved before next year as our stay would then be near perfect.

BOTTOM LINE: Great place for the money, Clean rooms, Nice staff, Great ocean view, Large pool selection, Great parking, Minor issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear DfromSC,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We do hope that when you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give Compass Cove and second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and I can honestly say this is the best place I have ever stayed! The rooms are extremely clean and well kept. Everyone that works here is beyond helpful and friendly. I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHolzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear SHolzer,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Celebrating our 2nd anniversary at Myrtle Beach. I picked Compass Cove thanks to all you trip advisors! Unfortunately cannot comment on the amenities too much, but i'll give the info I can. First off if you want a room that has the ocean view, don't get a room on the first or even 2nd level. Those face out to/ over the pools & shuffleboard decks. Thanks to the nice staff they moved our room from the first level to the fourth! AWESOME VIEW! Staff there were very nice and accommodating. Room was clean, had microwave, fridge, eating utensils, HDtv & DVD player. Shower didn't have much pressure, but it worked fine. AC wasn't putting out cold air upon arrival, but less than 2hours later it was fixed by reporting it to the front desk. Quiet at night and usually in morning. Beds were very firm, plenty of blankets and all clean. Our first time there, but not our last!

Room Tip: If you want a room that has the ocean view, don't get a room on the first or even 2nd level. Those face out to/ over the pools & shuffleboard decks.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Nathan W,

Thank you for allowing Compass Cove to share such a special occasion. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to get you into a room that better suited your needs. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews