We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 6 days and 5 nights in the Pinnacle Tower. We had a great corner suite with a beautiful ocean view. While the rooms are a bit dated, they were clean and well maintained. Our family loved being able to move between the 3 hotels that were all part of the same resort. They had something for everyone. We traveled with two 15 yr olds and one 8 year old. We could choose from the beach, outdoor pools, indoor pool and water slide or multiple outdoor activities. We ate in the Compass Rose Restaurant every morning for breakfast. Their buffet was wonderful! They had live entertainment at the outdoor bar and also in the evenings in the restaurant in the Pinnacle Towers. Their staff is courteous and friendly. Multiple times I was offered assistance when carrying things or even doors and gates being held open by staff for me. They gym is small but the equipment was nearly new. The only complaint we had was the elevators in our building were slow! Especially in the afternoons and evenings when people where checking in. We were only on the fourth floor so 98% of the time we used the stairs. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jessica R,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are ecstatic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be accommodating. We hope to become your vacation destination for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    1,210
    539
    301
    240
See reviews for
2,313
836
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Compass Cove is a fantastic hotel! The rooms were very clean and the oceanfront view was great from the 7th floor. There are so many different pools and hot tubs to choose from, which were also clean - there are convenient wash stations between the beach and the pool area to keep most of the sand out. The TIki Bar and Crow's Nest restaurant had quality customer service and the food and drinks were really good. The only downside was that the cleaning service was slow and that sometimes we had to park in the garage across the street after returning to the hotel in the evenings, however I would still highly recommend staying here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Melissa S,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting your next Myrtle Beach vacation and many more for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved compass cove. The rooms were very clean and well equipped . The service was wonderful . Everywhere you looked there was a friendly compass cove employee ready to assist you in any manner. The resort is laid out beautifully. Pool towels always readily available as well as tubes for the lazy river. Absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarvannamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sarvannamon,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff and service to be wonderful. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons Rooms
Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The resort is dated. There are a lot of pools which are crowded and dirty. We couldn't get cell service or internet while in the room. Our room was very dirty and dark. The stove made our pizza curl up on the sides and the coils on the top were tilted. Overall dirty place. We sat at the tiki bar one night and we had to leave because the large black bugs were having a party under or feet. You had to drive to most places to eat not much within walking distance. Ocean view was nice and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jharris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a weeklong stay at Compass Cove. We had a blast. They have everything. Great food in the restaurant, great drinks and entertainment at the tiki bar. They have water slides, lazy rivers, and several pools and jacuzzis. Pool towels were supplied and were plentiful although a little small. The pools were kept very clean with pool attendants cleaning up and keeping the kids in line. The rooms were clean and housekeeping left plenty of towels. We had a suite in the Pinnacle Building and it was perfect. Also they have free DVD rentals which we were able to take advantage of. I highly recommend Compass Cove. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marisa1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Marisa1998,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you had a blast during your week with us and that you were able to take advantage of all that Compass Cove has to offer. We look forward to hosting you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Mariner Building and i must say that it was really nice. We were on the 9th floor with a nice ocean view and loved it. The kitchen and living/dining area was a little small for a group of seven but even that wasn't nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was great and very convenient so i highly recommend including breakfast when booking to stay here. I was skeptical about staying here at first due to the reviews but we had a nice clean condo and may come back to visit this resort next year. The only con i have about this resort is that the lazy river is small but other than that we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyClassy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SassyClassy26,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are happy to see that your party enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room and the breakfast buffet convenient. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Compass Cove. For a hotel as big as it is I was amazed at how clean the entire property was. The grounds were beautiful and the pool areas were always kept clean. We reserved a 3 bedroom condo and it was well equipped and very spacious. We enjoyed the entertainment at the tiki hut each day as well as the voodoo juice buckets. We are already planning our trip for next summer. After staying at other hotels in the past, I can finally say we found our vacation spot at Compass Cove. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Bill C,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are ecstatic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy a delicious VooDoo bucket while taking in some music. We look forward to serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,088 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,414 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,788 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing