We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visiting Compass Cove Myrtle Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #32 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time visiting Compass Cove Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at Compass Cove July the 12th-14th 2013, this was our first time visiting Myrtle Beach. Our stay at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort was very nice. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay from our room, the staff, the beach and the many pools that were available. As a first time traveler to Compass Cove Myrtle Beach we are looking forward to spending many more summer vacations their.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Schooner building room 539
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad your first visit to Myrtle Beach was a memorable one and that Compass Cove is now a part of those memories. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    1,174
    514
    286
    228
See reviews for
2,226
810
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me and my family try to take a beach vacation every year. I will be honest and say that Compass Cove exceeded all my expectations for a vacation spot. It was really clean, which is a great big plus for myself. The water attractions were a blast for both our children. The whole staff that I dealt with were always very pleasant and helpful. We will definately be returning next year and at least I don't have to worry about which hotel to choose, cause we have found ours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review of your stay at Compass Cove. It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and we are so happy that we exceeded yours. We can't wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked at the last minute because of the torrential rains in Florida. We were able to get a mini suite, which was perfect for us and our two boys. The kitchenette allowed us to save ALOT on food and having a Food Lion just blocks away was quite convenient. Although we did venture out, there is really no reason to with all the on site ammenities and activities as well as the beach. Checking in was a breeze. We arrived at 1pm on a Monday and although our room was not ready, we were given our wrist bands and allowed to change in the changing rooms to begin swimming until they called to tell us our room was ready at about 2:30. Our last evening we ate on the patio of the Crow's Nest and were treated to a fireworks display on the beach.

There were only a few minor inconveniences. 1. We technically had an 'oceanview' room however we were on the first floor of the Schooner which gave us a 'parking lot' view. I'm sure the upper floors did see the ocean. 2. Our second day housekeeping hadn't come when we returned to our room @ 4, but a call to the front desk rectified the situation when we returned from dinner.The front desk even followed up with a call to our room to make sure everything was done. 3. Our room keys would quit working almost every afternoon. Again the front desk staff were very helpful and would reprogram the keys for us.

All in all we were very pleased with our stay and can't wait to return in an oceanFRONT room next time!

Room Tip: If you get 'oceanview', try for the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We are sorry however that there were some minor inconveniences. We are glad that our team was able to take care of the issues that you experienced. We take great pride in providing a clean resort with outstanding service. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Compass Cove for our 10th anniversary during 4th of July. We didn't have many choices of rooms or hotels due to booking our getaway late. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The rates are a bit high, but 4th of July is typically the most expensive time to stay at Myrtle Beach no matter where you stay. Compass Cove offered a clean room 2 floors above the Crows Nest restaurant patio. There was some noise but it wasn't an issue for us. The oceanfront view was nice. The food at Crows Nest was good and priced okay. The drinks were over priced, except for the beer. The resort offered parking on the hotel side of the street if you were lucky to find a space. There was parking across the street in a secured garage which was a bonus. The complex had plenty of pools, lazy rivers, and a nice water slide. The front desk was very professional upon checking in and checking out. The maids were polite and I felt the hotel went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and to offer some amenities that I haven't seen offered at other places. There were free DVD kiosks which had some good selections. Free passes to Myrtle Waves and plenty of other good discounts. The only negatives I would say is the location is a little far to walk down to the old Pavilion area. Elevators were hard to catch at certain times when staying on a low floor like we did. We often took the stairs. There were some some minor things that I think could be updated in the room but overall things were good. We would return to this resort again in the future.

Room Tip: If staying on ocean front in the Pinnacle building I would suggest staying on the 5th floor or highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the many different amenities that we have. The new onsite complimentary DVD rentals as well as the one complimentary daily pass to Myrtle Waves have been a big hit with our guests. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Although it rained, we were able to get in the ocean everyday and use the facilities. The Compass Rose restaurant provided a great breakfast buffet, only wish they served lunch and dinner. The servers were great! Our room was on the 9th floor of the Pinnacle bldg and the fireworks on the 4th were unbelievable right on the beach below us. We could also see the fireworks on the pier and Murrels Inlet from our balcony.
The only drawback was the housekeeping. The halls, elevators, and common areas were always clean, but wish they could have been more diligent in room upkeep. Our garbage was take each day, beds made sometimes, and no vacuuming done our entire stay. Also toiletries were not replenished and the last day of our stay we had no housekeeping at all.. This was reported to the main desk when we checked out and hopefully they will fix the problem. It certainly would not deter us from going back as we decided to return in August for more fun in the sun! All in all a great stay and if you choose to stay at Compass Cove you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views of the ocean. Choose "oceanfront" not "oceanview"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank granny1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the housekeeping service that you received. This is being addressed in an effort to prevent this from happening in the future. It is our goal to provide a clean resort with outstanding service and the comments from our guests are vital in achieving that goal. Thank you again for visiting Compass Cove and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend. We live about an hour away and just wanted a chance to get away. I called ahead and spoke with Hattie while making our reservation, she was lovely and put in my request to be on a floor as high up as possible. We arrived and were very pleased to learn we would be on the top floor of the pinnacle building. We enjoyed drinks by the pool and ate at the Crows Nest Restaurant. Check in was quick and easy.

After we had booked the trip I looked online for a Spa that was within walking distance, I found "Thank You Body" and when I called I was informed the Spa was no longer there but the woman who had owned the spa had a few people who worked for her and they did massages on location. I was thrilled. We were able to have a couples massage on our balcony of the Pinnacle building for only $160, Melanie and David were our masseuses and they did a wonderful job.

The entire staff was very friendly. We had a great view from our room, the unlimited DVD rentals was a great perk, the pools were all nice and clean, and the room was just as pictured.

We look forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Julee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are thrilled that you had such a great time at Compass Cove. With the 23 different water attractions and our new free onsite DVD rentals, there is always something for everyone. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at Compass Cove last week. Great place to stay especially if you have little ones. Great kiddie pools. It rained while we were there so we made good use of the FREE DVD rentals. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2TFROOTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the multiple pools that we have as well as the new onsite free DVD rentals. We hope you were also able to take care of the numerous kids activities that we offer. Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing