We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was very old and in need of some renovation...But the staff was very courteous..We had a balcony that looked at the ocean and the view and breeze was amazing!!! Oh yeah and the tub drain was clogged and we killed a large cockroach in there!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of the ocean from your balcony. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,386)
There are newer reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,597 - 2,603 of 4,386 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband an I had a nice, relaxing time. The suite was huge (actually bigger than what the 2 of us needed), with 2 double beds, a pull-out sofa, a murphy bed, and a full kitchen. We will definitely return, with our kids.

Room Tip: Ocean front, rooms on high floors give an amazing view of the water and the sunrise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting your next family gathering when you return to the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We actually were not planning on staying here, but due to a fire at the crown reef ( don't go there)! We were evacuated in the middle of the night with 2 young children. We immediately called compass cove and they were very accommodating - they gave us a 2nd floor room- directly across from a fire escape. This really helped calm my terrified children. The ladies who worked the front desk were absolutely amazing! Our room was very nice, spacious & clean. The pools were very clean & my kids really enjoyed the kids area. We ate at the crows nest, the compass rose and had drinks at the tiki bar. All were amazing. The staff is very polite, helpful. Overall, the compass cove turned a family vacation that could have been a disaster into a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite and loved it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that we were able to save the day after the issues you experienced at your previous hotel. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our experience at the Compass Cove was great. Our room was nice and clean. There were six of us in our group and the room allowed enough space for all of us to be comfortable. Our room overlooked the ocean and the view was beautiful!
Several days we ate at the Crows Nest bar and grill or at the Tiki Hut which are both part of the resort because they are just a few steps from the beach. The food and service there was good and fast. There are many other great restaurants within walking distance or with just a short drive.
When my children where bored at the beach there was enough things to keep them busy at the Compass Cove. Many pools, water slides, kiddy pool play area, and lazy rivers. They were kept happy! I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KristenBral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for a week as we have done for many years at Compass Cover back in June. The rooms had a lot of maintenance issues and the carpet was so dirty that our feet got black from walking on them. We called many times to complain but they didnt do anything about the conditions. We had to take sheets and put over the couches to keep the body odor smell from making us sick when we tried to watch TV. Will not come back to this place every again!!!

Room Tip: Stay away very dirty!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are very sorry that your experience was less than expected. I am sorry that the carpets and furniture in your unit did not have a clean feel. We typically have our carpets cleaned during the busy season using a dry system and it generally works very well. After speaking with you on the phone and hearing that the room did not meet your expectations we did have them come back out to reclean the carpet and furniture in your unit. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed a week in the Pinnacle building on a family trip (4 adults, 2 kids). The grandkids loved all the water features (kids pool, waterslide, etc...). Staff was friendly. We loved not having to get in the car to drive to eat. There were several great restaurants within walking distance (including DQ for the kids). The hotel restaurant was good for lunches. It was a great place to relax, have fun, and enjoy the beach! Will come back next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CB650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting your next family adventure and many more for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First off the rooms look nothingg like the pictures.

check in took 45 minutes, the line was out the door when we arrived. parking was terrible, the parking garage is narrow and the spaces are small. got to the room, and there were stains on the walls, and dirty bed sheets. called housekeeping and they came up and cleaned it quickly.

we had a room with a kitchen in it, but when we went to cook we had no pots and pans.

had to call maint because the kitchen sink had no cold water, they tried, but could not fix it.
had to call maint again because the patio door seal was broke and when ever the wind blew off the ocean it howled like a tea kettle.

the best part was, they don't provide you with coffee for your rooms. if you want coffee you have to buy it at the front desk. this is the only hotel Ive stayed at where they do not give you coffee!

the breakfast buffet was 10$ a plate, the food was okay, but not worth 10$, you would be better off going to Ihop.

the hotel amenities were good. the pools were good and the kids had fun. I think that was the only good part of the hotel. we stayed for 6 dayes and it was 1200.00. there were a lot of other places to stay that were cheaper and better. myrtle woods is prob the better deal if your going for the cal ripken tournaments.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. We are sorry that our services did not meet your expectations. We use the feedback from our guests to continually improve our services. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy the many pools we have here as well as the water slides. We also hope you were able to take advantage of the free dvd rentals that we now offer. Thank you again for sharing your comments as it allows us to keeping improving. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,183 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,176 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing