We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Compass Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrensburg, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Compass Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at Compass Cove May 8th to May 18th, 2013 and loved every minute of it. The staff are awesome at the hotel, you truly cannot go wrong staying there if you want a beach vacation. We love using the hot tubs, the Crows nest, the Tiki hut and the Compass Rose. Parking is so easy during the week.

Room Tip: Corner Ocean View King effecency allows you to see all the way up the Beach to the piers and beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank townclerk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear townclerk88,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you had an Awesome experience and that you found our staff and eateries to be awesome as well. We look forward to hosting your next vacation when you return to the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,099
    467
    254
    205
See reviews for
2,040
736
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent June 8-10th with family of 6, check in was a bit of a cluster as I arrived around 4pm, and ended up having to park in the garage across the street which was almost full, then spent the next 15 minutes trying to get an elevator as their was a long line. The kids had a great time at the beach and indoor slides/lazy river, but with rate i paid I felt like the quality of the room was not on par as one of the light's power cord had a chair press against it so it would stay in the wall and decor was a little outdated, but staff was nice about everything. Food at Tiki Hut was affordable and good in my opinion, With a better rate i would probably come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlien08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Atlien08,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor ours. We are glad to see that you children enjoyed their time with us and do hope you consider us again in the future.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Compass Cove is a solid beach experience in Myrtle Beach. My daughter enjoyed the pools and lazy rivers. Since we went early in the season, it was nice that the pools were heated. We unfortunately were there at the tail end of bike week and the hotel did a wonderful job accommodating everyone. They had a ton of check in staff, security, and kept the common areas clean. Always plenty of pool towels too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Schooner Building are accessible to the parking garage and are nice because you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherryuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sherryuno,


Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Bike Week did not have a negative impact on your stay. We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We came down for vacation a day early the last week of May 2013, and found a really good rate on a room. The room was clean, and the staff were friendly. Guests have access to multiple pools and they were all great, and are all very kid friendly. I would highly recommend the restaurant. It was nice that we didn't have to worry about going out for dinner, especially since it was extremely crowded due to the end of bike week. We were able to eat on an ocean front patio and relax after a long drive. The food was great.

The only disappointment that I had during our stay was that our oceanfront room, was actually a bar-front room. I opened the curtain and all I could see were strangers sitting at the bar. My boyfriend liked it, however, because he didn't have to go far for a drink :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleRenee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear DanielleRenee92,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to apologize that your room location was not ideal. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area you will give Compass Cove another chance to impress. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved Compass Cove. Plenty of water attractions! Perfect for our 16 month old. The staff and facilities were wonderful! Great breakfast buffet!!! Location was great and parking was so easy. Our view from our room of the ocean was wonderful. Room was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Miranda W,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities and staff to be wonderful. We look forward to becoming your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have come to Compass Cove both for a couples vacation and family vacation. Both times have been great! It is so nice to have many different floor plans to choose from. We also loved knowing that even if it was cold or rainy, we would indoor pools to use. The on site restaurants are very good, and all of the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Look at all floor plans carefully. And remember that ocean view is not the same as ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Beth T,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We are also excited to see that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just came back from a great golf trip in Myrtle Beach. We stayed at Compass Cove as we have been for the last 14 years. The service was great from the general manager to the smiling ladies at breakfast. Our accomodations in the 3 bedroom condos were just what the doctor ordered. The staff was very caring to meet all of our needs. Not only was it a great trip for the guys, but I would suggest the resort for a family vacation. LOTS TO DO!!! The only downside was the long lines at check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daveyk0653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Daveyk0653,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to host your golf adventures. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#30 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing