We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“AWESOME !!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #31 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have stayed here at least the past 5 years - 1-2 times a year - girls long weekends - sometimes the guys go also - Great accommodations - people very eager to please - lots to do on site - never have to leave if want to veg out - Breakfast buffet a must to start day - then you don't need anything else until dinner - great if kids go - lots for them to keep busy with - get a ground floor room and don't have to deal with the elevator - walk out to lazy river or pool or beach - from room.
Best way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRITIC1OF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear CRITIC1OF2,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We would also like to thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward serving you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,149
    503
    279
    224
See reviews for
2,177
786
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,091)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I must give my wife credit on booking this stay. The hotel is right on the beach. The drinks were great not watered down. The food was typical bar type food as much as expected. It was tasty, hot and fresh. They do a breakfast buffet but we never made it down there we brought some breakfast items. The rooms were a decent size and I was surprised that they have a fridge and stove and an oven!!! The shower reminded me of the showers you see on a cruise slightly awkward and the jet sprays so hard. The hot tubs were awesome, the lazy river was small but cool. I would definitely stay here every time I come into town. It's not a luxury hotel it's cool beachy hotel. Remember when you go to the beach your there for the beach not a hotel room!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XxPelottexX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear XxPelottexX,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived on a Friday evening approx. 8 pm., we waited in the check in line for 35 minutes! The front desk was overloaded and as they pointed it "this is normal".
The room was clean, Pinnacle Bldg double Efficiency, the bathroom was so small that you could have one foot in the shower, sit on the toilet and have the other foot at the sink. The kitchen part was so small, even though we brought some frozen food to put in the oven, we chose not to. No coffee or filters, but there was a coffee maker?
The pools were plentiful, but their sizes were extremely small. The lazy river was as wide as the tube. My concern in having such small pools was cleanliness, which was unfounded since my one daughter received a rash from the chlorine the first hour she was in the pool.
The breakfast (not included in price) was worth the $8.95/adult price. It was good and they kept it stocked with fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, etc. We were very surprised and pleased.
Conclusion: If you are accustomed with staying at any of the major chain hotels or renting from private vacation rental owners, you will positively be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, the only view that will make the room seem bigger is the oceanfront r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear LTAB,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves on providing a clean resort and great customer service. We would like to apologize that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations nor ours. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you find it in your heart to give us a second chance.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was our first to compass cove and we LOVE IT !!! My husband and I along with our kids will be back. We recommend compass cove to all who want to experience this nice place.The BEST part about this hotel was their pool and lazy river which my kids love. We can not wait until our next trip to compass cove.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sarim K,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your first choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

First visit and very pleased, will definitely return. We stayed in the Schooner Bldg in a Cabana Room, oceanfront. Very clean and recently updated. The pool features were wonderful and a huge hit with our kids. We ate lunches at the tiki hut which was great...we did not dine in any of the restaurants. Staff were very friendly. Location was great and beach was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMRKNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear RMRKNovak,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We look forward to serving you and yours again when you are in the Myrtle Beach area.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The sofa pullout mattress was disgusting!! This owner needs to spend some money! That is my biggest complaint.
Room was clean. Has a small stove, large fridge, microwave in the room. Great location on the beach front. Has several pools and hot tubs.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sweat01,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your room condition did not meet your expectations nor ours. We do hope that if you do come back to the Myrtle Beach area you will give Compass Cove a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I had made reservations at another resort a month in advance.I had requested a king ocean front.. I called back to confirm that we did have what we had requested and I was assured that we did have a ocean front king suite lower level. We arrived at the resort at about 2 30 PM.we where told we had a room on the 7th floor,We where not happy at all,the girl finally told us she could put us in a first floor room,only we go in the room to find out someone else had been given that room. We left that resort to look for another place,this is when we discovered Compass Cove and (Dustin) the young man that work so hard to get us a room to our satisfaction. We told him what had happened at the other resort and he was so kind and helpful,he let us view the room wish was A(Ocean View Deluxe Suite,Room 671) it was wonderful,more like a little apartment. We where very happy with our stay there,it was very clean and all of the staff was great. THANK ALL OF YOU AND ESPECIALLY DUSTIN FOR MAKING OUR TRIP AND CELEBRATION OF MY 65TH BIRTHDAY WONDERFUL!!!!
Randy and Mary Sheppard,
Charleston,WV

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Dustin was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We look forward to being your new home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#36 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing