We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I found this property to be only fair. We stayed in the schooner building. There are no inside connectors to each of their 3 properties. I found it quite odd and cumbersome to walk through the parking garage to get to the Pinnacle property. The indoor lazy river and pool in the schooner building, right outside the registration office was unbearable. It was more like a steam room that you couldn't breathe and the water wasn't even refreshing. We went to the lazy river and pools in the pinnacle building, that was only a little better. With the exception of the nachos, I found the food at The Crow's nest to be under par. The food choices were also scarce. It is also very small in size to fit all 3 properties. However the waitresses were friendly. Finding the business center was like playing Where's Waldo. I find that most elevators were hard to find as well as the stairwells. As a matter of fact, most of their amenities is like playing Where's Waldo. The rooms were super clean though. They only had one bar of bath soap and one container of shampoo. I was glad to see a big coffee pot though. The only reason why I gave this a 3 rating is the staff were fairly nice. However, this will not be my choice again on my next visit to Myrtle Beach. We were expecting more for the money we spent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineNJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay was not a great one. We do have a lot of different amenities and they are spread out across the property. Our front desk staff should have explained where everything located upon checkin and we apologize if they did not. If you are in the Myrtle Beach area again we do hope that you give us a second chance.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,386)
There are newer reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,707 - 2,713 of 4,386 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was my first family vacation to the South from Canada with my three kids and wife, we also went with another couple and their two kids. We rented a 3 bedroom ocean view on the 11th floor. The room was huge and very clean. We had a toliet issue the first night ( american food) and the staff was there in less than 10 mins to take care of the issue. The pools were very busy and in good shape. This is a family resort,lots of kids and lots of little swimmers and splashing about. The cost was very good and housekeeping was spot on. Took us a day or two to realize that you set your towels and garbage in the hall way and the staff will take it away when they spot it. The kitchen was well equiped and if it was missing something the staff were there within 10 mins to bring what you needed. The resort is about 50 yards off the beach and very easy to get to. Great week had by all, beds were comfortable and the resort was well kept. Will stay again..remember this is a family geared resort with 100's of kids and noise..had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BellvegasOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that your stay with us was a great one. We look forward to being your new home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. We hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was overall a OK stay.
Stayed in Pinnacle Ocenfront one bedroom suite.
First thing that you see after you open the door is the bedroom - which was not good ..
Any noise in the lobby (and quite a lot) kept us up..Housekeeping staff talked from early in the morning.
Housekeeping did not come second day till 4 PM! And we were in dire need for towels!
Building old and had sockets falling off the wall almost.
Kitchen was nice and well stocked. Ocean view from balcony was very good.
Pools and hot tubs plenty and nice.
Food in the resturants very good.
Overall- will not go back there just because of the layout of the suite and housekeeping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay was just "OK". We have brought the employee noise issue up with our Director of Housekeeping and we to apologize for inconvenience. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the food available in the Compass Rose and Crows Nest. We do hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to the Myrtle Beach area.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First I would like to preface this review by telling everyone this is my first negative review I have ever written because me and my family our very easy to please
This was our first time to Compass Cove and it really was just okay.
Check in was good but were were told our room wouldn't be ready until 4:00 which is fine.
The layout is spread out and its not a super nice colorful property. We had an ocean front in the pinnacle building and the balcony in the morning was nice.
I guess my biggest issue was Housekeeping. After our first 2 nights we never had housekeeping at all and had to call to get garbage bags,have them take our garbage, get towels and dish washing soap.
The indoor pools were very dirty and the one hot tub in the pinnacle building had a live light floating around in it and parents were telling their children to get out for fear they would get electrocuted The next day I did notice it was roped off but not drained.
The workout room is pretty nice but a bit of a trek and you have to go through the parking lot to get to the elevator and I thought that was odd.
I like Myrtle Beach and will be back but never again to the Compass Cove, too many better choices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was "Just Okay". We would also like to apologize that housekeeping missed you on two of your days with us. Our Director of Housekeeping has been made aware. We do hope you change your mind and decide to give Compass Cove a second chance in the future so we can show you what a true Compass Cove experience is.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is great for families. Very nice rooms, plenty of things for kids to do. Fast elevators. Good restaurants. The pools are great. Warm water. Some of the pools are indoors. They have a life size checker and chess board that was a surprise hit for my family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your new vacation destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very mixed feelings about this resort.
The Pro's. Super location on the beachfront. Plenty of pools. Our 2 bed suite was spacious and clean. Plenty of equipment in the kitchen for the 2 of us. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, washer/dryer. TV's. Large wrap round corner balcony. Good parking.
The Con's. Endless banging doors that echo. Heard the room above filling their bath. Hot water for the shower was hit and miss - nore miss. One of the lift doors kept getting stuck open. WIFi was hit and miss. On one occasion it opened 84 of the sign in page !!!! Receptionist kept having to break off from checking us in to answer the phone. Saw children exitting the lift in the parking garage and having to walk across it to get to the outside. Concierge took an age to give us all the info, filling in each card with his details as he was attending to us. Surely he could have filled these in during quiet times instead of doing it as he had people waiting?
A tip for anyone booking one of the corner suites - go to the south side (the right as you face the beach) - you will get a lot more sunshine.
Would I stay here again - no. That is due to the noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwaitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not a relaxing one. We do pride ourselves on providing clean rooms and great customer service. We do hope that if you visit the Myrtle Beach area again you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was the first time we traveled to Myrtle Beach. Compass Cove was rated on a list I found as one of the top 10 family friendly resorts and at the time I was looking to make reservations, it was one of the only ones still with vacancy for the timing of our trip. I booked an Oceanview room about a week and a half before we were going to arrive. We were pleasantly surprised by the room and the view we had. The room had two separate rooms with a queen bed in each which was great for putting the kids to bed each night. Our room had a small refidgerator, microwave, stovetop and oven. The only thing we didn't like was that the elevator was in the parking garage to get to the room. But that wasn't an issue. We had booked a four day trip, and after the first two nights, we checked with the front desk to see if they had any Ocean front rooms for our last two nights that we could transfer in to. They did and we were able to move and enjoy the last two days in an Ocean front room right over the Tiki Bar. Loved the location of this room, except at around 11pm at night, people would still be out side playing shuffleboard. The second room had a full size refridgerator and a microwave. We loved having the bigger fridge!

We absolutely loved all the pool options. My eight year old son loved the water slides and lazy rivers. My three year old daughter loved the outdoor kiddie pool area, including the submarine. I loved that I could sit in the sun and relax while she played. All the way home she talked about going swimming with "the boat" as she called it.

We loved the location of the resort too. I liked that it was in the slower, quieter part of the strip. Everything that we needed was conveniently located.

We also enjoyed the Compass Cove buffet a couple of the mornings we were there. The food was great, and always available, with a great selection. It was a great value for the money.

The only compliant we have about Compass Cove is in regard to the Crow's Nest restaurant. We went to have a later dinner there on a Tuesday night. The place was so loud, packed and crazy, that when we walked in, we had no idea where a hostess might be to seat us, or if there even was a hostess. I felt like we had walked into a crazy college bar, except that people were walking around with babies on their hips or asleep on their shoulders. We ended up sitting out on the patio and the service was decent, but our food took forever and one of the meals we ordered came out as something else, so my son had to wait another 10 minutes for his food. I almost feel bad complaining about the resaurant, since my distaste is probably with the clientel, but that was the first time we visited so that is the impression that I was left with.

All in all, we had a great family vacation and loved Compass Cove. My husband is so excited about going back next year that he wanted to book our room before we left. We will be going back next year for a full week, for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tlbalazovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It looks like you and your family were able to take advantage of everything Compass Cove has to offer. We look forward to hosting your next family vacation! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,182 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing