We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great place, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #36 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice place to stay, courteous staff, close to everything, for the money we couldn't beat what we got any where on the grand strand, nice little bar/grill as well, quite a few pools for all ages, clean pools as well, the room was very clean and the cleaning staff was great and very friendly, I would recommend Compass Cove to everyone coming down here...

Room Tip: ocean front rooms, we have stayed here three years in a row, we keep coming back to the pinnacle bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scmart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear scmart8,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. See you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    1,121
    485
    269
    211
See reviews for
2,099
749
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Ok for the money. The hotel is located furthur south then I like, taxi ride to Broadway was over 20.00 one way. Staff seemed friendly. Stayed one night with a group of friends. It was cold and rainy so we did not use the pool, but they offer lots of pool options. We had a room with a small kitchen. The room was clean, but in need of upgrades and the beds did not sleep well. We paid around 130.00 for an oceanfront room, so not bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear SarahWilmingtonNC,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay was just "OK". We hope that the next time you are in the Myrtle Beach area you will give us another try and take advantage of all of the amenities Compass Cove has to offer. We hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been coming to the Cove for several years and have never been disappointed by the quality of the food and service at both the Compass Rose (excellent breakfast buffet) and the Crow's Nest (great pizza and draught beer). What better way to start off and end a day on the beach, on the links or shopping! Many thanks to all the staff who make us feel at home and welcome us back. Special thanks to LeRoy at the Crow's Nest for his fine food. Now if they could only work on the weather we had this year that would be the topper.
Thanks to all and see you next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Donal b,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay and that LeRoy was able to leave a lasting impression with you. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to serving you and yours for years to come. See you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall, the property is nice. It has lots of pools for the kids. My gripe is about the room itself which I am currently in as I write this review. The bathroom tub is full of pubic hairs...when we walked in there were hair pins on the carpet so obviously it was not vacuumed...we pulled out the sofa bed and there were wrapping visible...and I went to grab a plate and there was caked on food. It makes me wonder if the sheets were even changed. Housekeeping sucks, it is very obvious that this room was not cleaned at ALL...I was hoping I would not regret trying this place out but I do and I will not be staying here again. I will stick with Ocean Reef and Caribbean Resort in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing Compass Cove. We are sorry to see the multiple housekeeping issues with your room. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your stay. Please contact me at 843-448-8373 est:1910 or joe.gibbons@compasscove.com.

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at Compass Cove for the first time in March of 2012 and was very pleased! I returned again this March for a girl's weekend and again was very, very pleased. The service desk attend, Brianna, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was located on the 14th floor which offered a beautiful view of the beach. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable! While spending time at the pool/ jacuzzi area we were very impressed with the security staff and their constant, friendly patrol. We felt very save and had a great time! I will continue to return to Compass Cove in the future and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. I am very glad to hear that you received wonderful service and felt safe while staying with us. Our goal is to provide you and your family with a safe environment, where the whole family can have fun and relax. I look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent this weekend at Compass Cove and the only word I can use to describe it is wonderful . The staff was nice and friendly and always spoke . The room was spacious and very clean and the indoor pools were heated and clean . I would def recommend this hotel to family and friends and I plan on booking a stay in May

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicki9289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Rooms Division Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Vicki9289,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to see that your stay was an excellent one. We look forward to hosting your next beach adventure when you return to the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

WE Had To Change Our Plans From Camping At The State Park To Compass Cove At The Last Minute And Luckily We Were Able To Get A Room We Probably Paid A Little More Though But I Don'tKnow For Sure. Great Ocean View, Lots OF Indoor Pools And Hot Tubs, and Seemed To Be More Of A Family Place Which I Liked Since We Had 2 Teens With Us! They Do Not Provide Coffee Or Extra Blankets And Pillows In The Room My Suggestion Is To Bring Your Own. Don' Waste Your Time OnThe Breakfast Buffet At The Resort Either. The Bed Was Comfortable And We Had A Mini Kitchen Too. BathroomArea Is Very Small But We WeE On Vacation and Didn't Spend Much Time In It Anyway. The Room Was Very Clean, The Wifi Worked Good For Us And The Front Desk Staff Was Phenomenal! We Will Return For Sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GardenGal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear GardenGal40,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet was not to your liking and hope you would give it a second chance if you return to Compass Cove in the future. We hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,802 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing