We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL EVER!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is my 3rd visit in 2 years and I have never been disappointed! I have been bringing my family to MB for years and after a bad experience at our usual hotel (won't mention any names) we decided to try compass cove... We haven't been disappointed yet! I've never been to a hotel with so many pools not to mention water slides! My kids loveeee it! This recent visit we went in early march and we were not aware of the renovations when we booked but it's nice to know that this place puts money back into it and you can tell what hotels at the beach don't. They replaced the pool area with brick and new furniture and it looks fabulous! Every employee we ran into has always been so happy and says hello! Special note goes to our housekeeper Janet who might be the most friendliest person I have ever met!!! We cannot wait for our next trip! See you soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dkny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Dkny0,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that Compass Cove is your 1st choice when you come to the Myrtle Beach area. We are always looking for ways to improve our resort and we are happy to see it doesn't go unnoticed. It's great to see that our staff, especially Janet in Housekeeping, was able to leave a lasting impression on you. We look forward to hosting you and yours for years to come. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    1,235
    556
    312
    260
See reviews for
2,379
851
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
INDIANAPOLIS
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice two bedroom condominium style room with great balcony views of the beach and ocean. Our experience with staff was exceptional--polite, efficient, and prompt. Stayed on top floor, so we really appreciated the speed of the elevators. Proximity to beach and other street-side amenities was excellent. Pools and lazy rivers were great for family. Ideal for extended-family vacation location. Looking at the possibility of returning later this year with all of our daughters and their families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmark521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear dmark521,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having a top notch staff and providing great customer service. We look forward to hosting your next family vacation. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family stayed at Compass Cove this past weekend along with my brother and sister and their families. For the last 20 years this has always been where we stay when we come to Myrtle Beach. We were able to get our rooms close together which was nice. We rented an oceanfront efficiency suite in the Pinnacle building. There was quite a bit of dust on top of the refrigerator and the shelf that the microwave sat on, but everything else appeared clean and so this was not a big deal to me. On Saturday night when we returned from going out to eat we found that the carpet in the bedroom going into the kitchen was soaking wet and could not figure out why. We called the front desk and they said they would send maintenance. We called again about 15 mins later and all the front desk said was maintenance is on their way. Apparently there had been a water break/leak in a room on the floor above us and the water came through the ceiling into our room. One of the maintenance men told the other that he was aware of the leak into our room because he had come into our room about an hour before to check (but nothing was done about it?)! At this point I called the front desk, explained the situation and that we needed another room, and was quickly told that I would be called back in two minutes. This did not happen but luckily a third maintenance man was able to call the front desk and get another room for us for the night. So we quickly threw all of our stuff together at 9:30 at night and moved to another room which was not as nice but we were thankful to get it. The next morning I took a cold shower because apparently the water leak affected the hot water, as overheard by other hotel guests who also took cold showers. Now, all of this would not have been a deal-breaker for me, except that nobody from customer service ever came up to the room to see the leak for themselves, or apologized for the inconvenience of it all, or having to take a cold shower. My husband did ask for and was given a refund for the difference of the two rooms. What would have satisfied me would have been an acknowledgment of the aggravation and some free breakfast passes. Heck, even one "We're sorry for the inconvenience" would have been okay. But alas, next time I will be spending my hard-earned money at another resort recommended by a co-worker.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rbl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear rbl2000,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that you experienced many issues during your stay. I would like to speak with you directly in regards to your stay. Please contact me at 843-448-8373 ext:1910 or joe.gibbons@compasscove.com.

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at CC for the month of feb 2013 on the 9th floor there wa a lot of remolding going on to upgrade the resort.thier was very little inconvince with all the work the place already looked good but they ae making it better.New pavers around the pool -all new deck chairs and tables -a complete make-over of the kids pool -a new unloadind zone for the Pinnacle bldg and a new lobby.We ate at the compass rose a lot because of the fantasic food.all the staff were nice and the room service for clean towels every day was nice we have stayed at Compass Cove for 10years and it keeps getting better---thanks to the entire staff
gerald &barb

Room Tip: ask for a room in the pinnacle bldg on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank bjperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear bjperry,

Thank you for continuing to choose Compass Cove as your winter destination. We are glad to see all the upgrades we have done this off-season didn't affect your stay. We are always thinking of new ways to upgrade and improve our resort to provide a better guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again in February 2014. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and letting others know about your experience here at the Compass Cove.

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is ALWAYS our spot to stay when visiting Myrtle Beach!! We appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms, the oh-so-comfortable beds, the helpful staff & the GREAT deal we always get on the price of our room!! On our recent visit, renovations were being done around the usual room in the Pinnacle Building where we stay, so we were upgraded from a king room to a king suite . . . no extra charge!! They also accomodated our request for a room on a higher floor this time . . . 14 instead of 3 or 4!! The only problem we are ever faced with at Compass Cove is the tight-fit parking in the garages; but that small issue never sways our decision to stay at this place that feels so much like home away from home!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Robin M,

Thank your for this review and for your continued patronage of Compass Cove. We are so glad to see that you were pleased with your upgrade and that our renovations didn't put a damper on your stay. We look forward to hosting you and yours for years to come! Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopatcong nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are planning a golf trip to Myrtle Beach the Compass Cove is the place to go. The golf director and the golf department will plan your entire trip. You select the golf courses , tee times ,and number of rooms with breakfast included . They will do the rest. The cost is very reasonable.
They are terrific. This year we had 22 golfers attend . Next years trip is already planned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kenwindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear kenwindt,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove to host your golf holiday and taking time to write this review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our golf professionals were able to assist you with your reservations. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at Compass for the first time this past weekend for a romantic get-a-way and were pleasantly surprised. There are so many choices at Myrtle Beach and it can feel very overwhelming. We would strongly recommend this hotel and have already booked a trip in May to bring the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nichole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Nichole E,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your romantic get-a-way. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the summer. I hope your children enjoy the many pools we have to offer, and I hope they take advantage of our Kid’s Club activities. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and we’ll see you soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing