We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for young and old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place for young and old”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times, and we have always enjoyed the accomodations. The front desk has always been professional and considerate of our needs.
This past weekend, my college-age daughter visited here with several friends based on her experiences of when she was younger.
All four of them raved about everything, especially the heated polls

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Larry S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of Compass Cove Resort. We are so happy to see that you and your family continue to enjoy our resort and amenities. I hope we will be seeing you all again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,954
    1,220
    548
    309
    254
See reviews for
2,352
845
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed there over a recent weekend. The place is undergoing a lot of renovation, lots of dust, elevators not working and the parking deck was a mess. The room we had was small and definitely not updated. The entire place needs to be "refreshed" a bit. Having said all that, the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area was good and enjoying for a short bit. Overall, it was just OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Fishbaby1,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at Compass Cove. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to see you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our water amenities. I would like to apologize if you were inconvenienced by our current renovations. We do take the time during the winter months to try to modernize our resort. I hope in the future you will consider staying with us again so that you may enjoy the upgrades we are currently making to the rooms, as well as our property. We are currently updating our pool decks and parking garage to visually pleasing pavers and we have purchased new pool furniture (just to name a few!) We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort.

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay this weekend! Nice clean rooms and great service! Although the pools looked very nice we didn't have time to take a swim. Maybe next time cause we will definitely be back! Hope to see you this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Skye0726,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is great to hear that our staff was able to meet all of your needs and that your accomodations were fitting for your weekend get-a-way. We hope that during your next visit you will be able to take full advantage of our amenities especially during the beautiful summer months! We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family usually stays here for beach trips and this was my first trip, I understand why they keep coming back and I will as well. Very nice hotel, loved the little restaurant as it had awesome food and entertainment{Bill Krauss,I highly recommend catching him when he's there) the pools were nice since it was essentially 3 hotels worth of pools to choose from. Everyone loved the water slides as well. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were good size. I recommend everyone stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Tiffany W.,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Compass Cove Resort. I am so happy that you decided to stay at our resort with your family and were able to enjoy everything we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you all again soon when you are ready for another beach trip!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ilinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Compass cove in a deluxe ocean view room and found the accommodations and the amenities of the hotel to be outstanding. The hotel had more than 20 water areas: -pools, hot tubs, lazy rivers, slides, etc. Our room was updated and very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms have a very nice layout and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daddus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Daddus,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with us at Compass Cove. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, as well as the many water amenities we have to offer. At Compass Cove, we take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and our excellent customer service. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is in renovation mode but the staff minimized the effects. It should look better by early summer. Clean rooms and warm pools. Kids thoroughly enjoyed lazy river. Even though we booked over a month in advance, Stuck on the first floor- no real view of the beach (too low) & loud due to people and foot traffic. Get a room away from 1st floor if you can. Be prepared to have people push the rules with smoking in pool later in the evening while downing some Busch. Got to listen to a car alarm go off all Saturday night as well. The hotel has little control over these things, so it's not a dig on the hotel. Just wanted people to get a feel for the culture in case this IS or isn't your thing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrye32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear jfrye32,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Compass Cove Resort. I am pleased to see you and your family enjoyed our multiple water amenities as we take great pride in our resort. Please know that we do have security on staff around the clock for your safety. If ever there is a problem with noise from the hallway or garage after hours, they are only a phone call away. We do our best to ensure your comfort during your stay as it is our main priority. I hope you and your family will consider staying with us when you return to Myrtle Beach. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you are as excited about our upgrades as we are!

Kind regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent Thanksgiving weekend with the family at this resort. In short, you get what you pay for. Right on the beach and had great views with easy beach access. In the heart of Myrtle Beach action - toursity shops, touristy restuarants, etc. Good cheap buffet breakfast with real eggs and friendly wait staff. Relatively small, dated rooms. The "water areas" are just that - "areas" that hold a small number of people. Actually a motel build so you have to go outside to get anywhere -- and Thanksgiving weekend was very cool in Myrtle Beach. Bedroom is on the walkway side so gets loud when kids are running up and down the outside "hallway." To get to the inside pools, the kids had to go outside in the 40 degree weather. Beds may lumpy and had little support left in them. Facilities spread out among multiple buildings. If you are looking for a cheap, relatively clean place on the beach. It is a good bed. If you are looking for a stylish beach-side resort, keep looking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Kelly W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us at Compass Cove Resort. I am happy to see you enjoyed the country style breakfast buffet we offer in the Compass Rose and that our friendly staff left a lasting impression. I hope in the future you will consider staying with us again. Next time, I believe our Pinnacle building would be the best option for you and your family due to its direct access to indoor pools, hot tubs and a lazy river without having to brave the winter temperatures. At Compass Cove, we take pride in our resort and amenities, and hope you and your family will return to take advantage of them. Thank you for choosing to stay at Compass Cove. If you would like to discuss your stay further, or if you need help booking a future stay, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,955 reviews
7.3 mi away
No photo provided
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,102 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,828 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#45 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing