We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #37 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Compass Cove in a 3 bedroom oceanfront (north tower) condo in October 2012. What a good time. The price was very reasonable and the unit was beautiful and roomy. Tons of pools and things to do...and the breakfast each morning was delicious and not very expensive. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only thing bad that I have to say is that I only stayed 1 week and had to head home to get back to work. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyrtleBeachLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MyrtleBeachLovers2,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review of our resort. We are glad to see that you enjoyed all of the amenities, from the pools to our restaurants. It is unfortunate that you had to leave and go back to work! Just remember that we are here whenever you need a break from reality, to be your home away from home. Please feel free to contact me at any time, with any questions or concerns you may have.

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    1,122
    487
    270
    212
See reviews for
2,108
752
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATKINSON, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

first time visiting this hotel and the experience was nice. beds were comfortable, room was clean. only problems were that the ice maker in the refrigerator did not work, and the clerk at the front desk forgot to program our door keys, we couldn't get in, and had to go back to the front desk to have them programmed. other than that, there are no complaints.

Room Tip: try to get an ocean view. also the higher the floor, the better the view and the further away you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NAPALM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear NAPALM53,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay with us at Compass Cove. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room keys but I am glad we were able to fix the problem for you. I hope that you will look to our resort for your next beach vacation, when you are in need of some rest and relaxation. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Thank you,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been going to Compass Cove for years with Grand-children. But this time it was just the 2 of us. We were greeted by Chris which made us feel very Welcome, the room was perfect had a Great Ocean View, everyone was friendly. The pools, lazy river and hot tubs were perfect to enjoy. Hope we can go back soon.... Perfect get away for adults and kids.... LOT'S TO DO ON PROPERTY... Food really good there too....

Room Tip: We stayed on 15th floor Ocean View Room. Was very quiet ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Cathy L,

We are so glad to hear that you have been choosing Compass Cove for the past few years as your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area! We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much if your grandchildren were here. As you know, we take great pride in our guest services and are thrilled to hear that Chris was welcoming and accomodating! We will gladly pass along your comments to him as well as our entire staff. We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how yet another experience at Compass Cove was, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If your kids like to swim like mine do, they'll love Compass Cove. We visit several times each winter. Security is awesome, too. They make you feel very safe from theft. The travel ladies will bend over backwards to help you find fun things to do no matter what time of year.

Room Tip: Pinnacle Corner suites are nice and roomy for a crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jeffrey D,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at Compass Cove! We are thrilled to hear that you are able to visit several times during the winter months and that you and your children are able to enjoy your stay! We are so glad that our Loss Prevention officers were able to make your stay the most relaxing and comfortable it could be! We hope that you can come stay with us in the Spring and Summer months and enjoy the beautiful weather with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The resort was great! We went for a weekend in January. The room was clean and comfortable we had the 3 berm ocean front in the Mariner building. The view was amazing double balcony. The indoor pools were great and so warm. The parking garage was very convenient. The breakfast at the resort was very economical for a family of 5 we had the buffet. The service was excellent from the front desk to the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alilex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Alilex9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your weekend getaway at Compass Cove was! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from your accommodations all the way to the breakfast buffet in the Compass Rose! It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the indoor pools and that you found our parking garage convenient. We hope when visiting the Myrtle Beach area that you choose Compass Cove as your home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE!!! First time and I hope will not be the last. The room was excellant complete with everything we needed. More than what we expected! The bathroom, tub and shower spotless, excellant! Towels and linen just excellantly clean!! And the view of the ocean and morning sunrise just breath taking. Excellant staff and housekeeping! LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Terry M,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your first visit with us at Compass Cove was. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful 35th anniversary and hope that we can become your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area. Here at Compass Cove, we take great pride in our standards of cleanliness, as well as our staff, and are so glad that you found each at a level of excellence! Your comments will be passed on to all and we hope that we have the chance to accommodate you in the near future! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and Happy 35th anniversary!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our third time staying at Compass cove hotel, staff is always very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice with modern up grades. Parking is convenient and on site.Enjoyed being on the beach at Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear John P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#35 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,206 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing