We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a wonderful place to celebrate a 35th annniversary!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to celebrate a 35th annniversary!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE!!! First time and I hope will not be the last. The room was excellant complete with everything we needed. More than what we expected! The bathroom, tub and shower spotless, excellant! Towels and linen just excellantly clean!! And the view of the ocean and morning sunrise just breath taking. Excellant staff and housekeeping! LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Terry M,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your first visit with us at Compass Cove was. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful 35th anniversary and hope that we can become your choice destination when visiting the Myrtle Beach area. Here at Compass Cove, we take great pride in our standards of cleanliness, as well as our staff, and are so glad that you found each at a level of excellence! Your comments will be passed on to all and we hope that we have the chance to accommodate you in the near future! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and Happy 35th anniversary!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    1,138
    494
    279
    218
See reviews for
2,146
770
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our third time staying at Compass cove hotel, staff is always very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice with modern up grades. Parking is convenient and on site.Enjoyed being on the beach at Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear John P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the Compass Cove resort. Our family goes to Myrtle Beach a couple of times a year and we usually try to pick a different resort each time. This year we stayed at the Compass Cove Resort. The location is good it is in South Myrtle Beach near the airport so a quieter area of Myrtle Beach. We and our son loved the pools especially the kiddie water play area. The only down side was the small parking deck at the hotel but plenty of parking across the road. Will be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Joyner_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to see that you and your son got to enjoy our many pool features. Hope to see you soon for your next vacation!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a family vacation and the overall atmosphere was really great as far as that goes. kid friendly with barbeques available near the pool, water features including a (SMALL) lazy river and indoor water slide/pool. However this property consists of several buildings and the one we stayed in was in poor condition. The room was small and the "kitchen" was non functional for preparing any type of real meals. In addition the room still had rugs ( i guess i expected tile in a beach front hotel) and they were old and musty. There was a leak in the bathroom that was addressed in a timely manner. The overall feel of the room was leaning towers shabby. On the upside it is beach front with easy access to the ocean and a relaxed atmosphere with a nice family feeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TammyJolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear TammyJolo,

I appreciate you taking the time to submit this review. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay at Compass Cove Resort, but I am glad to see that the leak in your room was addressed in a timely manner. I hope that you will look to us for your next trip to the beach and give us the oppurtunity to show you and your family a relaxing stay. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
Compass Cove Resort
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Compass Cove is located in South Myrtle Beach just minutes from all the major attractions, restaurants, and a mall. The facility is a bit outdated, however it has multiple amenities to make up for is old fashioned style. They have several pools and jacuzzi's which are clean and large. The lazy river for the kids is adorable. Also there is an indoor and cover pool for rainy days. The rooms are really outdated with brown wooden furniture, old fashioned light fixtures etc. The bathroom although clean enough for a temporary situation left a lot to be desired on details and is in serious need for a makeover. The balcony is spacious and gives you a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel also offers a tiki bar which hosts happy hours and dinner specials off the grill. There is also a bar inside the hotel that has karaoke which is awesome! The bar tenders are fun and everyone's aim is to please. For the price Compass Cove certainly helps out vacationers on a budget. Off course it was off season sooo more to come when we visit in the summer which we do plan to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmobley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Imobely4,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your observations of Compass Cove Resort. We are constantly trying to improve the property for our guests. We hope that next season when you come to stay, you will see the improvements we are currently working on to make the resort more visually pleasing. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varina, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been coming to Compass Cove the first weekend in December for 9 years for a 2 day golf tournament. Major renovations have taken place over the past 2-3 years to many of the units. This year, we noted a marked improvement in the units, especially the bath rooms and living room area. The kitchen area is very good as well. Every unit we have stayed in faced the ocean. The buffet breakfast that comes with our room package is great, and you can opt to order from the menu at no additional cost. The staff has always been very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear John T,

Thank you for your review and for your continued patronage of the Compass Cove. We are glad to be able to host your annual golf getaway! We look forward to hosting your next golf trip and hope to go above and beyond your expectations.

Sincerely,

Justin Walton
Night Manager
justin.walton@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I go to Myrtle Beach in the winter. I don't really news a beach destination as I live in Wilmington,NC but when I want to fly to the Caribbean it is much cheaper to book out of Myrtle Beach so I stay at Compasse Cove on the way down and the way back.

Great rates, large rooms, ocean front balconies, indoor pool and nice bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Susanharkins,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at Compass Cove. Although you do not live too far away from the beach yourself, we are glad that you choose us when staying in the Myrtle Beach area, whatever the occasion may be! We are thrilled that you have been able to experience all our resort has to offer and hope that you choose to stay at our resort whenever visiting Myrtle Beach!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing