We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort, Clean Rooms, And Friendly Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We Live In VA, And Travel To Myrtle Beach 3-4 Times/Year And Compass Cove Is By Far, The #1 Choice Of Resort Of Choice For Us! Kids Or No Kids, This Is The Best Place To Stay! Very Affordable And We Love The Crows Nest! Friendly Staff And Clean Rooms! Compass Rose Has An Awesome Breakfast Buffett Also....Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Jessica M,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Compass Cove and that we are your number one choice! We take great pride in offering a clean, fun and family friendly resort. I have already passed your positive comments along to our food & beverage staff. Thank you for writing a review and for choosing to stay at Compass Cove Resort. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,879 - 2,885 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked an ocean front room with an ocean view online at the hotels website. When we got to our room, it was a ground-level room with a view of the outside bar ( The Tiki Hut) but you could not see any water. We ask to be moved to another room and we were moved. This was a ground floor room next to all of the vending machines and the outside pool. We couldnt see the ocean, the room smelled awful plus we had people walking by and looking in our sliding glass door. After 4 hours of time wasted, we were at last given the room we were promised and had paid for....a room oceanfront with an oceanview. The staff acted like we were a bother and we only got moved when I told them we would go to another hotel. This is also the first hotel we have ever stayed at where we were not given any items for the bathroom, like soap, shampoo, etc. There was a coffee pot in the room but you will need to bring your own coffee, sugar, etc. We were not happy with the staff at all . It was noisy as workmen were busy working outside the whole time we were there. The hotel is only too happy to sell you what you might need in your room. The only good thing about the hotel was the ocean view that took us 4 hours to get. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have alot of people walking by at all hours. Plus when the outside bar is open, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tallgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Tallgirl56,

We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay here at Compass Cove Resort. While we do not supply in room coffee we do offer shampoo and soap in all guest rooms. This was a clear shortcoming on our part and for this we cannot apologize enough. We pride ourselves on providing a clean, safe and family friendly environment for our guests to enjoy. It is clear we fell short of your expectations as well as our own. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Thank you,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
843-444-3922

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We take this golf trip around the same time every year and Compass Cove makes it a great destination. Many of our wive go and enjoy the Breakfast Bar along with the other ammenity's they offer. We plan on continuing to use Compass Cove as we love the friendly great service they provide.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room and this is my 6th trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Don M,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for your continued loyalty to Compass Cove. We are happy to see that we are your choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Our staff takes great pride in providing friendly and informative customer service and we look forward to serving you again on your nest golf adventure. Thank you and see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to stay, very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and nice. The space and amenities were excellent. I enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The resturant was affordable and food was good.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cabana room which was ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeTCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear ReneeTCharlotte_NC,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us here at Compass Cove. We pride ourselves on providing a clean, safe and inviting environment for all of our guests. We look forward to being your new home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at here after attending a beachfront wedding at Sunset Beach. Our first room didn't have a full ocean view so we upgraded for a minimal amount and had a wonderful ocean view over the nd of the lazy river, high enough not to be bothered by any noise. Our spacious room had a king bedroom, then a kitchen in between with full size stove and frig as well as microwave and all dishes, cutlery, pots and pans you could need. The bathroom was good too. Then was a separate sitting area with table and chairs, couch and a Murphy bed. Each of these rooms were separated by a door so perfect if you come with kids or friends. The end room with the Murphy bed overlooked the balcony, so was where we spent most of our time with the wonderful ocean view.
This resort has several pools, hot tubs, lazy rivers, both n and outdoors. There is lots of things for kids to do if they come along. There is a wonderful beach with white sand and great swimming, which is shallow for quite a ways, again good for children. There is a very good breakfast room and coffee is complimentary. There is a covered parking garage for guests. This is a good location, not too far from where the boardwalk and large Ferris wheel is. You can walk easily along the hard packed sand beach to a nearby pier, where there is a store for gifts and souvenirs. The value at trying at this clean resort entices me to return again someday!

Room Tip: Oceanfront high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blondie577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Blondie577,

Thank you for your review of Compass Cove Resort. We really appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the convenience of the Compass Rose breakfast restaraunt. We are so happy you chose to stay at Compass Cove and we hope you will stay again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

into our second week at compass cove all is well housekeeping comes and does a good job -maintence men are busy getting ready for winter -the food ar the compass rose is (as always)to die for tiki hut hasnt been open do to the cool weather but the pools are warm

Room Tip: the pinnicale has best ocean front rooms above 6 floor and it is quieter alot less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bjperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear bjperry,

I am so happy to hear that your are enjoying your stay here at Compass Cove! If you need anything during your stay, please do not hesitate to let us know. I hope the weather stays nice so that you may continue to use the pools. Enjoy the rest of your stay!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was clean, staff very welcoming and helpful. The lazy rivers, pools, and hot tubs very clean and maintained.
We enjoyed the shuffle board, business center and the view was priceless. We already making plans for next year!
Very family hotel with great people from maintance, waitress, front desk and housekeeping....we will be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: We have stayed at the mariner which has a front and corner ocean front view for everyone, it was lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indianakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Indianakitten,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Compass Cove! It is wonderful that you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful view as well as the many amenities we have to offer. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our new Business Center during your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at Compass Cove. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornel1@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $57 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing