We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great stay as usual”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we have been coming here in October for 15 years. This year was definitely the best. Besides the great weather, staff was especially helpful, entire property was clean, and all water facilities were enjoyable. Looking forward to next year

Room Tip: pick ocean front suites. room sleeps 8 if need be
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank schwarz732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear schwarz732,

We are so thrilled that you have been staying with us for 15 years and continue to provide feedback to us and others regarding your stay! We could not be happier knowing that you have been through many years of renovations with us and each year surpasses the last. We look forward to your stay with us next year, so when you are ready to book your vacation do not hesitate to contact our reservations department so that we can get you the best available rate! Again, thank you so much for taking the time out and we GREATLY look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    1,219
    547
    307
    251
See reviews for
2,344
844
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrowdore, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The oceanfront room was beautiful...obviously recently modernized, with granite countertops, new, comfortable furniture and beds, and an excellent mini-kitchen that was complete with dinnerware, utensils, even dishwashing detergent! The personnel were all polite, courteous, friendly, and professional. We loved the view of the ocean, and would definitely recommend this resort hotel to others. It's especially family friendly, with great concern shown for safety, and many features for children.

Room Tip: There did not appear to be any bad rooms or locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baldy1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Baldy1920,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience at Compass Cove with others! We are so glad your oceanfront unit was exactly what you were looking for and included everything you needed! We take great pride in our property and staff, so we are more than thrilled that each member you encountered was more than accomodating! Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Compass Cove resort again and we had a great time!! Our room, #1566, was oceanfront and we had great view of the ocean. The kids slept in the murphy bed and my wife and I stayed in the bedroom. When the kids woke up, they could watch TV and eat breakfast and not disturb us. The facilities were excellent and the kids really enjoyed the pools and the waterslides. The restaurant serves good breakfast and we did a lot of fun things in Myrtle Beach. Overall, we had a wonderful time at Compass Cove again and we shall return in the future when we vacation in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have the best view and the schooner building is the best because the pool and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lindsaytraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear SunnydayOntario,

We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation here with us at Compass Cove! We greatly appreciate your comments and are glad that your oceanfront unit in the Pinnacle building was exactly what you were looking for with the two separate rooms so that the children could watch tv on their own in the mornings! We hope that everything our resort combined with what Myrtle Beach had to offer will now make us your vacation destination! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know about your experience and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times through the years. It is always clean and the breakfast at the compass rose is very good. The lazy river is perfect for small kids and you can walk to the state park. You can relax by the pool or hot tub while the kids can play in the indoor pools. The new slides are cool too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear LoriS22,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay so that others may share your experience. It is great to see that you enjoyed the water slides and water amenities during your stay. I am also happy that you enjoyed the southern style breakfast buffet we offer at the Compass Rose. I hope you and your family will consider staying with us again. Thank you for choosing to stay at Compass Cove Resort!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The room was great, the weather was great and the pools were great. Had a wonderful time at Compass Cove. We had easy access to the convention center to attend the Gaither Fest for 2 nights. There were many restaurants in close proximity to the resort. Easy access to the beach and the pools and lazy rivers and hot tub was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 922WilliamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear 922WilliamB,

We are so thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us here at Compass Cove! The weather here in mid-October is beautiful and we are so glad you got to experience it with us. We take great pride in our property and appreciate the feedback from guests that have stayed with us! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others and we hope that you can come visit with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our room was really nice, beach view. Everything was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again for sure! The location is near everything. The boardwalk is real nice, lots of shopping, plenty of good places to eat. Broadway on Beach is near by and should not be passed up! It's really neat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear TRC2011,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Compass Cove! We are so glad that you enjoyed your beach view unit and that everything was clean. We take great pride in our property and we will absolutely pass along your comments to the staff! We are thrilled you would choose to stay with us again, and when you are ready, do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for the best rates available! We look forward to seeing you again soon and again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were very pleased with the entire property we stayed in OF suite large balcony, fast elevators,awesome breakfast buffet.I think this would be a great place to take the family multiple pool areas 2 lazy rivers,a waterslide We hadnt stayed this far south on the strand before nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvbeachbum2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Wvbeachbum2b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Compass Cove! We greatly appreciate your comments and are so thrilled that the oceanfront suite was a perfect fit for you. Also, we will pass along how much you enjoyed the breakfast buffet to The Compass Rose staff and management! We are an ideal property for your family vacation so when you are ready to plan your next vacation do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for the best available rates! Again, thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing