We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaged!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My first time to Myrtle Beach and I was not disappointed! My boyfriend proposed to me right before our trip to Compass Cove. We met up with his family and stayed for 4 days at the resort. The resort was clean, the staff was friendly, and the food was very good. The slides at the resort were great entertainment for those that have families and need some relief from the sun. There were many places to hang out without feeling crowded. The area in front of the resort was also very well kept and clean. I enjoyed jogging on the beach in the mornings.
I did wish that there was complimentary coffee/breakfast for the guests. I feel that if you pay that kind of money to own a condo, coffee should be a "perk".
We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TamaraJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear TamaraJB,

Congratulations! We are thrilled to hear that you chose to stay with us for such a special occassion. We cannot wait to see you and your family for many years to come. You certainly picked a beautiful time of year to come down and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,936 - 2,942 of 4,457 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Returned to Compass Cove for the 6th time. Oceanfront Junior Suite in the Mariner building was heaven. Used all of the 22 water attractions and visited the Tiki Bar several times Access to the beach is only steps away and travel to all attractions is quick and easy. Will definitely return (as often as possible)

Room Tip: Oceanfront in he Mariner Building are the best, in my humble opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank artson1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear artson1001,

We are so happy to see you found your room heavenly and that you were able to take advantage of all that Compass Cove has to offer. We certainly appreciate your repeat patronage and that you took the time to share your vacation experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is our 3rd year staying at Compass Cove and once again we were not disapointed. From the time of check in till we checked out the staff was great. We spent the mornings at the beach and when we returned to our room it was always spotless. We loved swimming in the pools in the evenings. We ate breakfast at the Compass Rose every morning. My favorite was the bananas and cream...yum! The Crows nest had the best sandwiches and drinks. I can't wait till we go back. We will be booking our room next month for Sept 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Jennifer S,

It is wonderful to hear that you have chosen to stay with us for the past three years! We can't wait to see you again for year number four and many more to come. Until we see you again, have a great year!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First time to Myrtle Beach, and Compass Cove, I don't know what took me so long, great hotel, great place to have a vacation. We had fabulous weather in September, and would definately go back.. See you next year Compass Cove..

Room Tip: We had an Ocean view from the 8th floor, and it was great, we could see the ocean, the gorgeous beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaToriontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear MariaToriontoCanada,

We are certainly looking forward to your visit with us next year and are glad you made it here to stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort. See you soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love Compass Cove and have stayed here several times before. Each time we love it the pools are clean and the ocean very accessible. We like the food specials they had each day at the Compass Rose, the philly steak was great! We will definitely stay here again when we return to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hooky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear hooky4,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your vacation. We know there are many places to choose from in Myrtle Beach and are thrilled to hear that you continually choose to stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We usually always stay at the Compass Cove when we go to Myrtle Beach. Registration takes about 10 minutes. Be careful going in because there is a huge dip on one of the entrances that will scrap the under carriage of your car. The hotel decor outside is inviting and very beachy. We did not have to wait for the elevators very long because we went in September which is one of the best times of the year to go. The bedrooms had new comforters which are much prettier than the old ones. The appliances and furniture are a little worse for the wear. They could stand to be replaced. The pull-out couch and wall-bed are not comfortable but then they generally never are. The bathtubs are hard for handicap people to get into and te bathroom ceiling area over the sink showed all of the piping which I found odd. If you are a smoker the have a small butt container on the deck of the hotel room. The view is amazing. I did find that my comforter had a stain so we called the front desk and someone was up to change it in 5 minutes. They changed the entire bed and apologized. The front desk called back later and asked if everything was okay now which I thought was wonderful customer serivce. There are over 20 some pools, jacuzzi's, and lazy rivers. It is nice because they are not that crowded since there are so many. The jacuzzis were not as hot as they were in previous years and the pools were a little on the sandy side. They have places where you can grill if you buy food and there are shuffle boards and a checker and chess area. They also have cornhole. There is plenty for everyone to do. There are also 3 restraunts available. I would definately recommend this hotel. The only major complaint I have is parking. My mom is handicap and we could never find a space at the hotel. We always had to park across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort for your vacation and for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in spite of a few shortcomings. We would like to apologize for these shortcomings and would love the opportunity to make it up to you and your family in the future. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

enjoyed my last stay over the weekend. i was overly excited to get to that building that says "Registration". great seeing the same faces i saw last summer. that says a lot about the culture, and committment their of the employees. I know them by name. Peggy (favorite waitress), Jennifer (moved up to floor manager), and a host of others made my stay a great one again. I had spoken so highly about the customer service there, i was happy to get a report back from those i traveled with, that the service was good for them as well. I have to says i prefer the Pinnacle building over any other. Brad (crow's nest), you were awesome. I still haven't made it to the arcade, but used the fitness room this trip. i was pleased with the equipment and the location. for a september getaway the price was resonable. ready to return. because of your customer service practices, i have 2nd thoughts about going some place else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank hottietwoSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear hottietwoSeven,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed yet another stay here with us at Compass Cove. We value your comments and will definitely pass them along to Peggy, Jennifer and Brad! Hopefully during your next trip you can make it to the arcade and continue to use the fitness room. Again, we are so thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and all of us here at Compass Cove look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing