We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Overall our stay here was a good one... The location is good, overall it is quiet. The beach is very clean and nice. Everything is a very reasonable walk to get to... beach, pools(23 water attractions), Tiki bar, restaurants, your car, etc... all were easy to walk.

Some things to note:
- Housekeeping didnt do much for us... Our sheets never got changed in 5 night stay... but it was surprising that it was only suppose to happen every 3rd day(housekeeper told me). If you expect more, you better tell them.
- Even though there is a sign at the pools, I would watch everyday when people would come out and put towels on the chairs. By 9:15 every morning every chair was taken.
- We enjoyed the different pools... and Tiki Bar.
- WARNING:This place was crowded. If are looking for a relaxing, low key, peaceful getaway... this might not be the place. Of course, we went over July 4th week but all of the pools were crowded... and so was the beach! Not much room to move. The beach was very convenient and nice. It was clean and going from the resort to the beach was easy.
- WARNING: Dont get there around check-in time... WOW. There was a line out the door. Also, be careful because if you come early, you have to come and get the keys... and that line was just as long. Now... check-in went well and wasnt too bad, but you will need some patience.
- Parking for us was great... same level as our room. I dont think it is the same way in other buildings.
- Food at both restaurants was good. Breakfast was great at Compass Rose... Crows Nest food and drinks were good also.
- Slides are nice... lazy rivers are small... Pools are fine, nothing fancy.
- Most service people were pleasant. One man at the front Guest Info counter was worthless, the lady there was very nice.

I would recommend this place to anyone if you dont mind a crowd. Myrtle is a crowded place, so maybe everyone is ok with it. I just didnt expect there to be that many people on the beach. It is not a 5 Star Resort but it is a good place for a family or some people wanting a getaway. I gave it 4 stars for all the pools and services, but our room was a 3 star. I know they have better ones, so dont let this stop you from coming here.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Schooner building... that is their economical building. View was fantastic! It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soccercoach18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,065 - 3,071 of 4,432 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

After trying many hotels at Myrtle Beach, we have found our favorite. The only down side is Internet access which is slow and spotty. Otherwise the facilities are well maintained. It is a childrens paradise. The pools and hot tubs are plentiful and the beach is wide. Never been there in the summer so don't know how parking would be; we never have a problem spring or fall. We love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Womie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We are a regular visitor to compass cove in summer since we discovered this place in 2003. There are a plenty of pools which keep the kids and adults engaged. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Compass Cove for the first time just this past week. The rooms looked tired, fairly clean but a shortage on wash cloths ALL week. The first night we had to call the front desk TWO times. First, we had no wash cloths and then, when trying to make the beds, we had no linens for the sofa bed. It took them FOREVER. All during the week we were promised cloths but no one ever delivered. I also found it disturbing that when my sister got stuck on the elevator for 40+ minutes, management was not concerned. The hotel needs some updating or maybe we just didn't stay in the right building. We were in the pinnacle. When I come to the beach and pay that kind of money, I'm hoping to find it fresh, clean, fully stocked with linens, cloths, etc. Disappointing to say the least. Oh....our balcony was TINY, especially for four people and only 2 chairs. ;( You pay for ocean FRONT but only 2 people at a time can sit out there.

Room Tip: The balcony is TINY, especially for four people. The rooms on the side of us had a wrap balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Felt like home away from home. Rooms very clean, beds very comfortable, staff very helpfull and friendly, breakfast buffet was awesome, pool activities amazing. My kids really had a great time, they made friends with other kids during our stay it was truly amazing. Will definately stay here again in the future. Prices were reasonable considering all of the amenities :) a must stay hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mussarix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a great vacation. The hotel was clean and helpful. Before we even got to the hotel I knew it was going to be the place for us because they called to make sure we had enough tickets for the Skywheel because we had only ordered 2 but had 3 people in our room. The rooms were nice and clean and beach was just a few feet from the pool decks. We have a 2 year old so all the kiddie pools and swimming pools were great for us when he grew tired of the beach. We would go back today!

Room Tip: The Schooner Building only has 3 floors so if you are looking for an over the top ocean view you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJS2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Compass Cove is the best resort I have ever stayed at in Myrtle Beach. The staff was great courteous. The room was very clean and spacious. There were many pools available. My son loved the kiddie pool with the submarine. The only complaint I have about the resort is the parking. My family and I had to drive around two or three parking decks just to find a space to park. The parking spaces were also small. I will definitely return to the resort in the near future, despite the parking. The spectacular ammenities, accommodations, and staff outweigh the issues with parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,275 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,063 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing