We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel professionals on vacation - we were impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel professionals on vacation - we were impressed!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our second trip to Compass Cove - our first was last fall for our anniversary - and this time we brought along my Dad and aunt.

I am a hotel Director of Sales in Charleston, SC and my partner works for a resort rental company. When we check into a hotel, we check out everything - including stripping the beds in search of bedbugs and dirty linens - before we ever bring in our bags. We both have spent a lot of time inspecting rooms, and we were both impressed with the cleanliness of both rooms. The accommodations are very comfortable, and this is the nicest oceanfront Myrtle Beach hotel I have ever visited.

We spend our days at the lazy river in front of the Schooner building. It is the nicest and cleanest of the lazy rivers on the property. My only criticism of the property is the condition of the lazy river on the Pinnacle side of the property - it feels run down and not very clean in comparison to other pools on property.

We ate breakfast in the Compass Rose each morning, and either had meals or drinks nearly every day at the Crow's Nest. Prices, particularly for food, are very reasonable and the food is tasty. I wish prices for frozen cocktails weren't quite so high - I would have had quite a few more drinks during non-happy hour times if the pina coladas weren't $7 each for a small cup!

What really makes this property shine is the staff. We were blown away by the friendliness, courtesy, and overall sense of welcome we experienced. That attitude is hard to find in hospitality, and we encountered it all over the hotel. In particular, we loved our housekeeper, Mellody. She was friendly and went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable and our room was perfectly clean. I was there one afternoon as she cleaned our bathroom. She didn't cut any corners.

We are loyal Compass Cove customers, and will return again as soon as we can get away for another trip!

Room Tip: We booked the Oceanview King Efficiency (Handicap) for both trips. We really like the spaciousness o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ardentoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    1,214
    539
    302
    240
See reviews for
2,316
838
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Compass Cove resort is wonderful!! The location is excellent and the facility is great!!! Lots for the kids to do and the ocean is right behind the hotel. Highly recommend to anyone going to Myrtle Beach for vacation

Room Tip: oceanfront room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lindsaytraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Service and lack of communication among the staff seem to be real problems. When we arrived late evening, we found the phone didn't work. Three visits from the repair staff didn't fix the problem, and the maintenance man said that the phone company would have to be notified the next day. The toilet did not flush well, and he said they would work on that the next day. The tv remote didn't work (even when we added our own fresh batteries), and the picture was mostly "snow." The next day we asked to be moved to another room, and the clerk at the desk wanted to know why? When we started to explain all the problems, he wanted to know if the repair staff had been notified. He clearly had no record of anything and seemed very irritated by our request. He said he had no rooms available at the moment, but when one became available he would give us a call on our cell phone. At some point, maintenance evidently contacted him and said the problems had been solved and there was no need to have us change rooms. Late that afternoon, we returned to our room after receiving no phone call from the front desk about our requested room switch and found that our room had not been cleaned. I found one of the cleaning staff to ask about the room, and she told me that they had been told that we were checking out so there was no rush to clean the room. She gave us some fresh towels, and that was that. The phone did work, and the toilet flushed better, but it would take 2-3 flushes to equal the normal one. The tv never improved and room cleaning consisted of new towels and empied trash cans and not much else (beds just pulled up, not made, and carpet rarely vacuumed). Basically, the staff seemed very disinterested in helping guests enjoy their stay at this hotel, and we definitely did not feel as if we had a "resort" experience - we were just part of the cash-paying herd.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cltwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have been going to Myrtle Beach since we were married in March of 1971. Our daughter went to Coastal Carolina. This was the first time stayed at Compass Cove and it will not be the last. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. Our room was just outside the lazy river and a sand wedge to the beach. We loved it and can't wait to go back next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Radarpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were very happy with the service and the conditions of our room, I will go back next time and stay longer, Staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent five beautiful days at the compass cove. The location was great, the hotel was fantastic. Parking is a bit limited, but better than most hotels in the area. Definitely looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneakybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

My kids loved the spaciousness of the room, roof top restaurant with amazing pizza and best of all the lazy rivers and pool slides. The location was perfect. Will definitely stay at compass cove on our next vacation to myrtle beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joirocrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing