We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #13 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The boyfriend and I planned a Spring Break getaway in Asheville, NC but as a cold front moved in, we went running for some warmer temps. The entire East Coast was plagued with freezing temps and rain, rain, rain; after a quick weather search from cities as far south as Savannah and as far West as Nashville, Myrtle Beach had the best weather forecast as so off we went!

I searched for Marriotts in Myrtle Beach during the drive and settled on the Grande Dunes since it was right on the beach. I was able to call and book a partial ocean view room with a King Bed.

Check-in was easy around 7:30PM that evening and we were elated when we walked into our room on the top (15th floor) with high ceilings, a beautiful floor to ceiling window, and a gorgeous sunset (the picture attached to the review was the sunset view the evening of our arrival). The room was nicely appointed, not large but spacious enough to fit two people comfortably, and the bathrooms were nice, but average.

The first night we took a quick walk on the beach (and yes, this hotel is RIGHT on the beach). Then we visited the bar for dinner and a bottle of wine. The bar area was comfortable with a lot of action which was a nice change from some unusually quiet hotel bars. The service was prompt, the atmosphere was very comfortable, and there was a nice mix of families and couples. I had the crab salad which was disappointingly small and average in taste. The boyfriend had the chicken fettucine which I helped him finish.

The weather didn't exactly cooperate for any beach time, but I managed to get one day out at the pool for a few hours while the boyfriend played golf. I walked to the bar to get drinks but saw plenty of servers out and about taking orders amongst the pool crowd.

We didn't spend much time at the resort during the day since most days we opted to ride our bikes 7 miles down Ocean Blvd to the boardwalk. In the evenings we stayed in and ordered room service. Food was average to slightly above, and service was fast and courteous.

Fast forwarding to the end, we turned our 2 night stay here into a 4 night stay. If we come back to Myrtle Beach we will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Lindsey J,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the resort. We are so happy to hear that we ended up being your getaway destination and that your room ended up being the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset.

We are sorry to hear that the food did not exceed your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for your comments on that.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the beach and a bit of the pool despite the poor weather. Hopefully we can have you back another time when it is sunny and warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
There are newer reviews for Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach is a great place to get away from it all and listen to the ocean sounds and just relax. I had just a few days at the resort and found the ocean view room to be above average but not quite as luxurious as I may have hoped.

The room was furnished with 2 double beds and in retrospect, I wish we would have requested a room change as full size beds are just not enough space for comfort. The pillows were not as plush and varied in firmness and density as my husband would have liked, but I found them to be fine. The room amenities were good with a coffeemaker in the room.

We were given the carrot at check in to listen to the vacation time share opportunity and fell for the pitch as the incentives were worth at least listening to the sales pitch. In the end we decided on a one week package that provides a lovely villa on the property with a master and 2 full beds and full kitchen for a week for a reasonable price. I am excited to go back and really enjoy the resort and all of its amenities.

The food at the restaurant was good but not great, however the service was always very good. There were daily specials and the prices were above average for the offerings but within resort hotel price expectations.

There were many outdoor patio and pool areas for sunbathing and splashing with plenty of service staff to meet your food and drink needs around the pool. The ocean winds were broken by and hedge just beyond the pool areas. At times I longed to sit in my chaise lounge and take in the sight of the rolling ocean waves but later was thankful for the break from the strong winds while there in the spring season. There were many patio tables, lounge chairs, hammocks and even private seating areas that could be reserved.

My husband was there for a conference and I tagged along for pleasure and look forward to going back to explore the spa and other offerings at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms worth the extra money to take in the extraordinary scenery.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear bgirl55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of the resort. We are sorry to hear that your sleeping room was not as luxurious as you had hoped. In the future, please know that if you are unsatisfied with your accommodations in anyway, we would have been happy to change your sleeping room, so that both of you are comfortable.

We are also sorry to hear that the food in the restaurant did not exceed your expectations, however thank you for commenting on the good service. Next time, please just let the server know if there is anything special we can do to improve your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the pool deck and thank you for giving such a great description of layout. It was great that you were able to take a little break from the ocean breeze and still get to enjoy being outside in the South Carolina sun.

We look forward to having you back! Please just let out team know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Such a wonderful resort. Has everything you will need: restaurants, bar, spa, pools, etc. Very clean and welcoming. Beautiful pool area and excellent servers. Beds are very comfortable. Free parking, valet available with fee. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lib360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Lib360,

We are thrilled to hear that you loved your experience at the resort. It is great that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities the resort has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our second time here in the last couple years. Not much to complain about. Great location right on the beach with a very nice and spacious pool area for the kids. They even have a waterslide. Kids had a great time. Poolside bar not bad for food and drinks. Service is usually very good. Ocean's restaurant buffet good for breakfast, maybe not so good for dinner. Great lobby with nice bar.

One slight complaint would be the room conditions. If your looking for a spectacular resort room this is not the place. It wasnt dirty or anything, but it just needs a modern renovation. Hopefully they are thinking about it soon. But it wont stop me from going back. Everything else outweighs that one small thing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelRed5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear WheelRed5,

Thank for you staying with us again. We love hearing that you enjoyed the pool deck and the location of the resort. It is wonderful that your kids had a great time and they were able to enjoy the water slide.

Thank you for your feedback regarding Ocean's on 82nd and your sleeping room. We are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate hearing what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable in the future. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for one night only on our drive through from Savannah to DC. We had spontaniously decided to stay for one night at Myrtle Beach to make use of the lovely weather. The Resort is very large and the location is right on the beach. The property is a little tired in regards to the rooms but perfectly fine, especially if traveling with childern. The outside pool area is very large, offers different pools and also has a beach access. The sun loungers are free of charge unless you would like to rent a cabana which is 35 $ a day. They outside area is done nicely and is very spacious even when full.
We had lunch at the outside bar which was ok but not very satisfying and the drinks were not of very high quality.
The area around the resorts are other hotels and vacation homes only, meaning you have to either take your car or a taxi to have dinner outside of the resort.
I can imagine that this resort is very convenient with a group or family but not for people that would like to venture outside of the resort more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicSu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear VicSu2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool and easy beach access. Thank you for your feedback regarding the sleeping rooms and Ocean Blu Cafe. We are sorry to hear that your lunch did not exceed your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We hope to have you and your family back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I'm not a Myrtle Beach fan so my expectations weren't high for this property. But I have to say, I was thoroughly impressed. Everything from the lobby, the room, the pool area and the beach were excellent. We arrived late one evening and didn't feel like going out for dinner so we sat in the bar area, ordered food which was very good and were served promptly. We retired to very comfortable beds that were in a large room with a view of the ocean. The next day, we walked the wide beach. There is a Marriott "club" next door and there are people in the hotel lobby offering tours with freebies but there was no pressure at all if you weren't interested. The staff was very accommodating and we had no problems during our stay. Parking is free and there is a side entrance to the hotel direct to the parking area. All in all, we had a great stay at this Marriott and would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear DeanJC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review in regards to your most recent visit to our resort. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon for your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

After a planned pre wedding happy hour get together at the hotel, we were among a group who decided to have dinner at their restaurant. What a disaster! The place wasn't busy and decidedly understaffed. This should have sent up red flags. Service was slow and we were among at least 10 who didn't get our food until our other tables had finished eating. My grilled chicken salad was adequate while my daughters shrimp and grits was runny (made from instant?), with 4 sad little shrimp and hardly any visible sausage. The grits were gelatinous at best and bland. The waiter was told of our disappointment and took this dish off the bill. Our compensation for over an hour of waiting for our entrees? A full bill and a shot glass of Bailey's for each of us. No sign of the manager. I've read other reviews of this place before writing this and advise you not to waste your time here. There Make sure you use all your cold water creek giftcards if you have any.... All stores closing are plenty of other and better places in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucas1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Lucas1216,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a survey for your most recent experience in our Restuarant Ocean's on 82nd. We wanted to personally apologzie for the issues that you had while dining with us. We will make sure to review your comments to ensure that we correct any and all issues for any future visits. Thank you so much again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,183 reviews
9.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $188 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grand Dunes is an oceanfront hotel in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis, a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing