We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel, but service Super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, but service Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Last week I was comming from New York driving from Washington to Myrtle Beach and arrived late around 6 pm without reservation. As a Marriott Gold Member I got an upgrade after verifying that there were rooms available. Stephanie helped us booking and was very helpful, we got an ocean front eleven floor room. View was sensational. From then on all personel was not just helpful but friendly. Valet service was also very good and everyody was asking if we knew where we were going. The pool area was beautifful, well distributed, for all ages, and the beach was nice. This is more than you can expect. Definetly would come back again.

Room Tip: As allways corner rooms ocean front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear waterman01

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor to tell others about how great the service was at the resort. We strive, every day, to maintain Marriott's excellent standards, and it is great to know that you think we are doing a good job. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    357
    144
    54
    23
See reviews for
405
309
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The pools are great and the oceanfront is even better. Nice service from the staff and valet. Great bar with deck overlooking the ocean. The food/ burgers particularly were quite fair, but avoid lunch at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor facing the valet parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Remac2

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property as well as the service by the staff and valet. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy lunch at the pool bar. We work very hard to maintain the excellence of Marriott Standards and are sorry that you felt we fell slightly below. We do our best to immediately fix any issues for our guests if they tell us while they are staying with us. We hope you have a wonderful time wherever your next adventure may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I love the Marriott at Grande Dunes. This is my 3rd stay here in about 5 years. The hotel is beautiful, the pool is great and the ocean is steps away. The restaurants at this hotel, however, are awful. I typically stay away from hotel restaurants as a general rule, but my toddler was getting fussy in the car, so we rolled the dice for dinner last night. Oceans 82 is on par with TGI Fridays or Applebee's. Today we ate poolside at the café, and it was even worse. I had a club sandwich (easy enough), and was totally jealous of my kid's PB&J. There was literally one slice of turkey on the sandwich, and the bacon was disgusting. We had nachos that were like a bowl of slop and the service was pretty bad. On top of all of that, this sub-par lunch for two adults and a baby (no alcohol) was about $60.

I'm back to my no-restaurant policy in hotels. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear cromito

We appreciate your feedback about our resort's food outlets. It is our goal to maintain the excellence of Marriott Standards and we are sorry that we fell below these standards with regard to your meals. We will always do our best to fix any issues that you may have if you tell us while you are here at the resort. We wish you very happy travels wherever your next vacation may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The nicest stay in Myrtle Beach, beautiful property located away from all the tourist traps. One of the only reasons we would return to Myrtle Beach, SC. Beautiful view from the Ocean front room, awsome pool, slide, and beach. Lunch on the pool deck, or evening drinks watching the sunset. Plenty of great places to eat within driving distance. Perfect for couples weekend or family trip. We arrive here looking for a place to stay after walking away from Kingston Plantation upon checkin. Saved our vacation! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Susan S

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you loved the location of the resort as well as all our amenities. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not everyone has a beachview (just so you know there are other resorts that do) so if that's what you want, be prepared to pay for it. Other than that, the place is family friendly, a quick walk to the beach from all of the buildings and they even have a shuttle to take tyou there. There's onsite grills, a large 'treehouse' like playground, lovely pools to pick from and great activities. However there is no daily room service at least not on the timeshare portion. Although the place was gorgeous, I believe I prefer the smaller more intimate resorts in the future or a room that looks out on he ocean and is closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Call in advance on the day of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lprstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear lprstn

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Marriott Ocean Watch Villas next door to the resort. We hope to have you back in the Myrtle Beach area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is amazing. The rooms are gorgeous, and the location is amazing. The pool is incredible, and the spa is totally amazing. I can't say enough about this place. It's the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at and have recommened it to many of my friends. You won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the ocean, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommycheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear mommycheer

We LOVE LOVE LOVE your review! Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night after having our reception next door at the Ocean Club. The hotel itself is very nice and is right on the beach.

My wife is platinum with Marriott and they knew it was our wedding night. Plus, we had about 10 rooms booked for the weekend through members of our group. With all of this, we thought we might get an upgrade or maybe something nice in our room. We did not. The room was very small and did not even have a balcony. The door opened but there was just a railing.

It was only one night, but we were a little disappointed as Starwood hotels have treated us much better for less important occasions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_6857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear dave6857

We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the resort. We apologize that we did not make you feel special on your wedding night. We always give an amenity to couples who are staying here on their wedding night and try to upgrade their sleeping room when at all possible. We sincerely apologize that this was not done for you. It is our goal to maintain the excellence of Marriott Standards and we are sorry that we fell below these standards with regard to your sleeping room and wedding night experience. We wish the two of you a lifetime of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing