We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome common areas, but rooms could use a little work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes to your Saves list
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #13 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome common areas, but rooms could use a little work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we are Marriott rewards members and the hotel had good reviews. The property is beautiful and it has a lot of amenities as wells.

The lobby, pools, restaurants and common areas are very nice and well maintained. The staff are well trained and are very professional and kind.

They have two restaurants on location along with a very nice spa (which I also reviewed). It is located just a hundred yards or so from the beach. This portion of beach is about six miles from the boardwalk and strip area where all the touristy stuff is. It's a nice secluded beach area.

The rooms are the only thing I could find negatives. We got a corner room so we had a ocean view and a resort view. The room had a musty smell to it, but we covered that up by spraying perfume and opening the balcony door. Wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom and the plumbing pressure was horrible. The air conditioner was struggling to keep the room cool, making us keep the balcony open all night (it was cooler outside). One huge thing I didn't like was that the sheets kept pulling up off the sides of the bed and bunching up on top. It was vey annoying.

If I didn't pay $219 a night I wouldn't have cared so much, luckily our stay went into Sunday night which bumped us to $170, which is reasonable for the room.

Overall it is a decent room with a awesome hotel. I would stay here again due to the fact most of our time was spent outside the hotel and on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTL7986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    328
    128
    50
    19
See reviews for
364
286
21
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great staff and excellent buffet breakfast. Beautiful property and beach. Room was nice, but had double beds, not queen beds. Stayed on top floor (15th.) The pool area(s) and grounds were beautiful and well-kept. Really enjoyed the huge, comfy hammocks (ages 16 and older, too!) Nice music playing. Fast elevators. Quiet rooms. Didn't care for the pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreamsAndCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently visted this hotel over April break with my boyfriend who was on crutches. I pulled up in front of the hotel to drop him off and the valet told me we could get free valet service for the length of our stay becuase he was on crutches. (normally $18 a day!) That was a great way to start off at the hotel! We unpacked and went right to the pool. The pool is spectacular! 2 levels with a "waterfall" between the 2 levels. It has a waterslide and hot tub outside as well. There's also an indoor pool. The hotel is right on the beach as well, but the pool was so gorgeous we used it all the time instead of the beach. We ordered drinks at the bar by the pool - EXPENSIVE. $10.50 apiece for a mojito in a plastic cup! Beer was more reasonable at $6. The room was very nice. Wish the air conditioner was cooler but was sufficient. They definitely need more blankets on the bed. The linens are thin. The bar downstairs is nice but very loud. The restaurant is ok - we were the only ones there - food was good, but slightly overpriced for what you got. Staff was great. Very friendly. Hotel was very clean. Highly recommend this hotel!! *Cation...during our 4 day stay there was a large number of conferences there on the lower level. One function turned out to be a nighttime party for a company. This was outside and they had the music CRANKING. We were on the 14th floor and the music was so loud you could not hear yourself think. We called the desk and they said it was ending at 10pm and it did. That was the only loud nighttime function we encountered.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and oceanview rooms if you can get one have balconies. Partial ocean view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Service was excellent and in all aspects of the hotel from the Front desk, Concierge,
Housekeeping, by the pool and in the Spa. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked
but the evening restaurant menu was "slightly boring".

The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable and despite jet lag we slept well.

Room Tip: Do ask for an Ocean view. We had a beautiful room looking south down the beach rather than directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

It's a beautiful, well appointed resort. The weather was cold and wet but I would imagine in the summer this would be a fabulous place! The kids have beach cheer camps this summer and im considering coming down just to stay here in the summer. We were here for a cheer competition and being 8ish miles from the convention center meant it wasnt overrun with bows and glitter. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Front desk staff was awesome and fixed a billing issue quickly and with a smile. The rooms were great. Everything you'd expect from a Marriott. Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcsjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds. Staff extremely curious and helpful. Lobby is exquisite. Great location in Myrtle Beach. The only reason not given 5 stars is because the room, although nice, was no better than an average Hampton Inn. This was little bit of a letdown. They were out of suites so we stayed in a two double bed room. It was tight for a family of 4. The beds were very comfortable, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Seagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, great service, and the front desk manager (Mr. Dylan Walker) was terrific !!!

Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes hotel was a perfect selection for my family vacation. Great location, terrific facilities and very good accommodations. We really enjoyed the hotel and the view of the ocean from balcony was breathtaking. Great restaurants with good menu selections. The pools were amazing and literally steps away to the beach. My sons loved it and they were in the water everyday. The staffs were all very warm and helpful. Kudos to Mr. Dylan Walker (front desk manager); he was awesome. He went above and beyond with his friendly and courteous manner. He offered plenty of assistance and answered all of my questions. We had wonderful experience from the moment we arrived thru checked out. I highly recommend this place and would definitely come back again soon.

Lex and Elena from Virginia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lext814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing