We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good news, bad news” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good news, bad news”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

First the good news. The beds are extremely comfortable, providing a great pillow top! Bad news: we had an ocean front double.... and it is extremely small. There is only a very small fridge available and just about every available counter space is occupied...it is that small. They will also fee you to death... self parking fee.. internet fee..and there is NO lazy river available. The hot tub (indoor) looked yellow and scary. Wedneday we had hoped for a breakfast buffet.. nope.. only available on weekends. Sorry, I will not pay $14 for french toast. The self parking ramp is also scary at night as there is NO LIGHTING. IF you are a female walking alone, like me, it is intimidating. It is quite a walk from the parking ramp to the room .No bible in the room, but there was a copy of the book of mormon. what do you expect though.. as Marriott is owned by mormons.. ok, i can live with that. Stay for the beds... go somewhere else for a small kitchen and bigger room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zipper775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    357
    144
    54
    23
See reviews for
405
309
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel with a great customer service . staff are great and friendly. Hotel looks great . awsome pool and spa. Main restaurant and pool cafe offers a good selection and value coupled with great service and decor. rooms are very clean and comfortable bed . valet parking gets a bit busy but staff are great

Room Tip: High floors on busy summer weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided last minute to go to Myrtle Beach for a short getaway. We wanted to go some where warm and on the beach and this worked out perfectly. The weather was great - low 80s. We wanted to go somewhere that was more upscale than the usual condo-type place. This has to be one of the nicer places on Myrtle Beach. What was great was that the place had slowed down. No kids around to speak of. As mentioned the pools were really nice. The indoor pool was a great temperature and there was plenty of room in the hot tubs. The pool bar, the Cove, was open and serving drinks and food - expensive food/drink - but so relaxing to be served on the nice cushy lounge chairs. The service was very nice at the bar - since it wasn't crowded, the servers spent time chatting and taking extra steps. This was true at breakfast, which was an expensive breakfast buffet ~$16.00 person. The buffet was very extensive though: home made waffles and omelets, various eggs, salmon and bagels, muffins, grits and oatmeal. We enjoyed ourselves. Our room was at the very top of the Marriott hotel on the fifteenth floor facing the ocean. It was a great view, but although there were sliding doors, there really wasnt much of a balcony. You needed to be on lower floors facing the ocean to have good balconies. However, we really liked the room, which had a very high, deep king-size bed with lots of pillows. It had a refrigerator, coffee and flat screen TV. Strangely, there was no HBO or in-room movies. The room was a bit run down for the cost -$224 a night. Housekeeping was only okay. I wish that housekeeping had replaced all the worn down 'paper' items, like the breakfast menu, the 'unused' soap which was in boxes that saw better days, the notepad which was dog-eared. I, too, object to having to pay for wifi and parking. But it was a nice place and a nice break.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one night to stay in Myrtle Beach and chose the Marriott. Great choice. It was off season so there were not a lot of guests besides two business groups. The rooms were nice and we were given ocean views. I was able to get up and watch the sunrise from mine. The weather was super and we enjoyed the outside bar and watch the people walk and bike on the beach. It was interesting to see that at low tide the beach was hard enough for biking and many folks took advantage. The Marriott was a good location, provided great service (including free shuttle service to local restaurants and bars), and nice rooms. Although we didn't take advantage, they had several pools and a nice gym. I plan to return with the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although this hotel is a bit more expensive than most chains in the area, it was comfortable, clean and very quiet in the rooms. The negatives are they charge to use WiFi and to use the computers in the business center and they charge to park your car (whether by valet, or self parking). The price should have covered all these areas.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are more money than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
384 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Some great views of the beach and Ocean from the rooms. Some rooms have nice balconies.
Hotel is nice and also has some nice pools. Plenty of room at the Beach. Restaurant service can be improved.
Beach chairs require rental fees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just cameback from a long weekend at the Marriott Resort. We had an overall great experience here and would not hesitate returning. What was most impressive was the way were treated by all of the staff. They were so friendly and helpful. The complex itself is very beautiful. I found our room to be clean and decorated pretty nice but nothing too extraordinary. The beds were comfortable. We originally rented a resort view room and to our suprise the hotel upgraded us to an ocean view room. Eventhough it is oceanview there is however no balcony. I assume to get a balcony you would need to get an ocean front room. To me, that might be worth the extra money. I missed having a balcony to relax on. The pools are great and there is easy access to the beach. I was disappointed that they do charge you to park your car. You also need to rent chairs and umbrellas for the beach they are not provided by the hotel. I also did like the location of the resort. It is on 82nd street which gives you easy access along the strand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing