We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Barney, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was nice and clean but not up to the standards of the normal Marriott and not right for the price. We enjoyed our stay but again was dissappointed. I asked 3 differant employees for location of a Yogurt Shop and they had no idea where one was located. I asked information from the lady working in the gift shop about ice cream in the restaurant and she had to call them as she didn't know. Employees need to be more knowledgable of area and of their own hotel. The breakfast was a large buffet which was very nice. Probably would stay at differant property next time. It appears to try to be an upscale hotel, but it is lacking in all areas except price and you don't realize that until after you check in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    371
    145
    55
    24
See reviews for
421
320
21
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkport, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great place to stay. Awesome accommodations and pools. Ocean views were also great. The place can get crowded during busy times, but you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas and Elle... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was a great disappointment. While the rooms are nice, the hotel and its staff lack attention to detail. try finding a clean plate at the breakfast buffett! Try finding a valet to park or get your car. The pool and decks were not cleaned regulary. Basically, these folks need to go stay at a Ritz to learn about customor service. Would strongly recommend against going there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The property is nice but the rooms are average. For the rate it's nothing special. I travel frequently and my status means nothing at this property. Hilton treats me better and I don't spend the $$$ I do at Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a marketing package to view the Marriott Grand Dunes Vacation Club Program. The hotel is right next door to the Villas and all part of the same complex even though they are Maintaned as separate entities. When i checked in the guy at the check-in counter we very helpful and extremely nice and friendly. The type of welcome makes you feel special. They hotel has only about 5% of the rooms with a real balcony and we were lucky to be put in one. We had a non direct ocean view but you could see the ocean from where we were. The room itself is pretty basics in amenities and size considering that this is a high end hotel. However the lobby and pool area were great. They have two outdoor pools and one in pool. They also have a separate water slide which goes into a small splash pool. They also have two hot tubs to use. One inside ans one out. They also have a area for rcabana rentals and 6 hammocks to use. The Beach area in front of the hotel is great with nice warm ocean water and you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas from the life guard. We found out that the rentals are all managed by the life guards across the whole beach area. The beach chairs and umbrellas are a little pricey for a 9 am to 4 pm rental period. We found in one of the local coupons books that you can buy a 6 foot beach umbrella for 4 dollars with the coupon. You can buy it and use it for about 20 % the cost of a rental for the day. If you can't bring it home than you can give to someone or throw away and it would be cheaper than renting especially if you are staying for a few days. For the class of hotel I do have a few observations and suggestions.

1 you have to be there early to get a chair in the pool area. If you show up at 10 everyone has staked their claim. It seems that people come down and put towels and stuff down than take off and come back later. A recommendation would be to put a time limit one pool chairs that stay empty for more than a hour. If not back you loose your spot. The area cannot handle the number of guests staying ther.

2. You have to pay $10 dollars a day to self park your car. There is plenty of spaces and amazed that at the nightly rate for this hotel you have to pay parking. Really?

3. When we were sitting at the beach we could hear very loud music blaring from the Grand Dune Villa pool area. I like loud rock music but this was too much even for me it should be monitored better especially at the prices the villa is charging.

The hotel is in a very quite area of Myrtle Beach on the north end of town which I like but if you want to do some outside the resort you will need a car to go down to the Boardwalk area about 5 mile away.

Overall a nice hotel on a great location location if you are looking for some quite time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and not worth the rate. However the location is the best on Myrtle Beach with excellent pools and easy access to the beach. One restaurant for dinner for children and one restaurant for breakfast with an excellent brunch.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottobreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I chose to stay at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes, because the wedding that I flew in for was at a 3-star hotel a short distance away. This property is borderline dilapidated. The lobby is a great gathering place, but the carpet throughout this hotel looks like it is 10+ years old. We paid for an ocean front room at the tune of over $200 / night in the off season (early May 2012). Keep in mind I am a gold member, so this was likely a nicer version of the room. I was shocked when I walked in the door. The room was TINY. This 'upgraded' room is tinier than a run-down Courtyard property. The shower was old. The bathroom was tiny. Even the safe looked worn and unreliable. It rained on Sunday, and I could hear my neighbors on either side of the room. Even the carpets throughout the hotel were just...'yuck'. I think the property spent all of their money on the pool, which is nice. Being a businessman, the most important thing to me is a clean and modern room. Be prepared to park across the street and pay for the privilege. Trust me...if you have status and are use to Marriott properties, don't expect much out of this one.

Room Tip: 1) Don't expect much of any kind of upgrade if you are Gold or Platinum 2) Be prepared for an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriott_Plat_GSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing