We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Man O' War

Man O' War
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Dan Maples, this 18-hole public golf course stretches 6,967 yards from the championship tees.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Best greens I have ever played on!

Don't worry too much about the water, most of it is purely ornamental. The whole course is in excellent condition! We got round in just under 4 hours which is unheard of in resort golf!

I wish we'd booked to play the Wizard and the Witch courses too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Course shape was better conditioned then most we played - (same applies to its sister course - The Wizard.) Staff were very accommodating and playing replay was easily done and very reasonable. Strongly recommended as part of your trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Gordon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as intimidating as it looks”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes there is a LOT of water on this course, but the good news is the fairways are pretty wide and the island greens are fairly wide targets. I can only think of 2 or 3 times where I had to play safe and lay up. So long as you can keep it in the fairways you shouldn't get into too much trouble. Course condition was good, I actually played earlier in the spring so it wasn't perfect yet but you could tell it is well kept. I really like this course: it's not an easy under par round, but you don't have to be named Palmer or Trevino to play well either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank khu455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Challenging and enjoyable with great views!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This course is surrounded by water and wetlands. My dad and I enjoyed a great round of 18 holes with another duo this past week. Our tee time was 12:15pm and was under $100.00 for us both including cart fee. This course was a great challenge and it definitely a course you can learn a lot from. I would recommend this course to any golfer visiting the area. You will not be sorry. Check out their specials and coupons for savings!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great course!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of playing golf at Man O' War in Myrtle Beach, SC. What a great place to tee it up! I was the leader of a group of 36 golfers (well, some were golfers!). Not one bad review from anyone! The course was in excellent condition and the staff was more than hospitable! I take this group down to MB every year and in the immortal words of Arnold, "we'll be back!"

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man O' War also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Man O' War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing