We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for budget vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for budget vacation”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My family and I stayed here for six days. I was thrilled by our oceanfront view from our room. I was confused by the options of ocean view vs. oceanfront and called to speak to someone at the hotel to make sure we would get a view of the ocean from our room. The service was pretty good in that, I requested an oceanfront room but not on the ground floor and we lucked out because it was on the fourth floor and ready when we arrived (early because our flights were switched). The front desk was always very pleasant to deal with.

The rooms are outdated and need some work. While we were there, maintenance came to our room saying that they thought our bathroom was leaking to the floor below. I noticed the door to the bathroom looked as though it has been rotting as the bottom looked a bit chewed up.

The maids were pretty friendly and asked if we needed anything since we opted not to have our room cleaned every day. The guys who were doing construction or maintenance in the hotel were so nice! They helped me and my husband get our luggage and daughter in her stroller up the stairs to the parking area just because they saw us struggling with our stuff (because we had a lot - traveling with a young child always requires traveling with about half the household).

We only ate at the hotel restaurant once for breakfast. The buffet was good and cheap and the service was great. We chose not to eat there again only because we felt it would be healthier to eat some instant oatmeal in our room.

Pools were nice, however, the outdoor children's pool is often shaded and rather cold. Even though there were no smoking signs up, there were often people smoking while in the jacuzzis which were near the children's indoor pool and lazy river.

My only gripe about the hotel is that they really should consider having a business center for guests to use. My wireless card on my computer got fried for some reason and I was at a loss as to how to do a little bit of work that I had planned on doing. When I inquired about a business center, I was told they didn't have one and was given the suggestion to go to the public library to use one there.

Other than that, we had a great time here. We probably won't stay again because we found the hotel next door Ocean Reef to be so much nicer. We ended up staying at Ocean Reef for the last two days of our 8 day vacation because by the time we decided to stay a little longer, our room was no longer available. Luckily we were able to get an oceanfront room at Ocean Reef at the last minute.

I would recommend Long Bay for budget travelers. Location is great - close to Super Walmart, outlet mall, and Barefoot Landing and directly on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflower101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    676
    285
    156
    140
See reviews for
1,265
327
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I were in town for nearly a week. We wanted to just relax the whole vacation as he works 50-60 hrs a week, and I am full time student and work full time as well. We went before the rates shot up (before Memorial Day). We reserved our room ahead of time (a partial ocean view) from expedia.com. We got to our room, and there was something gross on the floor. Looked like a round pile of mud. We looked off the patio, and really didn't see much of the ocean, but mainly a large parking lot. The kitchen was really small galley style too. I called down to the desk and asked we be moved to a larger room. I asked what the difference would be, and they told us about $20 more a night. The desk manager argued a little with me about the price that I had found online. I wanted to go back to the car and get my laptop and show her, but my husband is so non-confrontational, I just paid the extra $85 for the 4 nights we'd be staying. I felt that for an additional $20 a night, I shouldn't have been charged since the first room was not very clean. The second room was a lot better. It was cleaner, a little larger, and actually faced the ocean. It also had a full size stove/oven (the first one didn't). It had a lot of small tight spaces in it. It felt like there were doors everywhere and they actually knocking into eachother and getting in the way. The rooms were good size, just poorly planned. And if you plan on getting a king size bed, forget it. We had to get 2 queen beds. And the rooms were quite outdated, but it was ok. They had decent size tv's and more than one. So I was happy with that. I did like the hotel's location. It was right on the beach. It would take just a minute to walk down. I didn't get to visit the pool, hot tub or lazy river, but they looked really inviting. If you plan on sitting on the beach, go and buy a folding chair for $10. The umbrellas with the chairs under them are all reserved through the hotel and you must pay for them.

The first morning we asked that housekeeping not clean the room since they came by at 9am. We weren't ready to leave. They had us sign something stating we didn't want it cleaned. The second day we needed more towels and such, so we had them clean it. There was some sand in the bed, so we were quick to notice when we returned, they didn't clean the sheets, but just made the bed. There was something on the pillow the day that we got there, so I used the one that I had from home and my husband used other ones they had. The housekeeper just put it back on the bed dirty.

The 3rd morning we were there the housekeeper made the bed, cleaned and everything with us in the room because we had returned early from shopping. She hardly spoke any English, but she did an excellent job.

Overall I was happy with the hotel. We chose Myrtle Beach so we wouldn't have to spend a ton of money, and it was within driving distance from Michigan. The price for the hotel was perfect, so with all my complaints, paying in the $70 range wasn't that bad. Had we paid full price for the rooms, I would have been more upset.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelrabekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I just returned from my annual golf trip to Long Bay Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC. There were ten of us on this trip and we all had a great time. Our return to Long Bay Resort each year is an easy decision as we ALWAYS receive outstanding service from Barry and Joe in the Golf Reservations department to the resort's management team, J.R. and Jennifer, to the front desk staff to the on-site restaurant staff.
Our oceanfront condo suites are extremely roomy, comfortable, and stylish. After a great breakfast (included in our golf package) and morning of golf, one of our favorite things to do is lounge beside and in the large pool and hot tub. The amenities are many and the quality of our stay is exceptional.
My golfing group can be a hard to please bunch; but, one thing we ALL agree on is our decision to return, year after year, to Long Bay Resort...A quality resort with extraordinary service! Thank you, Long Bay Resort, for another outstanding stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CETVirginiaBeach_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Booked a week through their website on one of the "special" spring promotions. (Stayed the week of 5/21/10) Check-in was quick and efficient. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Liked the interior parking. Beach and pool accessible right out back. Room was exactly as advertised. All the features were in working order. If there was one complaint, I would say that the towels could use an upgrade. They've been in use for quite some time and need to be replaced. But in general, if given the opportunity, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny-Paycheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We loved being here... The rooms were plenty big for our family of 5. Great being so close to the ocean. The pools were fantastic, except we like our pool water on the cooler side. That was our only problem, pool water too warm/hot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainyDayzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We loved this resort! It had everything we were looking for! Rain or shine we were sure to keep our family occupied. It is on the beach, has a heated indoor pool, indoor lazy river, and outdoor pools! The resort was very clean and the staff was very friendly! We visited off-season(early May) which meant the rooms were 1/2 price!! We stayed in an ocean front suite with a full kitchen which came in handy with cooking some of our own meals.
The only negative was that check-in wasn't until 3 p.m. We had a car loaded up with beach chairs, luggage, and a cooler and no where to park until we checked-in.
However, Check-out was at 11 a.m. and the resort let us use the facilities all day after check-out so that we were able to extend our vacation and spend the day at the beach and at the pool.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamatut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I have been to this resort 3 times now and I am never disappointed, I usually book about 6-8 months in advance because you can literally save 30% and you really do. We go usually in late August or September and our room averages about $65 a night. That is for an efficiency. You cannot beat that. They are right on the beach and have a very nice set up with a huge outdoor pool, a lazy river, a kids pool area, a hot tub, and if im not mistaken an indoor pool. They have a laundry facility and a restaurant as well as a little cafe you can get all kinds of things from overlooking the pool area. There are always plenty of chairs. They have a spacious parking garage that you will be able to park on the level of your room (which is great with small children) and This is also a great location close to all of the main attractions and restaurants. You will not have to drive more than 15 minutes for anything. I have booked online through their site and never had a problem. The only thing I don't particularly like is you cant pay for your room in full up front unless you jump through hoops to do so, I can deal with that though. Couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINAFFYMARIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,896 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,154 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Property: Long Bay Resort
Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing