We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Bay Resort”
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall experience was very good. Stayed in 3 bedroom 2 bath condo on 6th floor. The condo was very spacious and more than enough room for our group of 5. Washer/dryer and kitchen were excellent. Parking garage was tight at first but after a couple of trips up and down it became much easier. Being able to park on your floor is a great benefit! Not much interaction with staff but what little we had was pleasurable. Elevators were stuffy and hot but that is a very minor issue compared to our entire stay. We loved the location and felt centrally located to everything we wanted to do. Beach was VERY crowed (as expected) but we avoided that by going in the morning and at night before sundown. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: Get room on lower floors to avoid long drives up the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeepTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time during your stay at The Long Bay Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

GREAT customer service! Crystal at the front desk is very kind and helpful! She goes out of her way to make your stay just the way you want it with the best deal!! George, Barry and the red headed cook at the cafe are the BEST!!! We never leave the cafe! Great food and drinks!!! The entire staff at the cafe are a ton of fun!!Selena in the gift shop is more than an employee, she loves people and takes the time to help and get to know you. Our kids think she is the greatest!!!The resort is really nice but the staff is truly what makes it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LOVE1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Please allow me to express the warmest and the most sincere regards to you on behalf of The Long Bay Resort. It is very rewarding to hear that the staff provided you with services and skills distinctive and special to you. Our staff eagerly await to serve you again with a truly memorable stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The location of the resort is great and convenient to a lot of places. Starbucks at the hotel, pools are clean and they have several pools, a lazy river and several hot tubs. The main pool is huge and with so many options none were overly crowded at any time.

Room Tip: To get a full ocean view it is best to stay on a higher floor at least 6 and up unless you are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

The Management and staff are pleased to hear that the hotel amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This made are 2nd stay at Long Bay and I wouldn't want to stay at another resort. We love it there! It's a great place to take your kids from babies to teenagers.Everyone was really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kymom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

We are especially grateful to hear that you choose The Long Bay Resort for the second time when visiting Myrtle Beach. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I took 12 of our 14 grandchildren to Myrtle. Clean, safe, great activities. We stayed on the 10th floor in a three bedroom unit. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Based on previous comments that we had read we took our own sheets which we used. However, we didn't think the sheets were "scratchy" as one review we had read had said.
We parked on the 10th floor of the parking garage less than 50ft from our room. That was really nice and spacious.
After we had checked out and was loading the cars our cleaning lady walked out with an I pod one of the children had left.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DES67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I am happy to read that you and your grandchildren had a great stay with us. We strive to provide you rooms and facilities that are clean and comfortable, with friendly attentive service at a value conscious pricen as we always want to be your first choice. Come see us again as we trust you'll have another memorable and enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

so maybe my attitude colors my review. We needed to be at MB for our grandson to complete his diving certification and we had to book at the last minute, so we had very limited choices of accommodations. I suspect Long Bay could be OK if you had the right room and a bunch of kids to enjoy the pools and hot tubs without examining them closely for cleanliness. Unfortunately we had a room on the first floor with the hotel's parking garage on one side and a view of the next-door resort's parking lot on the other. I was told this was the only room available when I booked, but a "vacancy" sign was displayed during our entire two-day stay. All I can say is that the towels and basic bed linens appeared clean. Otherwise I wouldn't have stayed there at all. However, the bedspreads, which all hotels need to dispose of, were stained, as were the edges of the mattress covering. I just tried not to look and imagine what the stains might be.The carpet was squishy and horrible, but I know that people are always coming in wet with little opportunity for drying anything. The microwave worked only when you jiggled the cord in the outlet, as did the coffeemaker. No coffee filters were furnished, so be sure to bring some of them along with your coffee. The gift shop "conveniently" sells them. The bathroom appeared clean if you ignored the corners and marginally attached wallpaper. The bathtub unit appeared new, but the faucets had seen better days. No one cleaned the unit during our two-day stay -- it would have been nice to at least have the beds made and the towels changed -- so we didn't have to worry about the envelope for tipping the housekeeping staff! We never even opened the door to the patio because there was no view and it was covered with grass clippings from times gone by. The hallway was covered in icky brown, squishy carpeting where trash seemed to removed only now and then. There was a strong smell of rotting garbage wafting down the hallway whenever we turned the corner toward our room -- every single time we came by. Also, some of the clientele seemed a bit dodgy: They were mostly families, but with lots of large beer-bellied men who were loud, obnoxious, and frequently inebriated by late afternoon People were in the hot tubs and even the lazy river with cups or cans of beer. To top it all off, our final bill contained not only the now ubiquitous resort fee, but also a resort services fee and a marketing fee! This is beyond ridiculous. Also, there are no restaurants except those in hotels anywhere within walking distance. The traffic near the restaurants is horrible, and you are lucky to find a parking spot if you leave.Now, there are a few positives: There were plenty of lounge chairs, some of which were in nicely shaded areas. There are good facilities for children, if they can actually use them with the large crowds. The beach access is good, but the beach itself is fairly narrow at high tide. In summary, if I were a young parent with lots of kids and I had never seen better accommodations, Long Bay might be satisfactory. It was not suitable for us, however.

Room Tip: I don't know. Just find something better than what I described above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank leesvillelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort for your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. I have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. Again, thank you for staying with us and we trust you will have a more memorable experience next time you come to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a great stay. The resort is very nice and kid friendly. There were activities for kids to do. My kids were busy all day.There was also plenty of room at the pools and the beach is just a few steps away from the main pool. We stayed in a three bedroom condo. Our room was spacious, nice and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. All the dishes and basic cookware are supplied. Overall the hotel was very clean for being located at the beach. We had no problem finding a spot to park in the parking garage close to our room. We really liked how the hotel is off of the main road but all the attractions are within minutes away.The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

How excited is to hear that the you and your family had a great time during your stay with us. Long Bay Resort is proud to provide you with various facilities of food and beverage and recreation for the entire family. We are glad your enyed your stay and we hose to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $59 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing