We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longbay resort review”
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Rooms had a musty odor, noticed this when we first walked in, otherwise clean and comfortable place to stay. A variety of restaurants within walking distance, pool was so warm and beautiful. The ocean water was cold but that's just because it was early in the season. Definitely nice having the pools and hot tub. The breakfast buffet was awesome, loved it. I would surely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for staying at The Long Bay Resort. We appreciate your comments and are happy to read that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,649 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were looking forward to our first vacation in four years and first one as a family with our first baby, and were incredibly disappointed upon checking into our room to see that we had the attached view as our "ocean view" room we paid for. This was a completely deceptive hotel room description and in no way shape or form should be categorized in the ocean view category. Not to mention they screwed up our reservation to begin with, and we had to request a crib THREE times and they still didn't have one for us in the system at check in. A sub par experience that fell far below our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K0grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in our hotel during your stay at check in. We value our guests and ask you to please feel free to continue to provide feedback about our services. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We enjoyed a great family vacation at Long Bay... very family friendly and the outdoor amenities were awesome. The rooms are dated and could use a bit of an update but they were comfortable and the layout was perfect for us with our three year old. The restaurant and cafe were about what you'd expect from a hotel but the convenience and the offerings were nice. And having Starbucks on site was a big plus. We'd recommend the resort especially to families with young kids!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txbudgal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Long Bay Resort. The Management and staff are pleased to be your hosts and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We only had a three day mini vacation but we could not have enjoyed it more and the resort and staff were top of the line. If and when I return to Myrtle Beach I fully intend to try to get reservations at The Long Bay Resort. Hotel was clean, the staff was wonderful and the location was one of the best you could ask for. It is a little older than some resorts but it was very clean, the room was kept well supplied with towels and anything needed and the location the best for the price. In my opinion it is A-1.

Room Tip: I would advise looking at the chart of rooms and the layout. Then decide exactly what type if view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Long Bay Resort, we are happy to read your visit with us was wonderful and the staff were top of the line. Our friendly staff is please to be of your service, and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a leak in our room which in turn caused an injury. Maids didn't understand any English which became frustrating. Aside from that we enjoyed amenities and the location was perfect. We were happy and our children did not want to leave. We will go back but I am hopeful they change a few of the things mentioned.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaflesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

It is with great concern and regret to hear the inconvenience that the leak may have caused to you. I assure you we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was a great time with family. The grounds and pool area was clean and well kept.
My only complaint was Ocean View Cafe. My daughter and I ordered salads and it was awful.
The lettuce was brown and just look nasty.
It was nice having the Starbucks right there in the lobby!!

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the Ocean View Café. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The bed & pillows were very comfortable. I liked having a small fridge, microwave, separate sink for kitchenette area & full size coffeemaker. The weather was perfect for sitting out on the balcony drinking coffee for a couple of hours. Housekeeping ladies were great & there was even dishwashing soap provided. The decor isn't really modern, but personally I'd rather have a comfortable bed. Loved having a deck to park in right under the building. Starbucks, restaurant & cafe all on the premises. Forgot my bathing suit, but the lazy river & pool seemed to be a hit. Steps to the beach another plus. Not near the Grand Strand, but that was a plus for me, as I seriously needed down time.

Room Tip: For an ocean view room try to get above the 2nd floor, otherwise your view is through palm trees &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Long Bay Resort for your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. We are glad to hear that the room and its amenities exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $61 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing