We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring golf outing”
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“spring golf outing”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

great weather friendly and professional staff quality food and service. I am already looking forward to my next stay at long bay resort. barry field in the golf department set up my tee times and courses just as I wanted. martins restaurant is nothing short of 5 star quality. it is good to know that your vacation is relaxing and refreshing. it was really enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tass l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
May I take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen The Long Bay Resort. We look forward to continue demonstrating services in your next golf trip. The staff will be happy to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    693
    302
    170
    165
See reviews for
1,348
342
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our golf group has been traveling to Myrtle Beach since 1993.
We have stayed at the Long Bay Resort since 2000.
It is an excellent property, well maintained, courteous staff, very helpful golf dept., and centrally located. The breakfasts at Martin's Restaurant can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for continue choosing to stay with us at Long Bay Resort for your golf trips. We have no words to express our gratitude of your loyalty. Our friendly staff is please to be of your service, and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you want a great golf trip experience, go to Long Bay and call Barry Field. His knowledge of the local courses and their conditions is second to none. He will treat you like a VIP on every trip, I guarantee!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jriggstiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Long Bay Resort for your golf trip. Barry and the staff is pleased to be of service and eager to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My biggest problem is the key system. Ive stayed on two separate weekends and both times my keys stopped working. This is a pain when your trying to get kids back in the room! Carpets are a little dirty and mattresses need replacing. But it's a great hotel with a lot of things to do! The restaurants and Starbucks are a added bonus! Staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krchesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience your experience in our hotel during your stay regarding your room keys and the carpet in your room. I am happy to hear that the staff is friendly and you enjoyed the restaurant as well Starbucks. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Always stay here..great staff..great location! Very affordable rates, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant on site. Martins restaurant has great food.
The beach location can't be beat, especially if you don't want to be in the chaos of the boardwalk.

If your dates are flexible, early June and early September are the best times!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best - Especially the Savoy building. Internet is a bit slow in central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are committed to you, our valued guest and we are happy to hear that the hotel amenities exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went for a family trip during spring break and fell in love!! The amenities are great and indoor heated pool is to die for!! I only wish I would have had time for a longer stay. I will be planning a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justpeachy1982 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Long Bay Resort, we are happy to read that you LOVE IT and your visit with us was comfortable. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 came for spring break. Wasn't expecting to be wowed due to the extremely cheap price, but was expecting more than what it was due to such wonderful reviews. I can't speak for the other rooms as I believe they are each individually owned, but what I can say is that our room lacked attention to detail and is in need of deep cleaning and updating.

ENTRY: upon first entering the room, I noticed the smell. I understand it's on the ocean and is gonna smell musty but it shouldn't smell like I just cracked open a 3000 year old Egyptian tomb. We had to buy a can of air freshener!

KITCHEN: the appliances need cleaning and updating. The freezer needs defrosting and the temp, even on max cold, wouldn't freeze ice blocks. The bars that hold things in the door of the fridge were missing. Rust inside and outside the fridge door, door was also dirty on outside. Microwave also had rust inside. Rust on stove. Food splattered on wall behind stove. Water pitcher in cupboard was still wet with water when we arrived.

BATHROOM: this is always where I look to see if the cleaning staff pays attention - the back of the bathroom door. Nope. It was dirty, hadn't been wiped down in a while. Mystery gunk on doorknob. Floor tiles throughout needed a good scrubbing. Bathtub looked like it had been repaired. Faucets were old and shower head was a joke. Terrible mold on the one and only (fabric) thin shower curtain (water went all over the floor no matter what).

SLEEPING AREA: whomever sleeps next to the old style heat/ac will either freeze to death or wake up congested to due air blowing directly onto bed. Beds are in need of updating and pillows were not comfy.

MISC: sliding glass door tracks and surrounding area in need a good scrubbing. Black out curtains need replacing as they were separating and had worn holes through the blackout part. Carpet needs to be cleaned. My 9 month old baby's knees and feet were literally black from crawling on the floor for less than 5 minutes. I was terrified to put her down after that.

POOL AREA: kids submarine area had a shoe floating in it for a full 48 hours before someone finally removed it. Pool was warm, kids loved the lazy river. Good beach access.

STAFF: friendly

The kids had fun, which is all that matters, but all in all, we wouldn't return. The price was good, but the place lacks attention to detail in the room. The whole place had a tired, worn out vibe.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in relation to our service. We have thoroughly reviewed your complaint and feel that we owe you our deepest apologies for the inconvenience that has caused. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Property: Long Bay Resort
Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing