We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Girls Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #36 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Girls Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overall the rooms are nice and clean and the facilities are great for families. Upon check-in, we were greeted pleasantly and had a speedy check-in around midnight. However, we were told something about a few steps we would have to take to get to our room. Well, try a half flight or so of steps and then a long hallway. No way to use a luggage cart. This was not our idea of fun so we were greeted by security and taken to a queen suite that met our needs much better. The oceanfront regular rooms all have steps. Not practical when traveling!

Our stay was nice and the staff was friendly. A beautiful view of the ocean too bad the weather did not cooperate!

Our last night was most unpleasant. A group of young people congregated in the parking garage outside our room off and on all night long beginning around 3. We should have notified the desk but with their engines revving and all of the noise I kept thinking security would handle it. Finally, around 7:15 I did call to find out that security was gone and there was nothing they could do. My fault for not calling but I also feel like more monitoring should have taken place. We could understand their complete conversations. I did step in the hall at 5:30 and one of them apologized. They disappeared for about an hour and then back at it. If you are a light sleeper, you will want to be above the parking garage because you can hear the cars going around and all of the voices.

All in all a good resort with clean facilities and a friendly staff. This was our third visit. I may think about checking other options next time or definitely request a higher floor.

Room Tip: Higher floor if you are a light sleeper and plain oceanfront rooms require steps which is not good f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I apologize if our reservations department failed to explain the location of the room. Due to the architectural design of the building, there is indeed an unavoidable staircase you must utilize to access any of our Oceanfront or North Oceanview Rooms. Additionally, the very same security guard that helped you to your new room, also patrols the entire property throughout the night. Unfortunately, it is impossible for him to be everywhere all the time, and the acoustics of the parking garage can make it difficult to isolate the source of any excessive noise. Please do not ever hesitate to contact the Front Desk, 24 hours per day, if you have any issues, and we will happily send an appropriate staff member to immediately address it.

Again, I apologize for the incident with a few fellow guests, and feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your getaway overall, despite the actions of a rowdy few. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    663
    269
    149
    131
See reviews for
1,223
319
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the best place we have ever stayed at in Myrtle Beach(we use to have a timeshare at Bluegreen)! Lots of pool options (even the outdoor pool was open), 4 different hot tubs at different temps (one for the kiddos too!), VERY clean room, and the ability to make food(breakfast) in a kitchenette microwave. Will definitely stay here next time we come!

Room Tip: Try for higher up rooms, the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

I'm happy to know that you found the room, amenities and pools so accommodating. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We took a few days over the holiday to go to the beach. We always stay at Longbay Resort on 72nd & ocean blvd.
Once again we were not disappointed. Our 3 bdrm ocean front was beautiful and the amenities were great. With the weather being chilly the indoor pool and lazy river felt wonderful. The staff was very friendly. It was a great Christmas treat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kammy3913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

With 6 indoor, and 3 outdoor heated water features, we are a popular vacation spot for those trying to escape the winter blues. So happy we could make your vacation a pleasant one.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have been vacationing to Myrtle Beach of the years and have yet to find a place that feels like a home away from home. From the safe, being courtous and attentive, to the amazing amenities, we have found our favorite place to stay when wanting to get away from the cold north. We will tell all our friends about your incredible resort!!

Room Tip: Ask for Left Side of the Tower, better view of ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review for us!

I'm always happy to hear guests refer to Long Bay Resort as their "home away from home". We work very hard to provide a clean, comfortable, but most of all, relaxing environment. Comments like this let us know, we are doing things right!

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed the beginning of January. The rooms were clean and priced very well. The location was perfect and the staff was very nice. Only issue was the slow housekeeping which I attributed to the slow season. May have found a new permanent spot to stay in myrtle beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on Trip Advisor!

While it may be winter time, do not let the cooler weather fool you. Between our snowbirds and golfers taking advantage of the ideal conditions, we stay fairly occupied all year long. However, this is not an excuse for a lack of housekeeping services. We will do everything necessary to improve the speed and quality of our housekeeping department. I sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Thanks again, and we look forward to becoming your permanent spot to stay in Myrtle Beach!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've been to a handful of places at Myrtle Beach over the past four years, and this was the best and the best value. The room was spacious, the facilities were in decent shape and there was a few different options...hot tubs inside and out (out was FANTASTIC!), pools inside & out, lazy river, games. Beach is always beautiful. Our room was clean and the pool areas were well kept. There's Starbucks, a restaurant & cafe (for lunch) on site but we did not eat in any of them. Just off the property is Riverside Cafe, which has great burgers.

Only complaints: the pillows were terrible and it didn't seem like they cleaned up the stairways & hallways very well as there was a toothpick that stayed on the same stair landing the entire three days we were there. Front desk staff was pleasant; we really didn't encounter any other staff during our stay.

Room Tip: "ocean view" on the southside were not really ocean view, they're more view of the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

It's wonderful to know that you found our resort to be a better value and quality than others that you've stayed at. We strive to be the number one resort in Myrtle Beach.

I have advised our Director of Housekeeping of your concerns with the pillows and common areas and I can assure you this will not be an issue upon your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an all around great family vacation experience at the Long Bay Resort! Location was convenient to everything. We forgot toothbrushes and tooth paste, so they gave us what we needed. Amenities were great for all ages. A lot of indoor pools are freezing, not here. The kiddie pool was even warm. The sauna was a great way to relax after a busy day. Great place to stay. I have already told friends to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den_free1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate the personal referrals. I'm happy to know that you found the resort so accommodating. Please, do not ever hesitate to ask the Front Desk for forgotten items or needed toiletries. And the few items that we do not provide will soon be made available by our new and improved gift shop....coming this summer!

Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Property: Long Bay Resort
Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing