We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great conserge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
“great conserge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

the evening manager straightened out our problem with discount coupons and also gave us a recomendation for one of the restuarants on the list. our expierience for dinner was great for a group of eleven. thank you very much.

Room Tip: get the room size to fit your group. we had eleven, so we had 2 three bedroom units and 1 1bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We're glad to hear of your wonderful experience. Come see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    677
    286
    157
    141
See reviews for
1,269
327
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been staying here for around 25 years. I've stayed here when the hotel was called The Thunderbird and when they changed to The Inn at Myrtle Beach. So when Long Bay took over we continued to stay here. I have read some of the negative reviews and am really confused by them. I have never had a bad experience at this hotel. For the most part the rooms are clean, whenever we did run into a problem it was taken care of promptly. There have been times in the past when the maid service wasn't the best but if we called the desk it was taken care of. Tonight is my last night here for this year and the maid we have had this week was wonderful. She was polite and friendly and provided us with plenty of towels and toilet paper. We have always stayed in the main hotel in the ocean front smaller tower but for the past 3 years we have been in The Savoy and have enjoyed it. The view is perfect and I like the fact that it is more private. I have never had a bad experience with the front desk staff. They have always been helpful and friendly. A few years ago we had to cancel our trip due to my father taking ill a week before we were to leave. Called Long Bay and the woman we spoke with was understanding and helpful. She transferred our reservation for a few months later. As stated I have been staying here for a long time and plan to keep coming back.

Room Tip: Request higher floor for Ocean Front Main Tower has ocean front rooms obstructed by The Savoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccook0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Long Bay Resort over these many years. You are one of many guests that have watched our property grow and expand into the full service resort that it has become. I'm glad you found the staff and resort to be exceptional and a significant improvement from your previous stays.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Long Bay Resort is on the ocean. They have a lazy river, indoor pool, outdoor pool, four hot tubs, and sauna. The best part is that the lazy river and indoor pool are heated and can be enclosed if the weather is cold. We requested a two bedroom unit, but when we arrived they had upgraded us to a three bedroom which was a treat. Their location is close to Broadway on the Beach, and there is a lot to do there. Their on-site restaurant, Martin's, offered a great breakfast buffet for a reasonalbe price. The very best thing was that everyone was so friendly and courteous. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

We strive to provide everything necessary to enjoy your vacation without needing to leave the resort. Between the two on-site restaurants, having Starbucks in our lobby, the many pools and spas, and other amenities, it's hard not to find what you are looking for. I'm glad you found the staff courteous and helpful as well. We want to be the number one resort on the beach!

We look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from Long Bay Resort and another golf trip to Myrtle Beach. This year only had seven of us staying at the Resort and found the accomodations once again just fine. the hotel is ideally located for travel to golf courses up and down the Grand Strand as well as out onto 501. We found there is some extras being included on some of the courses such as the Legends where breakfast and lunch with two beverages was included in the cost of the round. Also World Tour comped the group the last 9 holes of 27 they have there I presume because the course was not in an ideal condition - that was quite nice of them to recognize and do for us. Also had chance to play both the Grande Dunes Members as well as Resort courses which were great. There was also a buy 3 play 4 package available for the Cats group and we found those courses amazing. Also would give recognition to Pawleys Island, Willbrook, Wachesaw East, TPC - all were great and bargains were available. Could go on and on about the golf and do want to point out that I get outstanding support from the golf department at Long Bay Resort and in particular from Barry Fields. Had one problem in the condo that we rented and it was resolved by a call to the front desk resulting in a maintenance man responding within about a half hour and resolving the issue. I also would recommend the hotel for the on site restaurant - Martins. Breakfast is great and we also enjoyed very much a dinner we had there. Great staff there - very friendly and obviously comfortable with the golf groups. If you are a group leader, get to know the owner Martin and his son and ask for a group dinner special - they will work with you and how convenient it is to not travel after dinner. Many times I consider a golf trip to someplace other than Myrtle Beach but coming back year after year to Long bay resort, the great golf, and the food at places like Martins has become as comfortable as being home.

Room Tip: Staying above the 10th floor avoids any noise from the parking garage.Rooms in the middle or south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adecentgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review for us on a TripAdvisor.com!!

I always love to hear people refer to Long Bay Resort as their home. We have always been known for being a very "golfer friendly" resort. Our golf department is knowledgeable and efficient and we view our annual golfing visitors as extended members of our family.

We're glad you chose Long Bay Resort again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back from The Longbay Resort was not a 5 star resort we stayed 5 nights and had people staying next door to us was people that liked to party night and day. It wasn't to bad during the day because we were not there all the time but didn't like getting woke up every night by beating on the walls, slamming doors, and people screaming, cussing and fighting It got cold on the first night we were there turned on the heat which turned on the fire alarms and stunk up the whole room. It took at least 30 minutes to get the smell out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the disturbance from the neighboring unit. While we do patrol the floors of the resort several times per night, it is obviously impossible for us to be everywhere, all the time. Please don't ever hesitate to contact the Front Desk, so that we may send our Security staff to investigate and discipline any disruptive guests.

Additionally, I apologize for the smell coming from the air conditioner. Autumn is here, and we are currently in the midst of the season where the air handlers are switching from 24 hour cooling operation to an occasional cycle using the heating coils for the first time of the year. We are currently in the process of "winterizing" our entire resort. This includes testing HVAC equipment and filter changes, deep cleaning of units and shampooing of carpets and furnishings.

Again, I apologize for your overall dissatisfaction. As you can see from previous reviews, this is not a common experience here at Long Bay Resort, and I hope that you give us another chance to provide the level of service we should have the first time. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been going to the Long Bay Resort for our golfer's trip for many years. We still find it one of the best in Myrtle Beach. The reservations were accurate and that is especially good this year because ours go complicated just before our arrival when one player had to drop out. Our room service was first rate. Rooms were clean, nicely appointed, adjacent to each other (as we requested, and oceanfront. Our golf package was exactly as we designed it and all prepared when we arrived. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Get a condo with oceanfront; the mornings views are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJW45701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.com!

As the summer season winds down, the golf season is just winding up. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty in choosing Long Bay Resort for your annual golf excursion. To that effect, I'm glad you found the resort as clean and accommodating as you did in previous years. Our staff is committed to providing our guests with a clean, comfortable and relaxing experience. We're glad we had that opportunity once again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came down to Myrtle Beach to visit our Daughter at CCU it was Columbus day weekend ...And brought her Boyfriend with us so we needed to find a place that had separate bedrooms and found Long Bay Resort ...We usally stay at the Hampton Inn Broadway at the beach or Hampton Inn ocean front, which both are great ..But we needed more room so I checked around and found Long Bay...It was a really good price and that made me nervous ...so on arrival I held my breath when we opened the door and Wow!! We were thrilled 3 bedrooms living room kitchen 2 bathrooms TV in each room the master bedroom had a king size bed and sliders to the balcony facing the ocean 14 floors up...My husband went and got our coffee at starbucks each morning which is right down stairs and we sat and watched the sunrise and Dolphins swim by each morning..the beach was beautiful ..my Daughter and her boyfriend loved the pool and hot tub.....And ladies my husband bought frozen Banana Daiquiris from the the restaurant next to the pool out to the beach....Yummmmmm...We traveled to Murrells inlet for our dinners and walked along their boardwalk which we recommend to everyone it's alot of fun and the resort was clean everyone was nice ...We were told this was their down time ...And the staff for being down time was exceptional!!!

Room Tip: Think about what you need for family before choosing a room, to make your stay more comfortable...la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

While it may be a pleasant surprise for you to find Long Bay Resort to be such a relaxing, affordable, accommodating, beach front resort, it is merely "business as usual" for our management and staff. Regardless of the time of season, we strive to be the number one resort in the entire Grand Strand.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Property: Long Bay Resort
Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing